PDA

View Full Version : running active with horns, cd8445 headunit good for running active?



thadman
02-04-2006, 12:37 PM
I planning on purchasing a set of image dynamics CD2 comp horns and an Eclipse cd8445 ($300 shipped buy-it-now brand new on eBay)

Is the cd8445 a capable enough headunit to run active? Is the 8455 extremely superior to the 8445 in terms of its internal xovers? The 8455 is about 50-65% more expensive. Will the prices drop any more on the Eclipse units once their new line is released?

I have roughly ~170-200 watts @ 2ohms for the mids from a DLS A5 amplifier, would the new Dayton RS 4ohm work well with horns?

Would ~60 watts for each horn be enough? (looking for a DLS A1 amp for the horns)

thadman
02-04-2006, 12:57 PM
11 views and no posts? cmon guys

iceteebone
02-04-2006, 01:17 PM
i don't think the 8445 has a 3-way xover. i would look into the older eclipse decks like the 8454, 8053, and 8443. byt the way you can't run your amp at 2 ohms on a 4 ohm mid

thadman
02-04-2006, 01:20 PM
You are right, I made the ignorant assumption that they were dvc and not svc.

alphakenny1
02-04-2006, 03:01 PM
as said earlier you can't run active with the 8445. you can probably use a combo of your HU and amp if you want.

thadman
02-04-2006, 03:03 PM
How would that work?

thadman
02-04-2006, 03:03 PM
How would a URAL work with this setup?

alphakenny1
02-04-2006, 03:07 PM
for theoretical disucssion. lets say you got a four channel amp for your mids and tweets. also you got your sub. On your HU HP both the mids lets say at 63hz. then your amp settings lets say you have your tweets on channels 1 and 2. HP those tweets on your @ 3khz or something. now your mids LP about 3khz on channels 3 and 4.

but thats work. i'd get the 8455 if you can get one. or as said earlier 8454, 8053, or 8443.

alphakenny1
02-04-2006, 03:07 PM
How would a URAL work with this setup?

yes sir.

thadman
02-04-2006, 04:00 PM
how nice are 8053s?

thadman
02-04-2006, 04:47 PM
does $270 for a brand new cd8053 sound reasonable?

HeatSeeker
02-04-2006, 09:58 PM
does $270 for a brand new cd8053 sound reasonable?

Sounds like a nice deal ;)

mikegett
02-05-2006, 02:44 AM
The 8053 is nice but lacks mp3 if you want it. The 04 line of 8454's is a very nice deck as well. It will run active very nicely. However, if you use ipods then buy a 05 model like the 8455. You can match the sensitivity of the ipod with the 05 lines. You cannot do that with the 04 or 03 lines. That means that your ipod will be displacing about 1.5 volts at a maximum volume compared to the cd's 8 volts at max volume. Very annoying in my opinion.

thadman
02-05-2006, 10:49 AM
The 8053 wont play MP3 cds?

alphakenny1
02-05-2006, 02:29 PM
The 8053 wont play MP3 cds?

no it wont

thadman
02-06-2006, 05:03 PM
would a zapco SLX4 work for the active crossovers?

Features

Simbilink Balanced 4-Way Crossover with Separate Inputs

- 6 Way 4 Output Variable Crossover
- SymbiLink balanced inputs and outputs.
- Individual variable crossover points.
- Dual input capability.
- Slave outputs for easy system expansion.
- 12/24dB per octave options for low pass.
- No external power wiring necessary when used with
SymbiLink amplifier.
- High signal voltage capability.
- LED clipping indicator.
- Dashboard or trunk mountable.
- Gold plated signal connectors.


Specificatons

Max Output Level:
- Balanced: 15 volts
- Unbalanced: 7.5 volts

Input Impedence: 4.75k ohms

Output Impedence: 680 ohms
Separate Inputs for Front, Rear and Sub

THD + Noise: <0.002%

S/N Ratio: >105dB

Stereo Separation: >80dB

Dimensions: 3.75"D x 6.25"W x 0.95"H

alphakenny1
02-06-2006, 06:18 PM
that crossover should work. but a little excessive for your application because that is a 4 way crossover. i'm guessing you are going with a 2 way frontstage so you dont need a 3 way setup for your frontstage.

thadman
02-06-2006, 10:09 PM
Yes, Im looking for a Zapco SLX-2 specifically, but there are a couple of those SLX-4s on ebay right now.

thadman
02-06-2006, 10:23 PM
what additional accessories would I need if I went with a zapco crossover, dont I need some symbilink wires or something?