PDA

View Full Version : Box for 12" Mag progress (PICS!!!!!)



matt_martin87
02-24-2006, 10:17 PM
Here are a few pics from the newest box I'm helping bholtmeier make. As of now, we need to re-paint the port, sand down all sides to get rid of excess glue, cut out and mount terminal, caulk the top piece of mdf, carpet, and finally put his mag in a suitable box:)

The box is 15 x 28 x 13.5 and is about 2.0 cuft net
There is 27 sq in of port area
Tuned to 32hz

And now for the pics:

General Look and feel-
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a63/mathyouakandn/IM000003.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a63/mathyouakandn/IM000004.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a63/mathyouakandn/IM000007.jpg

Close ups-
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a63/mathyouakandn/IM000008.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a63/mathyouakandn/IM000019.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a63/mathyouakandn/IM000018.jpg

Size comparison-
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a63/mathyouakandn/IM000013.jpg

..and me-
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a63/mathyouakandn/IM000002.jpg

sorry about the quality on some of those pics, just doin the best I can with what I've got.

Please post comments/suggestions/tips. critisism is welcome if deserving.

lubetek
02-24-2006, 11:47 PM
Looking good. (the box not you)

my one tip for you is this:

once the glue is applied and the wood is clamped together use a wet rag to wipe the glue off that squeezes out the joints. You can do the inside and outside of the box fairly easily and it cleans up perfectly. Then there is no need to sand the box.

make sure you post the finished product!

SAG3
02-24-2006, 11:49 PM
good deal

SAG3
02-24-2006, 11:50 PM
yes, i did push that stupid button twice.

Colin+M
02-24-2006, 11:55 PM
Thats some tool in the last pic.





I kid, I kid :)

bholtmeier
02-25-2006, 01:04 AM
I can actually say i did do alot of the work on this box. matt martin is too frickin excited to get everything done, i left him without the top done and i see thats already done.....next box we make i'm doin it all i dont care if i have to wait the next day:) but i love the way it turned out, it actually looks better than those pics cuz of his ****** *** camera, ill get my canon tomorow and get some good ones...hell my phone takes better pics( other thread)

bholtmeier
02-25-2006, 01:25 AM
most of you probably know, i havent had this sub in a decent box yet. I've put it in 2cf sealed, sounded good but no output whatsoever, 2cf ported with just 12" port area, and another box with 21 inches of port area but with cancelation issues, port firing up, sub out......so, tomorrow will be the day when i hear what all the hype of this sub is about, cuz i haven't heard anythin impressive from it yet.

lubetek
02-25-2006, 03:25 AM
I look forward to hearing what you think. I came very close to buying a 15" MAG D2 and at the last minute bought a RL-p 15" D2 instead. I keep wondering what I missed out on though.

hiloracerboy84
02-25-2006, 03:48 AM
id also like to know how u like it. i was looking into a mag, rlp or sx and ended up with an ava. wish i had money to play with them all. lets hear your thoughts

matt_martin87
02-25-2006, 09:44 PM
Got 'er installed today. I'm very impressed. I never thought I'd hear that amount of output from a single twelve in my life. The very low lows(guessing 25-35hz) are lacking just a tad. I say lacking, just because it doesn't get as loud as the peak. (Would a tuning at 32hz be the culpret?) Don't get me wrong, the lows still wang. The response curve is amazing. Most rap songs are unbelievable.


it actually looks better than those pics cuz of his ****** *** camera, ill get my canon tomorow and get some good ones...hell my phone takes better pics( other thread)

Quiet you. I bought that cam for 20 bucks. What would you expect?


my one tip for you is this:

once the glue is applied and the wood is clamped together use a wet rag to wipe the glue off that squeezes out the joints. You can do the inside and outside of the box fairly easily and it cleans up perfectly. Then there is no need to sand the box.

make sure you post the finished product!

We got in a hurry and for some known reason didn't around to wiping off that glue, as easy as that sounds. lol. About pics of the final product, hopefully bholtmeier will get those on here ASAP. The only thing we're missing now is carpet.

