PDA

View Full Version : 280 pound package arrives today



thylantyr
02-07-2006, 11:37 AM
.... your moma coming over :p:

UPS will deliver the two beasts...... I'm waiting to see the damage report.
The shipper thinks it's all good as they package well, but I don't know. Since
when does UPS not damage heavy deliveries? /// we shall see Mr. Frodo ///

jalverson
02-07-2006, 11:38 AM
what r u expecting?

thylantyr
02-07-2006, 01:41 PM
http://www.docksdelamusique.com/administrer/images/articles/docksdel_bdd1-laboitenoire/CREST/SCA-10001-B.jpg

.. used

Randy Savage
02-07-2006, 01:42 PM
Meh, garbage.

Get Bose dude..they are TEH WIN!!!

:p:

thylantyr
02-07-2006, 01:54 PM
I'm game.

I'll hook up some Bose to the beast :)

,, playing Slayer..

joetama
02-07-2006, 02:18 PM
The 10001's will be fine, they could be tossed down some stairs and still be fine...

9Nails
02-07-2006, 03:31 PM
People from Canada and Mexico called... They said it sounds real nice, but can you turn the stereo down now?

PV Audio
02-07-2006, 04:21 PM
:laugh:

ballstothewall
02-07-2006, 04:35 PM
140 pound amps???

DAAAANNNNNNGGGGGG

I thought my 40 pound behringer was a heavy bastard....

joetama
02-07-2006, 09:01 PM
Dual Monoblocks as big as your head!

kotec123
02-07-2006, 09:03 PM
holy ****...what are u gonna put those up against.....aka what speakers are you gonna fry with that

snb778
02-07-2006, 09:04 PM
is that for car audio use?

joetama
02-07-2006, 09:06 PM
It's hard to tell what Thy is up to with those amps... He might be building a Weapon of Mass Distruction for all I know...

ngsm13
02-07-2006, 09:06 PM
I like their toothpaste mostly...

NG

imaspaceguy90
02-07-2006, 09:11 PM
heavy *** amp

joetama
02-07-2006, 09:11 PM
LOL nice call....

kotec123
02-07-2006, 09:17 PM
holy crap....hes gonna have 30000 watts @ 2 ohms bridged or 10000 watts at 2 ohms stereo...what the hell do u need that for?

joetama
02-07-2006, 09:18 PM
To start fires lol...

ngsm13
02-07-2006, 09:19 PM
To brush your teeth.

NG

Tehgregzor
02-07-2006, 09:22 PM
1600 watts = 1 hp, so i think he's goin to mow his lawn with the 18.75 horsepower lawnpwner.

joetama
02-07-2006, 09:25 PM
LOL, wouldn't it be easier just to use a Lawnboy...

ballstothewall
02-07-2006, 10:09 PM
Any bets on what the setup is???

My bet is something like 8 15's or somethin like that.

joetama
02-07-2006, 10:10 PM
LOL, that's prolly about right, enough wattage lol....

Eugenics
02-07-2006, 10:18 PM
i see your girlfriends 'personal messager' wasn't getting the job done

ballstothewall
02-07-2006, 10:25 PM
wtf eugenics?

*edit* Is my mind blown and I'm missing something, or what?

BassAce
02-07-2006, 10:31 PM
wtf is that 1600 W = 1hp, I always thought that 1hp = 745.699872 watts?

ballstothewall
02-07-2006, 10:35 PM
It is.

ballstothewall
02-07-2006, 10:37 PM
So he has 40.2 hp on tap...

ngsm13
02-08-2006, 12:19 AM
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/3504/tommyk7sh.jpg

FTW!!!

NG

pd298
02-08-2006, 12:22 AM
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/3504/tommyk7sh.jpg

FTW!!!

NG
Type-R will take all of that power with no struggle! :rolleyes:

ballstothewall
02-08-2006, 12:39 AM
Who is that???

Out of the 50 pics posted in the past 20 min, this is the only one that isn't ****....

tommyk90
02-08-2006, 12:43 AM
Who is that???

