View Full Version : ipod + alpine help

01-15-2006, 07:59 AM
i have a 7892 alpine headunit. i want to get an ipod for it because my cd burner is not working. so all i need is

will that be all i need to do this? Every ipod will work with the adapter right?
sound quality decent as good as an mp3?

01-15-2006, 10:56 AM
I personally have one the 420i and yes every ipod will work you need to make sure that its compatible with your cd player i dont know if it is off the top of my head but if it is you should be set. If you want a good deal on the 420i look on evay i got mine on there for about 70 dollars new.

01-15-2006, 11:41 AM
i had the alpine ipod adapter mentioned above, i wasnt very happy with it, not because of the sound quality, but because of the 10 minutes of scrolling it took to get halfway through my music library, it was the biggest pain the *** ever, so i just stuck with MP3 cds, and returned it.

01-15-2006, 11:56 PM
anyway around the long scroll time?

01-15-2006, 11:59 PM
Put it on random?

Deffinetly make sure that your ALpine is IPod compatible.

01-16-2006, 12:02 AM
Create playlists in Itunes. That will be all you need. Dont let the "slow scrolling" discourage you. Prior to hooking up your Ipod in your car select the playlist and put it on "shuffle songs" it works great.

go here for great sounding MP3"s:


I use this and let me tell ya all of my music sounds GREAT. I encode in 192 vbr (variable bit rate)

01-16-2006, 01:37 PM
Is that like an ares or a downloading prorgam?

01-17-2006, 01:01 PM
I would recommend buying this Alpine KCA-121B wire. It hooks up to where you would hook up a cd changer and you would also need something like http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=7220777&type=product&productCategoryId=pcmcat33100050027&id=1114639085343 that hooks right up to your iPod. You won't be able to control your iPod through the cd player, but I just put the iPod on random. The sound quality is right up there with mp3's.

01-17-2006, 10:27 PM
any other oponions on that last statement?

01-18-2006, 01:00 PM
Are you able to scroll through the music on the h/u and display song titles on the display with the 420i? Or does the h/u just see it as an input and you control what music is played on the iPod?

01-18-2006, 01:06 PM
Unless I'm very mistaken the KCA-420i will not work on your headunit. It was designed to work on '04 and up AiNet recievers. IIRC there is roughly a 30% chance of it working with older AiNet units, but some of the features are lost, such as track names being displayed, as well as some glitches appearing in playback.
If I were you I would not only save my money, but save myself the hassle and just get the KCA-121B input adaptor. That way you can plug in any audio source, and I'm almost positive it works with your particular unit.
The KCA-420i for future reference will work with any iPod with dock connector, provided the software is at least newer then April of 2004. And the interface honestly ***** unless you have glide touch, or a flip out screen, or waaaay too much time while you're driving to fiddle with clumsy interfaces.

01-19-2006, 03:40 AM
Your CDA-7892 will not work with the Alpine ipod interface. As stated, only 2004 decks with AI-Net will work.

01-19-2006, 11:20 AM
so my best bet would be to buy that auxuliry? and it will sound decent and its cheaper.

01-19-2006, 02:44 PM
had it hooked up to my old 7894 and it sounded good and i currently have it hooked up to my 9855. its right around mp3 quality.

01-19-2006, 10:02 PM
more than likley if best buy has it at there website they would have it at there store correct?

01-21-2006, 05:29 PM
yeah im pretty sure that they will have it. if not there are about 3 other ones to choose from, that was just the cheapest