Thanks for the comments from everyone.

bholtmeier
02-26-2006, 01:19 AM
I'd have to agree, it's pretty good for a single 12....still not am totally happy with it, but with one sub, man you can't ask much more.....2 of those would do it....But i'd never be able to get 2 of those in a camaro..i'm gonna go take some pics here in a bit will post shortly

squeak12
02-26-2006, 01:23 AM
Get some REAL power on it and it should really shine.

bholtmeier
02-26-2006, 01:25 AM
You think the Hifonics is limiting performance?

squeak12
02-26-2006, 01:27 AM
I hear they are efficient subs, but they are underrated some at ~900 watts correct? And that Hifonics amp is overrated, so Id figure 750-850 actual. My Mag is the older model and its on an Orion 1200D, but Im sure it could take more.

Johnny Drama
02-26-2006, 01:28 AM
You think the Hifonics is limiting performance?

no ;)


anything from 600-900rms with that box will hit nicely.

Showrides
02-26-2006, 01:36 AM
no ;)


anything from 600-900rms with that box will hit nicely.

You are both right. 600-900rms on a mag will get loud. We have had customers run the new mags at 2000rms a piece in spl competition before. For a daily driver we have lots of people running them at around 1500rms at 1 ohm and they are very loud. If you have a newer mag then it should be able to handle about twice the amount of power that hifonics amp is putting out without any problems. (maybe slightly less than twice). I can't speak for the older models since I have never dealt with them. But you should be very happy with the output you are getting in that enclosure.

bholtmeier
02-26-2006, 01:56 AM
Well i'm wonderin if upgrading amps will really make a difference.....

i wouldn't mind lookin into the nine.1, i'm sure that would put out a true 1200 clean wats..

Or maybe i'll just stick that kicker amp on there and see what it does with 250 watts :)


BTW, i can't find my freakin usb cable for my cam, i got some good pics

SAG3
02-26-2006, 02:07 AM
i wouldn't mind lookin into the nine.1, i'm sure that would put out a true 1200 clean wats.
i bet it would put out more than that since its rated [email protected] volts

bholtmeier
02-26-2006, 02:11 AM
what yall think.......think it would be worth it to get a nine.1 ( or any other amp for it)

SAG3
02-26-2006, 02:11 AM
heck yes

bholtmeier
02-26-2006, 02:16 AM
It's just thats alot of money unless i'll notice a substantial difference, and i juust can't see that happening...

SAG3
02-26-2006, 02:26 AM
its a whole shitload more of power than you have now.

bholtmeier
02-26-2006, 02:31 AM
True........but won't the sub just "max out" to the point where it can't move or get any louder?

squeak12
02-26-2006, 02:33 AM
Power compression(what your speaking of) occurs when you have exceeded the subs RMS so far, that it cant do anything mechanically with the power. Mags can take 2000 watts for burps without trouble usually.

WeDgE
02-26-2006, 03:05 AM
True........but won't the sub just "max out" to the point where it can't move or get any louder?


You're going to need a good bit of power to max out 3" peak-to-peak... :D

bholtmeier
02-26-2006, 03:07 AM
Exactly what does that mean.............i know the driver has 24xmax the peak to peak is what confuses me.....plus it isn't gonna move as much in the ported box as sealed

prioracy
02-26-2006, 03:28 AM
do u have the newer mag or the older version, i'm feeding mine 1000-1100 a piece, here is a lil vid of me testin it out

http://media.putfile.com/mags59

Showrides
02-26-2006, 12:21 PM
Exactly what does that mean.............i know the driver has 24xmax the peak to peak is what confuses me.....plus it isn't gonna move as much in the ported box as sealed

Peak to peak is just xmax times 2. Xmas refers to how far the sub moves in one direction. Peak to peak is the total distance out and in.

Showrides
02-26-2006, 12:23 PM
do u have the newer mag or the older version, i'm feeding mine 1000-1100 a piece, here is a lil vid of me testin it out

http://media.putfile.com/mags59

I don't know much about the other versions. But if he only has 24mm of xmax he must have the older version. I believe there are about 25mm in 1 inch. So 24 mm xmax would be about 2 inches peak to peak and the new mag 12's have around 3 inches of peak to peak excursion.

bimma85
02-26-2006, 12:25 PM
I don't know much about the other versions. But if he only has 24mm of xmax he must have the older version. I believe there are about 25mm in 1 inch. So 24 mm xmax would be about 2 inches peak to peak and the new mag 12's have around 3 inches of peak to peak excursion.
i though xmax stayed the same?? also if it did change I dont think it went to 37mm.

prioracy
02-26-2006, 12:25 PM
the new mag is still at 24....