Out of the 50 pics posted in the past 20 min, this is the only one that isn't ****....

if you hadn't read the other 10 threads he's posted that pic in.


its me. :)

ballstothewall
02-08-2006, 12:45 AM
Ahh ok, musta missed those threads.

adio
02-08-2006, 01:13 AM
if you hadn't read the other 10 threads he's posted that pic in.


its me. :)
thosetype r's kick ace, i heard 1 last summer.

thylantyr
02-08-2006, 01:15 AM
Update
http://www.caraudioforum.com/vbb3/showthread.php?p=1849117#post1849117


To add, the dual Crest is to run bridge mode for 10kw - 15kw per woofer array.
There is two tower woofer arrays planned with four 15" Lambda TD Apollo
woofers. These are not subs, the woofer array is not a sub array, it's a wideband
woofer with 16mm xmax, great SQ... The woofers can do some sub duty if
you port the box. In my case, I'm thinking 32hz - 35hz to keep cabinet size
reasonable. I want alot of chest pounding bass, not 15hz rumble. The bridged
Crest has ~320V of clipping headroom {not factoring in losses}.. I should get
incredible slam with the amp.

... so in other words, I don't have a HT sub in my plans yet, dunno if there is
room for one and I'm unsure if I really need one... I'm not too picky about
having super LF in the house. Lets see what monster woofer AE comes out
next year, rumors about a massive motor 18" in the works {shhhh}...
Maybe I can fit one in the room if the box isn't too big... Maybe behind the
line array towers? /unsure... Behind the line array is a fireplace that will be unused,
maybe make a subwoofer box and shoove it in there - hehehehe

brandontw
02-08-2006, 01:35 AM
dang... do you use like a 220V outlet for those...christ almighty!

poor poor neighbor kids at halloween next year will be in the hospital instead of just having soiled pants...lol

thylantyr
02-08-2006, 01:57 AM
The amp can be rewired for 120 or 240 {and other options}, but the amp is
so cramped that I couldn't figure out which wires were which.. I may just leave
it as is..

Some other 'boner' amplifiers that look sweet.

Accuphase M-8000
http://www.accuphase.com/pdf/m-8000_e.pdf

The Crest has 14 parallel transistors per rail for output stage drive and is
a stereo amp. This Accuphase has 12 parallel transistors but is a monoblock
design. There is no reason why it couldn't be a stereo amp, they just want
you to buy two of them. Crest heatsinking is superior with the wind tunnel
heatsink. Accuphase wins on eye candy. /lol/

I paid $2k for Crest {used}, MSRP for M-8000 is $20k each, $40k for stereo mode. /harr harr...


Pass Labs X1000 {discontinued} is nice if you think class A buys you SQ,
but it really buys you a heater.

http://www.passlabs.com/amplifiers/x1000.htm

1000w @ 8 ohm monoblock. 200 pounds. Excellent build quality and product,
high voltage rails. $12k each. 1% THD @ full power.

If you think you need 'parts per billion' distortion figures, then snag a Halcro.
DM88 is $20k for a monoblock, $40k for stereo. Low power ratings. /boo

http://www.halcro.com/productsDM88.asp

Proamps are the best kept secret in home audio. :)

brandontw
02-08-2006, 02:23 AM
how much did those crests set you back if i can ask?

thylantyr
02-08-2006, 11:21 AM
Two Crest; ~$2k ea. used.

Ten QSC PLX3402; avg. $765 ea. used.

Crest = 15KW
PLX3402 = 3.4KW

Crest =13.3 cents per watt rating.
PLX = 22.5 cents per watt rating.

A pair {stereo mode} of those Accuphase amps brand new is $10 per watt.
Lets say you get them used 1/2 price, $5 per watt. /hehe

jacko
02-08-2006, 08:06 PM
not to burst your bubble, but at 120volts and just 5000 watts your looking at a 41amp draw. most homes have 15amp or 20amp breakers for each room, I'd plan on hiring an electrictian. Unless someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

vosschs
02-08-2006, 08:07 PM
i dont care about waht you got.... i just got a free 53 inch hdtv big screen nicca

kotec123
02-08-2006, 08:11 PM
dammm u guys are lucky

vosschs
02-08-2006, 08:13 PM
i wish

ngsm13
02-08-2006, 08:14 PM
not to burst your bubble, but at 120volts and just 5000 watts your looking at a 41amp draw. most homes have 15amp or 20amp breakers for each room, I'd plan on hiring an electrictian. Unless someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Look at past threads, he's documented past electrical upgrades ;)...

