PDA

View Full Version : Can i replace these subs??



kotec123
12-15-2005, 09:22 PM
hey, ive got a JVC HX-GD8 stereo system in my room.(yes is the most powerfull one they have made hehe)....and its got 2 7 7/8 inch subs (according to spec) in a "bass reflex" ported enclosure, with the port facing foreward.
My question is if i can replace these 7 7/8 inch woofers wt an "8" inch woofer, and if i can whats a sub that i can use? The amp that drives the subs puts out "195x2 min. RMS @ 6ohms at 63hz....to spec

so what are the best replacement subs? look up that model number at www.jvc.com if u need other info...

thanks

kotec123
12-15-2005, 09:27 PM
i wanna get some better bump....lemme know

kotec123
12-15-2005, 09:46 PM
or basically what im askin is there any way to make this system better? anything at all.....maybe plugging the ports half way would make it hit lower? something anythign that improves it is appreciated

kotec123
12-15-2005, 09:57 PM
anyone ?

kotec123
12-15-2005, 10:09 PM
anyone find the christmas spirit in their hearts to help me out?

trevor87
12-15-2005, 10:18 PM
have you looked at partsexpress.com?

try something from dayton audio

or a price range would help

kotec123
12-15-2005, 10:20 PM
no budget at all....

Darth Audio
12-15-2005, 10:23 PM
Home audio isn't quite as plug n play as car audio. You are going to have a hard time just slappin' another woofer in there and it sounding as good as the original speaker. You would have to know the original speaker's T/S parameters and Parts Express could probably get you pretty close. You might want to check into getting a replacement from JVC.

kotec123
12-15-2005, 10:25 PM
well they arent blown....i just want more bass

Darth Audio
12-15-2005, 10:30 PM
I think you'd be better getting a dedicated sub. You can get a powered one from parts express for $100. It can use a high level signal input from your JVC.

kotec123
12-15-2005, 10:34 PM
wtf?? whats that?....the only outputs ive got on that system is a Optical Digital out and a video out....

trevor87
12-15-2005, 10:35 PM
Why not just buy a sub you like form PE, a plate amp, and build a ported box.

kotec123
12-15-2005, 10:37 PM
haha ive tried all these.....im tryin to run this off of this system.....i just want new subs.....

kotec123
12-15-2005, 10:40 PM
i realize that t/s will be a problem, but does anyone know enough that could point me to a sub that will be compatable wt a amp thats "195x2 min. RMS @ 6 ohms @ 63 hz? (according to spec) and that will match the enclosure in this system?

Darth Audio
12-15-2005, 10:43 PM
Dude you can still run your current speakers AND add a dedicated sub. The only thing the JVC will be doing is providing a signal to the subs plate amp. ie you would be jumping an additional + and - from one of your speaker connections to the subs high level signal input. It wouldn't be actually driving the sub.

kotec123
12-15-2005, 10:45 PM
i know man....first of all link me to this "dedicated sub" ur tlkin about....please......then lemme know if u know of any subs that would work in the current places...if not ill go wt the sub u suggest to me

trevor87
12-15-2005, 10:45 PM
6ohm? that may be hard to find

trevor87
12-15-2005, 10:47 PM
i know man....first of all link me to this "dedicated sub" ur tlkin about....please......then lemme know if u know of any subs that would work in the current places...if not ill go wt the sub u suggest to me

What size sub do you want?

Do you wanna buy evreything seperate and build a box or buy it all put together already?

may be hard to find replacement subs at 6ohm

kotec123
12-15-2005, 10:48 PM
8 inch sub.....no im just gonna try and put them into the spots the stock subs are....

trevor87
12-15-2005, 10:51 PM
Examples of a dedicated sub

http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?webpage_id=3&SO=2&DID=7&CATID=29&ObjectGroup_ID=536


http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?webpage_id=3&SO=2&DID=7&CATID=25&ObjectGroup_ID=620

stones
12-15-2005, 10:52 PM
Dude you can still run your current speakers AND add a dedicated sub. The only thing the JVC will be doing is providing a signal to the subs plate amp. ie you would be jumping an additional + and - from one of your speaker connections to the subs high level signal input. It wouldn't be actually driving the sub.
Listen to this man, he knows what he is talking about.
Go to your local electronics store and ask to see their home theater subs, you want a powered HT sub with high level inputs.
Now take it home and hook it up as the instructions tell you.
Now you will boom like so.

kotec123
12-15-2005, 11:06 PM
i guess...but i was lookin to go cheap....i know i said no buget but i meant on subs only....the only dedicated sub id ever consider doin is that titanic 15" gettin 1000 watts,,,but its 900 bucks....i was thinkin initially to drop 100 bucks on 2 8" cvrs or sumthin

req
12-15-2005, 11:36 PM
no, no you cant just out and start replacing speakers in your towers.

well, you CAN, but im sure your origional sperkeas that the system was ENGINEERED to use will sound better.

get a dedicated sub\amp\box, or buy sotmhing else.

get a cheap little 10 and a plate amp and go from there.

kotec123
12-16-2005, 12:16 AM
ok thanks for the input guys, any other suggestions let me know

trevor87
12-16-2005, 12:26 AM
So you just want two 8" subs for under 100 bucks?

with 192 watts rms at 6 ohm?

Any idea if you can run an 8 ohm sub with that receiver?

trevor87
12-16-2005, 12:35 AM
8" subs
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=264-854

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=295-100

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=295-545




Sumthin else to maybe look into
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=299-027

kotec123
12-16-2005, 12:45 AM
thanks bro.....that tang band is reallly nice.....those bass shakers dont look like too bad of an idea either