PDA

View Full Version : I've got something that can glow in the dark too! Lots of Pics



ballstothewall
02-21-2006, 11:18 PM
Well, today I gone one of my many packages to complete my dorm project.

1 Behringer EP2500: Sub Amp
1 ART SLA-1: Main Amp
1 Behringer T1953: Tube Preamp
1 Behringer Crossover: don't remember the number....

Sadly I don't have any cables yet....

Sooo, on with the pics, and more to come as more of my equipment comes in, so stay tuned in the coming days to see more of the good stuff!

Current equipment so far....
http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/7238/p10100054uc.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Tubes FTW!
http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/9896/p10100205kb.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

The BLH's
http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/910/p10100221nn.jpg (http://imageshack.us)


My ugly speaker grills, but they work.
http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/5484/p10100296lz.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img68.imageshack.us/img68/995/p10100308ji.jpg (http://imageshack.us)


What USE to power the stuff...
http://img68.imageshack.us/img68/6710/p10100329gy.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

JimJ
02-21-2006, 11:36 PM
Why hide the Fostex's :D

In a dorm...that's still hilarious ;)

ballstothewall
02-21-2006, 11:39 PM
Why hide the Fostex's :D

In a dorm...that's still hilarious ;)

Well, they are sitting right beside my desk, they are ****, but I am afraid of something happening to them, and I don't feel like forking out ~38 bucks for a small ****up that ended up in a punctured driver...

kotec123
02-21-2006, 11:41 PM
what u powering wt that amp.....alotta sub basss i hopee!

JimJ
02-21-2006, 11:42 PM
I like the "vibration isolation" between components ;)

ballstothewall
02-21-2006, 11:47 PM
I like the "vibration isolation" between components ;)

I know, I know, I know. The equipment placement is downright ****** right now (and for that matter, so is the mains, but i'll work on that next year too), and probably will be for the rest of the school year. Next year will be somethin different though, gonna be in the dorms again w/ my cousin who is into audio too, and thats gonna be nuts. I couldn't come up with a good place to mount the componets that was easily feasable in the dorm room.


Oh the sub is an Elemental Designs e8a in a sealed box about .4 cubes

vladd
02-22-2006, 12:08 AM
lord next thing you know you two will be seeing whose tube is bigger

it is some kind of injustice that you have that in a dorm

JimJ
02-22-2006, 12:10 AM
lord next thing you know you two will be seeing whose tube is bigger

it is some kind of injustice that you have that in a dorm

My tubes are bigger :D

trevor87
02-22-2006, 12:14 AM
looks nice man wheres the sub? ;)

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 12:20 AM
http://img161.imageshack.us/img161/9443/p10100319ud.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

notice under the desk....

*edit* That is the ugliest creation I have EVER built, and I won't show any pics closer than that.

JimJ
02-22-2006, 12:22 AM
Those BLH's take up way too much space. You should donate them...to me :D

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 12:24 AM
I'll build ya a pair if you want some.....:up2somet:

(walnut if you want to pay extra...)

kotec123
02-22-2006, 12:43 AM
lol niiice.....u can get a ton emore power outa that amp....what about a 15" Diamond audio D9 off that amp hehe

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 12:48 AM
If I ran any bigger sub I'd be afraid of overpower the mains to easily, plus I've heard that this is a great sounding sub. I'm not saying that the Diamond Audio D9 isn't, its just that I've never heard anything about it.

Showrides
02-22-2006, 01:03 AM
how do you like that europower amp. I am looking to get this one.
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=248-745

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 01:17 AM
If you hold up on that, I will have mine up and running in a day or two hopefully. It looks nice though. I got mine for 289 brand new in box off of ebay, so you might want to keep that in mind, you might be able to get more power for not alot more money.

Showrides
02-22-2006, 01:24 AM
If you hold up on that, I will have mine up and running in a day or two hopefully. It looks nice though. I got mine for 289 brand new in box off of ebay, so you might want to keep that in mind, you might be able to get more power for not alot more money.

If you know of any way to get more power for less money let me know. I have a dealer account at partsexpress so i get a small discount on all their products but it still is nice. But deff let me know if you can find a better amp that will power a dvc 2 ohm sub that can handle between 900-2000rms.

ngsm13
02-22-2006, 01:42 AM
**** man.

Port that 8a ;)... DO IT!

nG

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 09:31 AM
**** man.

Port that 8a ;)... DO IT!

nG

I will.... I just don't have room for it this school year, once I move back, It will get ported. :up2somet:

JimJ
02-22-2006, 09:58 AM
In a couple of months or so, after you've gotten used to the sound, you may want to swap out the stock tubes for something else...those look like 12AX7's? You can find new-old-stock ones on Ebay or at electronic swapmeets for cheap, and they'd sound a whole lot better than the ones that are in there now.

