PDA

View Full Version : Infinity 4X6 Wont fit...help pls

canadian_mofo
01-09-2006, 05:02 PM
Ok so i got my infinity reference 4X6's today for my 96 sierra reg cab to replace the stock ones i have in the rear. Take out the olds detach them and before soldering i tried putting them in to see how they fit. Well they dont. The magnet is to **** wide and i cant fit it in. What should i do about this? Im new at this but figured this would be the easiest part of replacing the stock system and its already not going well.

~Magick_Man~
01-09-2006, 06:20 PM
well we actually just put those same ones (4 x 6 plates) in my dad's 90' extended cab sierra yesterday.
it just took a bit of trimming around the speaker opening.
trimmed the little lip off on the bottom half of the opening.
if you can get a picture it might help.
are your speakers in the rear (c) pillar?

~Magick_Man~

rocky 59
01-09-2006, 06:49 PM
i put some in my s10 reg cab. they required a little push but then just screwed them in and its all good

canadian_mofo
01-09-2006, 06:51 PM
its a reg cab so they are placed on the side wall just back of the door. How did you trim the metal?

canadian_mofo
01-09-2006, 06:52 PM
its not a matter of pushing them, i think if i did that they would end up getting wrecked. Its also a real pain when the bloody magnet keeps wanting to stick to the side.

rocky 59
01-09-2006, 06:52 PM
mine were in the dash.

canadian_mofo
01-09-2006, 06:59 PM
yeh if it was a matter of cutting some of the interior plastic thats not problem but the hole where the 4X6 go are a cut out in the actual frame of the truck. So i dunno how i would go about squeezing them into there. May end up taking it to a installation shop.

~Magick_Man~
01-09-2006, 08:28 PM
we just used i jigsaw
if you use a jigsaw or whatever you use make sure the blade isnt long enough to reach the outer skin on the truck :)
it was pretty easy and took about 2 minutes to cut both of them.
and yeah the magnet is kind of a biotch :)