PDA

View Full Version : box dimentions



PESteele
12-24-2005, 12:07 PM
what should the dimentions of a ported 5ft^3 box

negativezeroz
12-24-2005, 12:18 PM
Well since EXTERNAL dimensions would probably be near 26x26x18 total with all displacements included, thats about how big you will need.

What driver(s), what vehicle, how much space, and what are you wanting to tune to?

PESteele
12-24-2005, 12:40 PM
i have plenty of space its in a ford econoline E350 i dont kno what a driver is and i dont kno what tuning and how to do it is help me out a little im a noob

negativezeroz
12-24-2005, 12:57 PM
Driver = speaker. So what subwoofer are you wanting to use? Tuning: Higher tuning is used for SPL. Lower tuning is more for SQ. Example: Tuning to 40Hz will yield peaks in the 40's and wil have horrible low end extension (anything below 35 will have a huge drop in output and cause the sub to bottom out..)

I'm an SQ guy and I've always tuned to 27-28Hz. I won't get as loud as say someone tuning to around 35-45Hz using the same driver and power but I would have the better overall response. Hope that helps a little.

PESteele
12-24-2005, 01:06 PM
ok thanks i understand now only thing is how do i tune it

negativezeroz
12-24-2005, 01:09 PM
What subwoofer is it? Tuning is determined by length of the port.

PESteele
12-24-2005, 01:17 PM
its a kicker compvr 15"

negativezeroz
12-24-2005, 04:04 PM
If it was my sub I'd tune to anywhere from 27-32Hz. Kicker has a port figured as long as you get 5cf no matter the shape. The port they have is 3" x 15.5", 22" long

PESteele
12-24-2005, 08:54 PM
how can a hole have 3 dimentions i dont understand

PhatTonyDeMarco
12-24-2005, 08:58 PM
how can a hole have 3 dimentions i dont understand

If there are 3 dimensions, it must be a rectangular prism ;)

Have you never seen a SLOT port?

PESteele
12-24-2005, 09:32 PM
what is a slotted port

negativezeroz
12-24-2005, 09:36 PM
A rectangular shaped port rather than circle. (the boxes posted are diff sizes and diff tunings so don't get those confused..)

http://img308.imageshack.us/img308/8206/pict00171ti.jpg

vs

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v46/stalephotograph/new%20system/DSCF0013.jpg

PESteele
12-24-2005, 09:40 PM
If there are 3 dimensions, it must be a rectangular prism ;)

Have you never seen a SLOT port?

how do u make a rectangular prism in the side of a box is there a fitting or something i have to put in the port

negativezeroz
12-24-2005, 09:45 PM
You need box plans then PM Moe Lester.....