PDA

View Full Version : box bracing..?



regal8r
12-13-2005, 05:56 PM
i have heard that u should use box bracing when building a big ported box (pressures in ported exceed that of sealed), but i have seen alot of home built boxes on here with no bracing...is bracing really required? id like to see a reply from Moe Lester, he seems like the box expert on this forum, but any help is greatly appreciated:cool:

SSS 18734
12-13-2005, 06:13 PM
bracing can't ever hurt, but isn't really necessary with small to medium sized boxes, or boxes with seperate chambers.

regal8r
12-13-2005, 06:16 PM
what about 4cf tuned to 30 hz for 2 type r's?

SSS 18734
12-13-2005, 06:18 PM
if its internally divided, then no. if not, a few braces should be added.

regal8r
12-13-2005, 06:28 PM
what would be ok to use, 3x3 inch triangles in the seams, 2x4's or dowels???

PhatTonyDeMarco
12-13-2005, 06:30 PM
I have heard that thick dowels work fine, dont over do it, that box isnt that large...

SSS 18734
12-13-2005, 06:41 PM
a hollowed out center divider (2 - 3 in. thick) would work nicely.

btnhfan
12-13-2005, 09:17 PM
If you are going to brace, threaded steel rod is the only way to go imo.


Try it first without bracing

InhumanAcura
12-13-2005, 09:43 PM
bracing is ghey

Meka
12-13-2005, 10:22 PM
threaded rod is the pwnzorz.

406er
12-14-2005, 12:35 AM
we descused this last week, search this forum for it