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 10:13 AM
In a couple of months or so, after you've gotten used to the sound, you may want to swap out the stock tubes for something else...those look like 12AX7's? You can find new-old-stock ones on Ebay or at electronic swapmeets for cheap, and they'd sound a whole lot better than the ones that are in there now.

I was going to ask you about those.... So that answeres my question. I'm not sure what the stock tubes are, but I read that people recommended swaping them out. Thanks for the heads up.

thylantyr
02-22-2006, 12:27 PM
The Behringer preamp is a hybrid, hence a love/hate following. It's an opamp
{4580} based preamp with a tube circuit in the middle to add tube distortion by
turning the dial. The people hate it, hate it because there isn't enough distortion
or it's not he distortion sound they want, typically the hater compares the sound
of this unit to the sound of units costing 5x - 20x more which is a pure tube preamp,
not hybrid - unfair comparison.

The people that love it, love it because it's a low cost neutral preamp.
It doesn't add any coloration to the sound.

For home to pro audio, it's good because it interfaces low voltage home
audio gear to higher voltage pro audio gear so you can reduce amplifier
gain to get less hiss/noise, etc.

/rumor
I think those are low voltage tubes and the glow is LED's to make you think
the tubes are lit.

/true
Don't worry, they do the same thing in car audio tube
amplifiers, they use an opamp front end, tube middle, and transistor output
stage, and LED's on the tubes, but they charge a big premium for those
car amplifiers whereas Behringer products are priced lower but get a bad rap
by the snobo-philes. :)

Give us a review of the preamp when the system is running. Listen for backround
noise/hiss, etc. I think it should be good as I use the DCX product which also
uses 4580 opamps and I haven't been able to find anything bad with the unit
soundwise.

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 01:25 PM
Ok, I will try to give a review, although I'm not sure how well these untrained ears will perceive the sound...

JimJ
02-22-2006, 03:20 PM
/rumor
I think those are low voltage tubes and the glow is LED's to make you think
the tubes are lit.

I noticed that as well, the 12AU7's in my old line level preamp never used to glow quite that much :D Tubes that glow that brightly usually have thoriated tungsten filaments, which those don't have...

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 03:31 PM
I noticed that as well, the 12AU7's in my old line level preamp never used to glow quite that much :D Tubes that glow that brightly usually have thoriated tungsten filaments, which those don't have...

Well, I guess its time to take the case off and see if there are LED's....

results later.

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 04:49 PM
Well, Behringer dosen't even use LED's. They have small incadesant bulbs back there, being sneaky and having the power to them delayed and slowly stepped up, so they take just a little to start to "Glow" like you would think Tubes should. I have pics that I will upload later... With the light bulbs out, they don't glow worth a ****, but although the glow is fake, it still looks pretty cool.

*edit* Yes they are 12AX-7's

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 05:43 PM
More Pics...Ya'll can figure out what they are...

http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/4089/p10100060cu.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/5089/p10100114sn.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/1482/p10100283hr.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/9687/p10100144rv.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

PV Audio
02-22-2006, 06:13 PM
Tell me how that amp works out, I want to setup my RL-Ps on the 1200 watt version.

DBfan187
02-22-2006, 06:21 PM
you have balls for putting that sub near your desktop like that.

Nice amp.

PV Audio
02-22-2006, 07:43 PM
Magnets love computers.

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 08:56 PM
Balls, or stupidity, hence the screen name...lol

Never even thougt about the magnet and the computer...but thats about the only place to put it though, I might have to deconstruct my shleving unit to change it up to be able to put the sub elsewhere. But seriously, magnets next to computers are overhyped. The hardrive is over a foot from the magnet, plus, theres rare earth magnets in the hard drive to begin with.... Oh well, if it screws the computer, I guess thats another thing to upgrade then :up2somet:

JimJ
02-22-2006, 09:13 PM
12AX7's are dirt cheap to find, even NOS.

Sovtek 12AX7LPS's are probably the best new production one, but Sylvania, RCA, and Joint-Army-Navy ("JAN" tubes), are really common to find.

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 09:23 PM
Thanks Jim, I will start looking for them once I get some other necessities bought.

JimJ
02-22-2006, 09:27 PM
http://www.diysong.com/images/sv811/sv81110.jpg

No lights required ;)

:drool:

ballstothewall
02-22-2006, 09:41 PM
You bastard. You make me want real tube stuff. That costs alot more money, **** you. Your as bad as Thylantyr putting ideas into my head!

Looks good though! I want it.

JimJ
02-23-2006, 10:21 AM
In a couple of months or so, after you've gotten used to the sound, you may want to swap out the stock tubes for something else...those look like 12AX7's? You can find new-old-stock ones on Ebay or at electronic swapmeets for cheap, and they'd sound a whole lot better than the ones that are in there now.

I got a negative reputation for that post.

:eyebrow:

ballstothewall
02-23-2006, 11:27 AM
I got a negative reputation for that post.

:eyebrow:

Who would give a neg rep to you for that???

