PDA

View Full Version : Alpine CDA-7998 or Pioneer DEH-P8600MP



m3transporter
02-05-2006, 04:11 PM
Well, which one is it guys, i have both, but i have to give one up in order to keep the other.

JimJ
02-05-2006, 04:13 PM
Keep the 7998...or sell it to me for cheap :D

m3transporter
02-05-2006, 04:20 PM
I hooked up the 7998 the other day, and now i have this wierd noise, sounds like interference. I didnt have it with the 8600mp.

RCA's are run down the side opposite from the power wire, so thats definitly not the problem. Maybe i should buy some better rca's, the ones going to the sub were higher end, but the two going to the 4 channel amp were generic.

It sounds like ****, but ive only messed with it for 5 minutes :D

I'll mess with it a little more later on today.

JimJ
02-05-2006, 04:25 PM
Perhaps you could try re-grounding the 7998 direct to the battery. Alpines can be finicky about inducted noise with a bad ground.

m3transporter
02-05-2006, 04:32 PM
Perhaps you could try re-grounding the 7998 direct to the battery. Alpines can be finicky about inducted noise with a bad ground.

Good idea :)

I will try it and report back :D

alphakenny1
02-05-2006, 06:10 PM
keep that 7998. if it was the 860 i might lean towards the 860 because it has more tuning capabilites but since its the 8600, hands down the 7998.

60_cent
02-06-2006, 06:32 PM
7998 all the way....

on of the best Alpine units in a while plus the phantom face is so sweet

m3transporter
02-07-2006, 01:05 AM
i kept the 7998... gave the 8600 to my friend... not a bad trade.

camry_tuner
02-07-2006, 01:37 AM
7998 is uber... i love mine =D

takeabao
02-07-2006, 12:28 PM
Hmm all this talk about the 7998.... I should try and get my hands on a 7998R

m3transporter
02-07-2006, 11:49 PM
i got it installed, and it sounds good. i need to play with the xover and get some better rca's for my 4 channel. i like this headunit.

steveravenscrof
02-09-2006, 12:13 AM
Hey I have the same one and love it.The fact it has the one set of RCA's for a sub and front and rear for highs has me confused lately.It's never been a issue to me till I joined here.My front and rears are going to my main amp for my highs and the ONE set for sub is going to one of my mono amps.the mono doesnt have a set of pre outs on it so I'm Y jacked to my second matching mono amp.Question is can I use the set of pre outs on my 4ch.main amp since it has the RCA's of the HU for the front and rears going to it for my other mono amp.


steve

m3transporter
02-11-2006, 03:56 PM
Question is can I use the set of pre outs on my 4ch.main amp since it has the RCA's of the HU for the front and rears going to it for my other mono amp.


steve


i dont see why not.

steveravenscrof
02-11-2006, 04:47 PM
Cool I just wasn't sure.I always thought you couln't run a sub or sub amp off your front and rear rca outputs.Thats why they were designated that way.

m3transporter
02-11-2006, 04:54 PM
Cool I just wasn't sure.I always thought you couln't run a sub or sub amp off your front and rear rca outputs.Thats why they were designated that way.

id get someone elses opionion on here to back mine up first though ;)

steveravenscrof
02-11-2006, 05:06 PM
Yea ,I dont think you could literally use the front or rear RCA outputs off the HU for your sub amp or it would be controled by your fader.
But the pre out on the main amp with both front and rear ran into it for highs should be live always,Right?And ok to hook another mono sub amp to.Right?:rolleyes:

m3transporter
02-11-2006, 05:10 PM
i dunno... i used to have a headunit that had only front and rear outputs... i used the rear with a y and hooked up subs too... it worked fine and sounded pretty good...

i also had a 2 channel running off the outputs off of another 2 channel and it worked fine...

steveravenscrof
02-11-2006, 05:20 PM
Yea, everything has been working fine for going on 2 years ya know.I guess I'm just getting bored and want to play with it.(F*** it up ya know)hahaha.
No seriously I just thought it would be better to come off a pre out,rather than have it Y jacked.Like I may get more power to it, or some crazy **** like that.

thefunkybunch
02-11-2006, 10:41 PM
personally i think you are better off Y'ing it off to the sub amps from the sub pre-out. it will work if you use the preout on the 4ch amp to run the other sub amp, but the sub control on your head unit will turn one of them up and down while the other won't. if you're concerned about voltage drop on that channel (which wouldn't really be noticeable anyways) you could always get a line driver.

steveravenscrof
02-11-2006, 10:51 PM
Oh,your right.I didn't even think about my bass control in the HU.Takes care of that dilema.Thanks!:p:

skierxx5556
02-21-2006, 06:43 PM
I have a 7998 for sale if anyone is interested...

m3transporter
02-21-2006, 07:17 PM
I have a 7998 for sale if anyone is interested...

Out of curiosity.... what are you upgrading to... or running instead?

skierxx5556
02-21-2006, 07:28 PM
Im going to be upgrading to an Eclipse CD7000