PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse bd 8053



cazorp
01-26-2006, 08:38 AM
Eclipse cd 8053 ... please change title mods

How good are these, i just bought one and im wondering how nice of a headunit it is?? it looks nice, how are the sub controls??? i have to kicker cvrs oming and i was hoping it had good sub controls like some of the newer alpines, etc.

can anyone help??

thanks
Zach

squeak9798
01-26-2006, 08:57 AM
How good are these,

Very very good.


i just bought one and im wondering how nice of a headunit it is??

Very nice headunit. Eclipse's top of the line deck from a few years ago. Last deck they made with no internal amplifier. Many people consider it to still be better than any of Eclipse's current offerings.


how are the sub controls??? i have to kicker cvrs oming and i was hoping it had good sub controls like some of the newer alpines, etc.

I guess I'm not familiar with the Alpine's and what features they have as far as sub control.

But, are you going to be using the 8053 in Pro Mode or normal mode?

cazorp
01-26-2006, 08:59 AM
probably in pro mode, i dont normally like preset eq's

cazorp
01-26-2006, 09:15 AM
anybody know a good bit about these??

squeak9798
01-26-2006, 09:26 AM
probably in pro mode,

Then the subwoofer control will consist of selectable xover frequency (63hz - 200hz in 1/3 octave steps) and slope (pass/6/12/18/24db). L & R attenuation (0 to -30db in -1db steps). Also time alignment and reversable phase. Main down fall is that there are no EQ bands for the subwoofer output.

Also, if you set the subwoofer level in normal mode, that setting will still be in effect for Pro Mode aswell.

cazorp
01-26-2006, 09:29 AM
WOW!! so i guess the question isnt gonna be whether or not it has enough features, but if i can figure out how to use them or not, maybe i should leave it in normal mode. lol

thanks squeak
Zach

djman37
01-26-2006, 09:35 AM
WOW!! so i guess the question isnt gonna be whether or not it has enough features, but if i can figure out how to use them or not, maybe i should leave it in normal mode. lol

thanks squeak
Zach

start diggin' through that roughly 200 page manual!! The 'preset' eq of defeat will let you go in and make user definable EQ's and store 6 of them. I made number 1 flat myself.

cazorp
01-26-2006, 09:38 AM
sweet, now im getting excited about this thing ... sounds like im gonna have fun, one question though, if it doesnt have a built in amplifier does that mean i have to amp my front and rear speakers???

thanks
Zach

FoxPro5
01-26-2006, 09:38 AM
I have mine in Pro mode and the only draw back is the inability to adjust the sub....unless you go into the time allignment menu and adjust there. I have never used a remote bass knob but I do now.

cazorp
01-26-2006, 09:40 AM
so it makes it harder to adjust the sub in pro mode??

iceteebone
01-26-2006, 09:40 AM
WOW!! so i guess the question isnt gonna be whether or not it has enough features, but if i can figure out how to use them or not, maybe i should leave it in normal mode. lol

thanks squeak
Zach


there are plenty of features on it lol. also wouldn't it have been wise to ask these questions before you bought it? the only thing i don't like about them (I never used the 8053, but have used the 8443) is that you can't mute sub.

cazorp
01-26-2006, 09:42 AM
there are plenty of features on it lol. also wouldn't it have been wise to ask these questions before you bought it? the only thing i don't like about them (I never used the 8053, but have used the 8443) is that you can't mute sub.

lol probably so, but it was a good deal and i didnt want anyone else getting it. you guys are starting to scare me now, no sub mute?? maybe a remote bass knob would be a must??

lol
Zach

iceteebone
01-26-2006, 09:44 AM
lol probably so, but it was a good deal and i didnt want anyone else getting it. you guys are starting to scare me now, no sub mute?? maybe a remote bass knob would be a must??

lol
Zach


no it is not a must. sometimes i like to turn off my subs, especially when i'm in a residental area.

cazorp
01-26-2006, 09:46 AM
i do too, thats y i was saying i might need a remote bass knob, i dont want all that noise sometimes

Zach

iceteebone
01-26-2006, 09:47 AM
i do too, thats y i was saying i might need a remote bass knob, i dont want all that noise sometimes

Zach


not following you. you can always turn the non-fader all the way down, like i do. a bass knob is the best way to cook subs

cazorp
01-26-2006, 09:49 AM
ooo ok, i thought u said there was NO way to mute the subs, im clear now... thanks

Zach

iceteebone
01-26-2006, 09:51 AM
ooo ok, i thought u said there was NO way to mute the subs, im clear now... thanks

Zach


you can't mute them completly, but you can turn them down till where they are hardly audible

cazorp
01-26-2006, 09:54 AM
ok well thats all i really need for the subs, thanks for the help guys, im excited about this thing now, i hope its as good as it sounds.

Zach

squeak9798
01-26-2006, 10:01 AM
one question though, if it doesnt have a built in amplifier does that mean i have to amp my front and rear speakers???


Yes. You must use an external amplifier to power your front and rear speakers.

squeak9798
01-26-2006, 10:03 AM
the only thing i don't like about them (I never used the 8053, but have used the 8443) is that you can't mute sub.

On the 8053 you can adjust the attenuation all the way down to infinite attenuation...which is essentially muted.

cazorp
01-26-2006, 10:03 AM
hmmm, i guess i should have looked into that before, i have an extra amp, but that might be more trouble than its worth to run another amp

squeak9798
01-26-2006, 10:06 AM
hmmm, i guess i should have looked into that before, i have an extra amp, but that might be more trouble than its worth to run another amp


Yeah...would have been wise ;)

How much did you pay for the 8053?

cazorp
01-26-2006, 10:07 AM
Yeah...would have been wise ;)

How much did you pay for the 8053?

lol i guess so :crap:

$280, so i still got a good deal, maybe i can make a little money and get another deck instead

Zach

squeak9798
01-26-2006, 10:11 AM
$280, so i still got a good deal, maybe i can make a little money and get another deck instead

Zach

I wouldn't call that a *great* deal....that's about what they are going for right now. Average is about $275-$300 for one in good condition.

But, you should be able to sell it without losing any money.

cazorp
01-26-2006, 10:14 AM
**** im depressed now, how hard is it to amp front and rear speakers if i already have a sub amp ran and i need to run another, do i have to run a whole nother power wire, etc.??

thanks
Zach

squeak9798
01-26-2006, 10:20 AM
do i have to run a whole nother power wire, etc.??


If your power wire is adequately sized, you can just use a distrobution block to split your current power wire to both amps. You could also just splice off of your current REM wire to the new amp aswell. Only "new" wires you'll need to run are the RCA wires to the amp for the highs, aswell as a ground wire for the new amp.

iceteebone
01-26-2006, 10:45 AM
i'll trade you an 8443 for it. basically same thing except the 8443 has an internal amp

JLCivic
01-26-2006, 09:11 PM
so it makes it harder to adjust the sub in pro mode??

You just have to go back to normal mode to adjust the sub. I had one of those decks(excellent as was every other eclipse I ever owned). Adjusting the sub volume really only took about 10 seconds...no big deal, imo.

It is a great sounding deck.