PDA

View Full Version : Dayton Front Stage??



DaGh0st
01-14-2006, 06:05 PM
ok im thinking of getting a better front stage.I cant get to expensive because money is tight (tax return time is comeing tho :up2somet: ) so i was thinking of doing a dayton front stage, anyone ever try this?
Crossovers:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=260-144 2-way
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=260-152 3-way
Midd Bass:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=295-308
tweet:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=275-070
and a midd rage if i need one?
or if you can think of any other fairly cheap set let me know please.

PRIVATEpastry
01-14-2006, 07:50 PM
Don't use those crossovers. You should run active if you're going to be doing a DIY front stage.

DaGh0st
01-14-2006, 09:26 PM
ok so with out a crossover how would i wire it to the amp? the 2 tweets on CH 1 and 2 and the mid bass on 3 and 4?

DaGh0st
01-14-2006, 09:27 PM
and use the crossover on the amp?

alphakenny1
01-14-2006, 09:40 PM
well here's the problem you would need to bandpass the mids so then you would need an active crossover. i didn't even check but most likely your amp probably won't be able to bandpass your mids. only high end amps have that, or from what researched.

maybe contact ologyaudio and he can custom some xovers for you but my suggestion is the same as above, go active.

iceteebone
01-14-2006, 09:43 PM
what hedunit and amp do you have? you can always buy an external 3-way xover.

alphakenny1
01-14-2006, 10:01 PM
what hedunit and amp do you have?

JVC kd-9700 -HU. PG 150.4 -Speaker Amp. in his sig ;)

OlogyAudio
01-14-2006, 10:40 PM
well here's the problem you would need to bandpass the mids so then you would need an active crossover. i didn't even check but most likely your amp probably won't be able to bandpass your mids. only high end amps have that, or from what researched.

maybe contact ologyaudio and he can custom some xovers for you but my suggestion is the same as above, go active.

Active and EQ would be the best setup -- though that costs a little more money... What are you looking to spend on the front? (Speakers/amps/EQ) -- you can live without good EQ but... http://www.partsexpress.com/pdf/295-308g.pdf look at that FR... The lower you can push the xover point the better with this particular unit... I'd suggest taking a peak at the Seas TDFC or TBFC tweeters
http://www.madisound.com/cgi-bin/index.cgi?cart_id=6475627.29843&pid=1002
http://www.madisound.com/cgi-bin/index.cgi?cart_id=6475627.29843&pid=1005

Yea they cost more but it's very worth it...

Comes down to what you can afford rly...

I've never used this one:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=290-308&ctab=3#Tabs
But if you go active it looks like it would be easier than the dayton to get a decently flat response with it...

1st order ~1.5khz or so (depending on Q) on the HU and use the amp's xover between 2-3.5khz depending on the install...
This would likely be able to integrate reasonably with the Dayton tweeter...

A passive design for ethr of these units wouldn't be too design friendly... Needless to say a textbook xover in this case would… blow…

lslugz
01-14-2006, 11:24 PM
http://www.madisound.com/cgi-bin/index.cgi?cart_id=6475627.29843&pid=1005
Yea they cost more but it's very worth it...

I ordered a pair on friday, thanks ology! cant wait to get them.

DaGh0st
01-15-2006, 08:36 PM
Ok tell me if this corect.
1. Set my EQ on my HU to what sounds good to me? (dunno)
2. Set EQ on my amp to Hpf on Ch.1 and 2 for the tweets 1.5khz and ^, lpf on Ch.3 and 4 for midbass at 60-100hz?.
or
1.Set my EQ on my HU to what sounds good
2.Use Ch.1 and 2 with out the crossover on my amp set and just use an external crossover?

alphakenny1
01-15-2006, 08:40 PM
1. Set my EQ on my HU to what sounds good to me? (dunno)
2. Set EQ on my amp to Hpf on Ch.1 and 2 for the tweets 1.5khz and ^, lpf on Ch.3 and 4 for midbass at 60-100hz?.

problem with this is where are your speakers playing between 100hz - 1.5khz? like i said you probably can't use the xovers on your amp because it probably won't let you bandpass the mids



1.Set my EQ on my HU to what sounds good
2.Use Ch.1 and 2 with out the crossover on my amp set and just use an external crossover?

this seems to be the better option but wouldn't you want to use channels 3 and 4 as well?

DaGh0st
01-15-2006, 08:42 PM
yeah mabe for midrange?

alphakenny1
01-15-2006, 08:43 PM
you were going to use channels 1 and 2 for both tweets and midbass?

DaGh0st
01-15-2006, 08:46 PM
right with a crossover, my amp does 25x4 or 75x2 i think ill look it up real fast tho.... but if i just use the front Ch's with option 2 from what a wrote above couldnt i use 3 and 4 for midrange?

DaGh0st
01-15-2006, 08:47 PM
or a 3-way crossover?

alphakenny1
01-15-2006, 10:18 PM
well here's the deal if you want to go with a 3way active frontstage you are going to probably need 6 channels to work with but you only got 4. what i suggest is just stick with a tweeter and a mid. much easier to tune and you don't have to worry about making kickpanels.

so like i said if you just want to go active just go get a 3 way xover and you are good to go. hopefully your HU has decent tuning capabilities as well.