PDA

View Full Version : Engineers *can be* dumb

thylantyr
02-06-2006, 06:22 PM
Nobody believes me when I tell them that I've seen so many dumb engineers
{in person} in my career.

Maybe this post sheds some light.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=641358

So, I am ready to set up my first A/V receiver tonight and I open up the manual to my Harman/Kardon AVR 235 and begin reading and get totally lost by the 16th page.. Please, tell me it is not this difficult. As an Engineer, I thought this would be a pieve of cake, but they start talking about all these dolby modes and delays and compression... Where is the idiots guide for this thing!!!

JimJ
02-06-2006, 06:23 PM
Can be?

Isn't the correct phrase, "engineers can be intelligent sometimes?" :D

ballstothewall
02-06-2006, 06:25 PM
Hey, I'M an engineering major (arch. eng.). If an engineer can't figure out a fricking receiver, he either hasen't graduated, or is just plain stupid.

thylantyr
02-06-2006, 06:28 PM
Imagine that guy on Apollo 13 ............ hehehe

ballstothewall
02-06-2006, 06:34 PM
Imagine that guy on Apollo 13 ............ hehehe

*radio crackle*Uhh, Houston, we have a problem...
*long pause* Reading you loud and clear Apollo 13, what is your status?
*crackle* Ummm.....Yea..... Our Oxygen gague is going down pretty fast. Now I don't remember, is that a bad thing?

Shugarra
02-06-2006, 07:09 PM
He doesn't say what kind of engineer he is, though. If he were electrical or computer I would be a little disturbed but if he is a civil or to a lesser extent mechanical there is no reason they should be expected to understand the intricacies of an electrical component (not that setting up a receiver is especially difficult, just saying). You don't expect a gynecologist to do brain surgery, even though he is a doctor, do you?

ballstothewall
02-06-2006, 07:14 PM
Even mechanicals have to take electronics classes.