PDA

View Full Version : unlock problem Nissan Titan/791xv



rcantu
01-20-2006, 01:30 AM
hi guys,

this one has got me crazy.

I've programmed the double pulse unlock and it's wired to the switch at the door but it's still not unlocking until I hit the disarm button for the 2nd time. It locks perfectly fine.

obviously it needs a double pulse.

to program the double pulse I opened the door, turned the ignition on then off, held the valet button, heard the 2 beeps then tapped the button 8 times and held it on the 8th time, heard the beeps, clicked the disarm button on the remote which I heard 2 chirps, closed door, heard the bird sound chirps.

what am I missing? I moved the ground wire of the system to another spot already. I soldered the connections but still no go.

thanks all!

DiamondFanatic
01-20-2006, 01:33 AM
Another thing you could always get to try and solve the problem is a module that turns a single pulse output into a user selectable pulse. I believe DEI makes one. Of course, it does sound like your alarm should be able to do it on its own...

rcantu
01-20-2006, 01:36 AM
that's exactly what I'm thinking. it has a double pulse feature and it doesn't work. the connections must be good cause after the 2nd unlock it works.

thanks for your input

Randy Savage
01-20-2006, 01:40 AM
Hard to understand what you're getting at, but some cars need double pulse, 1st pulse is disarm, 2nd unlocks all doors.

DiamondFanatic
01-20-2006, 01:40 AM
Are you sure that you don't need just a longer pulse? Have you tried just taking your unlock wire and touching it to 12v twice to verify you need double pulse? Let me hop on directtechs real quick and try and figure it out...

DiamondFanatic
01-20-2006, 01:43 AM
What year is your Titan?

Randy Savage
01-20-2006, 01:45 AM
Titan is double pulse

rcantu
01-20-2006, 01:48 AM
it's an 04 titan. needs negative double pulse.

it locks perfectly fine but doesn't unlock without disarming it twice.

DiamondFanatic
01-20-2006, 01:49 AM
Yeah thats what Audiovox Techservices shows... Have you checked the output from your alarm brain with like a DMM to see whether or not it is doing the double pulse?

rcantu
01-20-2006, 01:56 AM
not sure how to read the double pulse. it's just the voltage changing twice right?

positive terminal to hot wire and negative terminal to the brain unlock wire?




Yeah thats what Audiovox Techservices shows... Have you checked the output from your alarm brain with like a DMM to see whether or not it is doing the double pulse?

DiamondFanatic
01-20-2006, 01:58 AM
Yeah that should do it

rcantu
01-20-2006, 02:04 AM
yeah then yes I did that and saw the voltage change once. do you guys think the brain is bad? I posted my programming method so I think I'm doing that right.

Randy Savage
01-20-2006, 02:05 AM
Does the domelight go on with 1 pulse?

DiamondFanatic
01-20-2006, 02:06 AM
I have no idea if your programming method is correct, I don't deal with DEI alarms where I work. If you're sure that you're doing it the right way then you might as well pick up one of those pulse timers.

rcantu
01-20-2006, 02:12 AM
Does the domelight go on with 1 pulse?


yes it does.

wow ...you guys are great with responses. I guess I can spend a lil more $ for the pulse relay.

thanks all.

DiamondFanatic
01-20-2006, 02:14 AM
Did the truck come with priority unlock? one click for drivers door and two clicks for the remaining?

Randy Savage
01-20-2006, 02:14 AM
Hold on.

You sure you're in the right feature menu?

Randy Savage
01-20-2006, 02:17 AM
Did the truck come with priority unlock? one click for drivers door and two clicks for the remaining?


I think most Nissan's do.

I'm tired as ****, so I may be wrong...but if you're getting domelight on one pulse, it should be programmed right :confused:

Know anyone with a bitwriter? :)

Randy Savage
01-20-2006, 02:18 AM
Hold on.

You sure you're in the right feature menu?

Just read the original post...sounds like you're doing everything right.


Excuse my slowness...I'm tired :)

rcantu
01-20-2006, 02:20 AM
Did the truck come with priority unlock? one click for drivers door and two clicks for the remaining?

yes from the factory remote fob.

from what i understand the 1st pulse disarms the factory alarm and turns on the domelight. 2nd pulse unlocks the door.


Hold on.

You sure you're in the right feature menu?

yes. I double checked my manual and one I found online.

it's menu 2-8. anybody got something else?

KaeZoo
01-20-2006, 09:54 AM
According to the manual I'm looking at, 2-8 is LOCK pulse. To change the UNLOCK pulse, you need to switch 2-7.

rcantu
01-20-2006, 10:26 AM
According to the manual I'm looking at, 2-8 is LOCK pulse. To change the UNLOCK pulse, you need to switch 2-7.

I saw that too for the manual online and my paper manual say 2-8. I tried both too.