PDA

View Full Version : upgrading hu



PESteele
02-02-2006, 10:37 PM
what exactly does getting a better hu do

jgarcia9102
02-02-2006, 10:42 PM
well whats wrong with the one you have now?

i dont realy get what the question is. a 'better' HU is just that. Better than what you now have. it could have superior sound quality, new features, etc.

if theres nothing wrong with what you have, dont get a new one....

Prowler573
02-02-2006, 10:48 PM
what exactly does getting a better hu do It will depend on what makes the head unit you upgrade to "better" than the one it replaces.

It may have a better signal-to-noise ratio on CD playback. It may have more extensive sound shaping capabilities. It may have more preamp outputs. It may have a better built-in crossover network. It may have a better screen. It may play compressed music formats that the one it replaces wouldn't decode (Kenwood's proprietary .aac file format [or is that Apple's file format for iTunes?! I forget...] or Sony's ATRAC3, for example)

An upgraded head unit may reproduce whatever source material you're playing more accurately than another option.


There are many, many things a better head unit may potentially be better at doing....

iceteebone
02-02-2006, 10:50 PM
i hate vague threads. it all depedns on what you are upgrading from

PESteele
02-02-2006, 10:52 PM
can u read my sig
i was just wondering sq wise