PDA

View Full Version : Comps with stupid big power handling



LoudCrownVic
01-02-2006, 09:30 PM
Hello, I am clueless.

I have two awesome, awesome SQ amps Alpine MRV-F545 (250x2 @ 4ohms) and a PPI White Artsy Series A600.2 (300x2@ 4ohms) and one of them is gonna get used to power a set of comps.

Choice one: I have a decent set of horn tweeters, and a pair of Eclipse X-Overs with tweeter control.

I buy some midwoofers.

Choice two: Scrap the crap.

And buy something else.

I have never had a component set before, please help me pick something! My budget is 200-250 max, the less the better.

alteraudiousa
01-02-2006, 09:44 PM
a component set can handle 250rms if the gain is done correctly. Your budget is a little low though for a good component set that won't put itself into tweet protect mode with that power. The JLs go in tweet protect with only 175rms wheni used them. You could use what you have and buy a pair of woofers only.

UndercoverPunk
01-02-2006, 09:48 PM
You could always run active. :crazy:

FoxPro5
01-02-2006, 09:48 PM
I am clueless...awesome, awesome SQ amps Alpine MRV-F545

You're right:D

Anehoo....the comps that come to mind are Boston and Dynaudio. Pretty tough to find for $250 though. However, pretty much any well made comp set will hand all the *clean* power you wanna give them.

LoudCrownVic
01-02-2006, 09:52 PM
You're right:D

Anehoo....the comps that come to mind are Boston and Dynaudio. Pretty tough to find for $250 though. However, pretty much any well made comp set will hand all the *clean* power you wanna give them.

So I guess they aren't so good? :crap:

LoudCrownVic
01-02-2006, 09:52 PM
You could always run active. :crazy:

Explain.

UndercoverPunk
01-02-2006, 09:55 PM
Explain.

Get an active crossove and run any ******* thing you'd like... HT mids ets...

LoudCrownVic
01-02-2006, 09:59 PM
Get an active crossove and run any ******* thing you'd like... HT mids ets...

IC, IC... I have a Sony electronic x-over..... :( I doubt that is the same thing.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1-Rockford-Fosgate-SP64-midbass-driver-speaker-used-NR_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ38646QQitemZ80247851 17QQrdZ1#ebayphotohosting

^^^LOL!

LoudCrownVic
01-02-2006, 10:06 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/KICKER-KX3-3-WAY-ACTIVE-CROSSOVER_W0QQitemZ5847214341QQcategoryZ79840QQrdZ 1QQcmdZViewItem
Like this???

Would I need just one of these?

UndercoverPunk
01-02-2006, 10:07 PM
IC, IC... I have a Sony electronic x-over..... :( I doubt that is the same thing.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1-Rockford-Fosgate-SP64-midbass-driver-speaker-used-NR_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ38646QQitemZ80247851 17QQrdZ1#ebayphotohosting

^^^LOL!

I'm about this close | | to buying that...

LoudCrownVic
01-02-2006, 10:10 PM
I'm about this close | | to buying that...
LOL, waht is that? Like early 80's???

Vintage conversation piece audio FTW!

UndercoverPunk
01-02-2006, 10:15 PM
LOL, waht is that? Like early 80's???

Vintage conversation piece audio FTW!
pretty much...

LoudCrownVic
01-02-2006, 10:19 PM
I guess i could just get some cheap mids and freeball it with the gain on the PPI... I have run stock Ford speakers on a 1000wrms amp before and they didn't mind too much until I turned the gain up. :)

squeak9798
01-02-2006, 10:32 PM
I have two awesome, awesome SQ amps Alpine MRV-F545 (250x2 @ 4ohms) and a PPI White Artsy Series A600.2 (300x2@ 4ohms) and one of them is gonna get used to power a set of comps.

That A600.2 is only 150w x 2 @ 4ohm, not 300 x 2.

And that Alpine doesn't make 250w x 2 @ 4ohm either. The manual lists it as "500w x 1 + 125w x 2"

LoudCrownVic
01-02-2006, 10:38 PM
The Alpine is supposed to do 2 channels... I think 4/3/2. I had to squint real hard, but I think it may be the case. If not i'm gonna ****ing burn it cause I traded the som bich for a 15" Mk II Bhrama an all it has done is sit there an laugh at me.

Besides the point, the problem is solved. I don't have big balls on tap. Thank you Squeak for pointing that out. That will make finding some mids to go with it alot easier. the A600.2 sahll me my mid's and highs biach.

squeak9798
01-02-2006, 10:41 PM
The Alpine is supposed to do 2 channels... I think 4/3/2. I had to squint real hard, but I think it may be the case. If not i'm gonna ****ing burn it cause I traded the som bich for a 15" Mk II Bhrama an all it has done is sit there an laugh at me.

It may be able to do 2-channel (Alpine lists it as a 2/3/4 channel amp, but no where in their literature do they list a bridged output figure for the front two channels, only for the rear two). But even in a bridged 2-way mode, it would be 500w x 2 @ 4ohm, and not 250w x 2.

LoudCrownVic
01-02-2006, 10:44 PM
It may be able to do 2-channel (Alpine lists it as a 2/3/4 channel amp, but no where in their literature do they list a bridged output figure for the front two channels, only for the rear two). But even in a bridged 2-way mode, it would be 500w x 2 @ 4ohm, and not 250w x 2.

Hmm, thanks, I thought I saw that last night, LOL, i looked for 45 min for it. Pwnt by lack of focous/hallucination i guess.

Thanks for the correction the PPI. I emailed PPI twice for a PDF manual and they did not respond both times. I have gotten PDF manuals and specsheets no prob from Directed before and now they hate me. :(

FoxPro5
01-02-2006, 11:17 PM
So I guess they aren't so good? :crap:

I just wouldn't put two awesome's in front of the 05 Alpine amps in my experience :uhoh: ...although they do put out some respectable power :)