PDA

View Full Version : box for TYpe R



duckfart
12-24-2005, 02:32 PM
I need a box for my TYpe R 05' as for right now I dont have many tools so i cant make one . So should I go with a prefab sealed for Vented ? Is the SQ still good in a ported or is it just boomy?

Lakota
12-24-2005, 03:34 PM
Most people prefer the Type R in a ported box, they seem to work best this way. If you plan on going ported, I would not recommend buying a prefab ported box. You can have someone on this site make plans and you could build the box yourself or have somebody build the box for you. I highly recommend having a custom box built so that you can get the most out of your sub.

Edit - Forgot you don't have many tools. I'd talk to someone like Moe Lester about geting a box built.

zsondy1
12-24-2005, 03:36 PM
Mark potts TCAB if you wanna be loud www.thecaraudiobox.com


i have one and its stupid loud it does a 150.7 @40hz:veryhapp:

saywhat?
12-24-2005, 04:04 PM
mark and the guys at TCAB do a good job yes, but its a pretty penny, yet it IS worth it compared to a SHOP price box. I can make you plans to take to a shop if you would like, or if you want to try your hand at building they are VERY straight forward and easy to read.

96civ
12-25-2005, 02:22 AM
Best bet is ported, but if you must go sealed... shoot for a net internal volume of around 1.0 ft^3.

saywhat?
12-25-2005, 09:37 AM
wrong.....1 cube sealed doesnt give the sub near enough room for play (ive had it in my car) try 1.5

HellyHans
12-25-2005, 03:10 PM
How could you guys recommend box volume without knowing the size of the sub and even he he wants 1 or 2??

96civ
12-25-2005, 03:28 PM
How could you guys recommend box volume without knowing the size of the sub and even he he wants 1 or 2??
Yeah good call.... I thought I saw 12" in there, but I guess not. Also, whether he needs one or two doesn't really matter... all that matters is that the net internal volume is the same for each sub.