NG

thylantyr
02-09-2006, 12:07 AM
not to burst your bubble, but at 120volts and just 5000 watts your looking at a 41amp draw. most homes have 15amp or 20amp breakers for each room, I'd plan on hiring an electrictian. Unless someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

The amp has one AC cord per channel, two 120VAC 30A plug. You can also
wire it for 240VAC if you wish. For now it has this.
http://www.kennedypower.com/catalog/images/products/Accessories/L5-30P.jpg

Homes don't have these receptables. I'm installing a dedicated electrical subpanel,
three 2 awg cables and one 4 awg for safety ground already installed under
the house.

/think big

thylantyr
02-09-2006, 12:09 AM
Look at past threads, he's documented past electrical upgrades ;)...

NG

Me vs. spiders thread ? :chicken: :laugh:

ballstothewall
02-09-2006, 12:11 AM
Me vs. spiders thread ? :chicken: :laugh:

Some of the stuff you wrote in that thread was pretty funny :crazy:

imaspaceguy90
02-09-2006, 07:20 AM
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/3504/tommyk7sh.jpg

FTW!!!

NG

PWND! Whats life without a type r

thylantyr
02-09-2006, 12:56 PM
Last night I re-assembled one of the beasts. Used the hammer to fix the
faceplate and replaced the handle screws, bent. Looks better now, time
to do the second amplifier then I will have peace regarding these two monsters.

There is no way to upgrade the capacitors, the internals are crammed already
and the capacitors they chose are already the best that can be had based on
voltage, capacity and physical dimensions. But it's always evil to scheme up
a plan B... Like... Imagine having another 4RU chassis with nothing but capacitors? Zapco did this 20+ years ago with their model 200 amplifier. They
sold a stupid module for $75 called 'ESM', energy storage module. A box with
two 4700uF capacitors that is in parallel with their external power supply.

.. so how about a monster ESM for each Crest? I don't have the room to do this,
but the idea is pretty sick.

General idea. Since it's a class H power supply with four rails, I would be only
concerned with the high rails, which are +/-160V.. so the ESM would only supply
extra capacity to those rails because that is where we want it most, for high
power use. Who cares about high capacitance at low power.

If we were to stick with a 4RU chassis we are limited to 7" tall.

CDE has 5 7/8" tall x 3 1/2" wide, 61,000uF 160V {200 surge} capacitors.
Lets say 6 x 2 matrix for each amplifier. ESM would have 6 x 4 matrix
with 24 caps to serve two amplifiers.

ESM would be rated for 366,000uF per rail for two amps. Or 732,000uF
per rail for one amp if you wanted one ESM per amplifer. /hehehe

Energy storage for two amps would be based on 160V, 366kuF.

4684 Joules per rail for two amplifiers or 9369 Joules for one amplifier per rail.

For reference, a car audio amplifier with 1 Farad capacitor {1,000,000uF}
has 103 Joules.

For another reference, the new Rockford Fosgate 15KW amp {Hybrid}
has somewhere around 225,000 Joules. They use the new hybrid caps
used in electrical cars. But anyways, that RF amp is misleading, it's 15kw
rating is not using the RMS method, it's a peak rating. That was a hot debate
in cyber last month... It took me 5 minutes to scheme a design based on their idea,
the class H power supply with brains. Who knows how they implement the idea,
but it's getting a patent and we can alway look at the patent. :)

Crown_amps
02-10-2006, 02:46 AM
Type-R will take all of that power with no struggle! :rolleyes:

oh come on that thing wont even move the cone with that teeny tiny amp :up2somet: its a type r remeber ? the wmd you can buy and use as a sonic weapon vs anyone you dont like :cool:

monte_carlo97
02-10-2006, 09:17 AM
sounds like you got a great project going. Keep the pics and updates coming.