PDA

View Full Version : QSC PLX amp rack



thylantyr
12-28-2005, 12:28 PM
:D :yumyum: :yumyum: :yumyum:

Bottom of page
http://srforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/m/94868/0#msg_94868

18 PLX3402
61,200 watts :eek:

PV Audio
12-28-2005, 12:33 PM
i don't even want to know what this is. thylantyr's idea of subdued is only using 1200 watts on a line array :D

thylantyr
12-28-2005, 02:00 PM
I was doing PLX3402 homework and found that picture, pretty sick. 18 amps
in a rack. I wanted 13 amps in my amp rack, but I only have space in the corner
of the room for 1 amp rack including preamps and signal processors so I can't
fit 13 amps. I think I have to scale back the idea to something more normal
and find a better amp solution than QSC RMX. I've been eyeing the PLX and
doing research on it, it's expensive about 2x the cost of RMX but it packs
alot power in just a 2RU rack space because they use a switch mode power supply sorta
like what you find in car amplifiers. ie, RMX4050 is 4kw, 3RU, PLX 3402 is 3.4KW
in 2RU. New 4050 is $1k, used PLX3402 is $800-$900... found one for $850
to try out. In theory, I can drive my new system {in the werks} with three of
these amps if the amplifier can handle 1.6ohm tweeter array, 1 ohm mid array
and 2 ohm bass array, I think it can. But to be more uber, bridge mode on the
array would be ultra sick. Two amps bridged for tweeters, but the amp needs
to hang with 1.6 ohm bridged, all proamps are only rated for 4 ohm bridged. *laughs*...
I think the tweeters are ok at 1.6 ohm in bridged, but to drive the mids I would need
four PLX to force 2 ohm bridged [unhappy amp], and four more PLX for the bass array for
4 ohm bridged [happy amp]

so.... I can do 3 amps to start, to get the system to play music well, but then if I want to
torture people then add 7 more PLX's later. I think I can fit 10 of them in my space as
they all are 2RU size. We shall see.

That doesn't inlude the subwoofer(s) plans if any at all. I'm thinking eight 15's tuned to 35hz
might be ok for me, I'm not a big HT freak that needs 17hz -- hehe

ballstothewall
12-28-2005, 06:24 PM
Oh My God thylantyr, is that the definition of overkill?? :crazy:

You have got to post some pics of that beast of a setup when you get done. Oh and you were right naming my horn project "stairway to heaven", They sound AWSOME

thylantyr
12-28-2005, 06:32 PM
Oh My God thylantyr, is that the definition of overkill?? :crazy:

You have got to post some pics of that beast of a setup when you get done. Oh and you were right naming my horn project "stairway to heaven", They sound AWSOME

It will be a long time as I have to collect parts still.

That picture isn't a home setup and probably is mild for a big concert rig. But the
rack looks cool if it was in your house, you'd scare people away before
pressing the 'on' button on the stereo. :laugh:

Imaqine if that rack had Crown Itech 9kw amps ... that would be extreeemee sick. :eek: