PDA

View Full Version : Kenwood guys help please.

twistedtrik
01-19-2006, 09:04 PM
I have had a Kenwood eXcelon kdc-ps907 sitting here for awhile. It needed a small part which I was able to find on partsstore.com. I also ordered a new remote for it from there as well. Part is in and the HU works great, but the remote does nothing:crying: . I have heard that when using a new remote they have to be programmed to that deck. Is this true and how do you do it:eyebrow: ? I want to install this but I don't want to put it in without the remote working. Any help or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.:)

Prowler573
01-19-2006, 09:13 PM
I have no direct experience with that particular model (it is one of the 'dead heads', right? No internal amp at all - only preamp outputs?) but in my experience any Kenwood remote control will control any Kenwood remote-capable deck.

I still use a credit card-type remote that I bought with a KRC-608 cassette receiver (the deck is remote capable but wasn't factory-supplied with one so I purchased the remote on the side to go with it) because it has direct function access (dedicated buttons for Tuner, CD, Cassette, CD changer/Aux input) rather than having to scroll through every function with the 'source' button. It has operated every head unit I have owned following the one I bought it for.

I would suggest that while putting that PS907 back together you covered or damaged the IR receiving eye somehow and it isn't registering the inputs from the remote. Never heard of having to program one to it....

twistedtrik
01-19-2006, 09:19 PM
Well that is what is bugging me. It has preouts and front and rear speaker wires but doesn't seem to have any power from them. The credit card remote is the one I bought. I e-mailed Kenwood to see if they had any ideas. We will see.

Prowler573
01-19-2006, 09:27 PM