PDA

View Full Version : Help with Going Active



MemphisSoul4U
01-24-2006, 07:37 PM
Ok, as I understand it, going active means using an amp for a speaker, and an amp for the tweeter. But, do you only use one speaker per amp??? Say you have 4 sets of components, could you use 2 amps, 1 for the midbasses and 1 for the tweeters???

I'm getting ready to buy some speakers from partsexpress (been looking at Tangband, Vifa, and Audax), and was wondering if I had enough amps.

Also, has anybody had any experience with the above brands of midbass/tweeter combo? Or is there other combinations that would be better for around the same money. I've also been thinking of picking up a couple horns. Couldn't really find any on partsexpress, so if anyone has any suggestions on setups they used, I would really appreciate it...

Mr. Opportunist
01-24-2006, 07:42 PM
you can use 1 4 ch. amp

for horns go with image dynamics all the way :)

Chevyaudio
01-24-2006, 07:43 PM
You can go active with one amp (4 channel) 2 channels for mids and 2 for tweeters. I have heard great things from tangband, and also for horns look at http://www.imagedynamicsusa.com/index.php. Also if you are going to run horns it takes some serious time to get everything set up, and very strong mid bass drivers

Edit Dammmmit Custel you b1tch J/k you beat me

Mr. Opportunist
01-24-2006, 07:51 PM
You can go active with one amp (4 channel) 2 channels for mids and 2 for tweeters. I have heard great things from tangband, and also for horns look at http://www.imagedynamicsusa.com/index.php. Also if you are going to run horns it takes some serious time to get everything set up, and very strong mid bass drivers

Edit Dammmmit Custel you b1tch J/k you beat me
:p: mounting horns is a ***** btw :crap: but after they are mounted and powered they are incredible :)

MemphisSoul4U
01-24-2006, 07:54 PM
Where exactly would you mount horns anyway. I just had an idea of mounting in the slots for the defroster in my dash...or around in that area...

Chevyaudio
01-24-2006, 07:58 PM
on the glove box, and under the dash...Ill look for some Pics

Chevyaudio
01-24-2006, 08:00 PM
http://www.caraudio.com/vb/showpost.php?p=1398203&postcount=58

Look at this post, Shows where to mount horns

MemphisSoul4U
01-24-2006, 08:17 PM
Would you run horns along with tweeters, or just midbass and horns. I'm wanting to sound good and scream, btw. Since I've got my sub loud, I've noticed my front-end is lacking...severly...

MemphisSoul4U
01-24-2006, 08:18 PM
http://www.caraudio.com/vb/showpost.php?p=1398203&postcount=58

Look at this post, Shows where to mount horns
That's great. I have a lot of room down there in my car...

alphakenny1
01-24-2006, 08:50 PM
probably the most popular and cost efficient combo out there is the LPG 25NFA and the Seas CA18RNX. Both can be had for roughly $190. if you are truly interested in going active i'd suggest going over the diymobileaudio.com and read over there. tons of great info, data, and articles that will get you started in the right direction in going active.

$$mok3d
01-24-2006, 09:20 PM
Lets say i have a PG EQ215X. The crossover section allows you to run a low pass / high pass / band pass. Is that an active crossover? And if it is could i run some DIY mids/tweets off a 2 channel amp with it?

alphakenny1
01-24-2006, 09:28 PM
Lets say i have a PG EQ215X. The crossover section allows you to run a low pass / high pass / band pass. Is that an active crossover? And if it is could i run some DIY mids/tweets off a 2 channel amp with it?

yes you have yourself a 3way active crossver. but in order to go active each speaker needs its own independent channel. DIY is the way to go. cheap and fun.