PDA

View Full Version : Mag 12

Showrides
02-19-2006, 03:46 PM
I am planning on hooking a mag 12 up to my laptop to play some music. Right now all I have is the sub and an enclosure for it. As far as plate amps go I am trying to find something that will give me around 1000 rms. The best plate amp I could find at partsexpress is rated at about 1024rms but I heard I would only be getting around 700 out of it. The mag 12 is dvc at 2 ohms. If you have any great ideas on how I can find a better plate amp for around $300-$400 let me know. Then I will just need a little help getting the right things to connect the sub to the plate amp, and the plate amp to my computer since I have never worked with anything but car audio before.

squeak9798
02-20-2006, 01:21 PM
Any particular reason that it has to be a plate amp?

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=248-745

Behringer EP1500....1400w RMS @ 4ohms bridged for $75 less than the sale price on that 1000w plate amp ($150 less than regular price). Plus it's more powerful than that plate amp.

JimJ
02-20-2006, 01:22 PM
What are you running for 80Hz and up :)

squeak9798
02-20-2006, 01:29 PM
Then I will just need a little help getting the right things to connect the sub to the plate amp, and the plate amp to my computer since I have never worked with anything but car audio before.

Oh yeah...I'm not extremely computer savvy...but I believe most soundcard outputs are 1/8" mini jacks. So then you'd just need a mini-jack to RCA wire, and then connect that to the inputs of the amplifier.

Something like this (http://cgi.ebay.com/3-5mm-1-8-Y-adapter-stereo-mini-plug-to-female-RCA-jack_W0QQitemZ5868002741QQcategoryZ32833QQssPageNa meZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem), then connect the inputs on the amplifier to these outputs via regular ole RCA.

Showrides
02-20-2006, 07:37 PM
What are you running for 80Hz and up :)

That is my next question hahaha..

What should i run for 80hz and up and what should i power it with?