Showrides
02-26-2006, 12:39 PM
the new mag is still at 24....

Just from reading the 12's description it says the new spider allowes 3 inches of peak to peak excursion. So about 1.5 inches each way. Which would be about 38.1 mm of xmax if it were exactly 3 inches. Let me know if I am doing something wrong here.

bimma85
02-26-2006, 12:48 PM
Just from reading the 12's description it says the new spider allowes 3 inches of peak to peak excursion. So about 1.5 inches each way. Which would be about 38.1 mm of xmax if it were exactly 3 inches. Let me know if I am doing something wrong here.
xmax=linear excursion, something....which stayed the same ;).

PV Audio
02-26-2006, 01:48 PM
its a whole shitload more of power than you have now.
Double power or double cone area is what will give you a ~3db increase in output. A shitload of power is neither of those, so I can't imagine that he could justify getting an amp for that purpose. Now, if he got the 9.1 and another mag, then he would have a very nice setup.

PV Audio
02-26-2006, 01:50 PM
Just from reading the 12's description it says the new spider allowes 3 inches of peak to peak excursion. So about 1.5 inches each way. Which would be about 38.1 mm of xmax if it were exactly 3 inches. Let me know if I am doing something wrong here.
That would be Xmech, which is how far the speaker is actually capable of traveling. Personally, I like my audio distortion free.

Showrides
02-26-2006, 05:29 PM
You guys are correct. The xmax is 24 mm. The peak to peak excursion is 3 inches. Thanks for pointing that out.

bholtmeier
02-26-2006, 10:53 PM
Yes, i have the newer one..

bholtmeier
02-27-2006, 12:05 AM
Double power or double cone area is what will give you a ~3db increase in output. A shitload of power is neither of those, so I can't imagine that he could justify getting an amp for that purpose. Now, if he got the 9.1 and another mag, then he would have a very nice setup.


So, your saying i won't notice any thing worth paying the extra money for?

WeDgE
02-27-2006, 01:02 AM
That would be Xmech, which is how far the speaker is actually capable of traveling. Personally, I like my audio distortion free.


I doubt you'll be able to discern minute amounts of distortion at 140dB+!

bholtmeier
02-27-2006, 01:36 AM
Hmm....i think my hifonics amp is limtiing me.......just for kicks and giggles i went up to the shop and bridged my kx250.2.......only seeing about 250 watts.....thing sounds better, and hits the lows better and it has much of a more natural sound to it than with my hifonics....but for some reason with the gain any higher than 1/4 and the volume on the cd player at listening level the amp shuts off and then turns back on......its weird. anyone have a clue?

PS, i'm about 90% sure i'm buyin squeak12's nine.1, anyone have any info on him..is he legit

PV Audio
02-27-2006, 07:18 AM
So, your saying i won't notice any thing worth paying the extra money for?
No, I didn't say that. What I meant was that a large gain is not guaranteed to give what YOU are looking for.

bholtmeier
02-27-2006, 10:13 AM
Anyone have an idea why that kicker amp keeps turning off.....it trys turning back on but if you have the gain to high it will just keep turning off....the SQ of that is So much better...

Johnny Drama
02-27-2006, 11:57 AM
Anyone have an idea why that kicker amp keeps turning off.....it trys turning back on but if you have the gain to high it will just keep turning off....the SQ of that is So much better...


You have 1 D2 right?
Is the amp 1ohm stable?

springy101
02-27-2006, 12:05 PM
well he said it was bridged so its at 4 ohms right?

bholtmeier
02-27-2006, 02:33 PM
it's bridged at 4ohms..

Johnny Drama
02-27-2006, 07:07 PM
it's bridged at 4ohms..

A couple of things to check...

1) go you have a good ground. (A bad groud can cause an amp to cut off when higher amperage and voltage aer pulled to the amp)
2) is your electrical system capable of handleing the power you are wanting? (If your voltage or amperage drops to low the amp may be shutting off.)

matt_martin87
02-27-2006, 10:23 PM
He had it wired 1ohm bridged. lol. We wired it up correctly and now it doing just fine.