Well, plus rep for you from me.

joetama
02-23-2006, 07:21 PM
How do you like that Behringer Processor? I was going to get one for the DM330i's but then I just bought the 703's which don't need a processor...

ballstothewall
02-23-2006, 10:09 PM
Well, I just got my ART SLA-1 amp today, dang its a hell of alot smaller than my Behringer one...

Since I didn't get my crossover yet, I have my preamp hooked up to the ART amp, and I haven't noticed any noise/static yet, I played a zero bit track off of my IASCA sound quality CD and didn't hear anyting till it was everything was WAY cranked up. You really cant tell to much of a change in the "warmth" controls, a little, to me it does sound "warmer" than ith them all the way off. Since I don't have my sub hooked up yet, I am kinda fond of the highpass feature built into the preamp. The sound seems nicer than my receiver, but I haven't had enough playing time to say that for sure. It does seem to take an "Edge" off of it though.

ballstothewall
02-23-2006, 10:25 PM
****it, the right speaker has "popped" like 3 times since I just hooked it up, and it's never done that before. WTF? Time to switch up wiring... and see whats the matter, **** electronics.

Oh, it also has a turn on Thump, which I was hoping it wouldn't have, but it does...

thylantyr
02-24-2006, 01:36 AM
re: speaker popping.

Verify -
If you are using the balanced input on the amp {XLR} with an unbalanced
source {RCA signal}, check the cable.

RCA Output to XLR Input
XLR Pin 1 = Shield ground => connect to XLR pin 3
XLR Pin 2 = Positive balanced signal => RCA center conductor, hot wire.
XLR Pin 3 = Negative balanced signal {now ground} = RCA shield, ground.

If pin 1 and 3 aren't shorted, you may have bizzare amplifier behavior that
pops speakers.

re: turn on thump

System power up sequence;

Sources first
Amplifiers last

System power down sequence;
Amplifiers first
Sources last

There are exceptions to the rule.

joetama
02-24-2006, 01:53 AM
Shouldn't "pop" if he did or didn't wire those to together or not. Maybe if there was some build up of signal because of a grounding issue then not having them wired together would cause the problem. Which I guess could arise from a tube device...

If he doesn't have a good connection somewhere with an RCA or 1/4 inch and it might move a little and make connection and then drop connection. Or if he just made a bad cable and the (-), or ground in the other case, is going to ground or even worse to positive then that would cause a "pop"...

How do you have them wired? Do you go from RCA->XLR or RCA->1/4??

I'm curious however, of a case where you would not power up source->amp and power down amp->source? I cant think of one....

thylantyr
02-24-2006, 11:22 AM
Shouldn't "pop"

If the problem is not operator error, you will get popping issues with sources
that don't have some form of output muting circuit built-into the unit.

You may find lower cost electronics that don't have these circuits and
when you turn on the amp first, then source -> pop ...

The DCX2496 pops if I turn it on last as there is no special muting circuits designed into it.

If you want to avoid source popping either you use power sequencing or
you buy the high end gear with more safe guards built-in. For me, it's
just easier to turn on the system accordingly to avoid it.

joetama
02-24-2006, 12:22 PM
I was referring to the mysterious system pops not the turn on thump, that's rather obvious. The biggest problem from going from XLR-> 1/4 or RCA is the impedance miss match which on pro audio gear can cause huge problems because of the open pre-amp drivers with out a buffer circuit behind them.

Even if you have a component of your system that has output muting you should always turn your amplifier on last just in case...

I use a system timer now, but before I had that when I ran my pro-audio gear on my speakers it was MIXER->EQ->Compressor/Limiter->Wait->Amp->Turn up Amp Levels. One never can be too careful.

ballstothewall
02-24-2006, 12:28 PM
The wiring goes from computer --->XLR--->preamp(xlr's)--->amp(xlr's)

The popping might have user error, it hasen't done it again yet. When I turn on the power to the units correctly, no Thump, that was simple.

The ART amp has a blue LED in the front pannel to signify Power, that thing is bright as hell, so thats gonna get Modded or covered up or something, its annoying. The amp is also pretty dang small, and light, I like it.

The behringer is one powerful fricking amp, just once click off of minimum on gain is about all I needed to power the mains, the fan is kinda noisy too, but it moves alot of air too.

The preamp is pretty cool looking also, the four gagues are pretty cool to see moving, highpass is kinda nice since I don't have a crossover yet so I don't give my mains under 50hz.

Thanks for all yourguys help, more pics prob comming later, gotta figure out where the hell my crossover is now.

thylantyr
02-24-2006, 01:19 PM
The wiring goes from computer --->XLR

Computer sound card jack to XLR ? Sometimes those jacks are noisy
when you wiggle them or they don't make great electrical connection.

ballstothewall
02-24-2006, 01:21 PM
its the 1/8" plug to the RCA to XLR

This one isn't noisy or anything if you wiggle it either.