PDA

View Full Version : is there a time when....



saywhat?
12-11-2005, 11:44 PM
a port can be TOO long. unless i did my math wrong, to get 1.9 cubes to 32 hz. it has to be 76 inches long. time to go back over it i guess.

kuijo
12-11-2005, 11:50 PM
ya, smaller boxes need longer ports to reach the same tuning.

saywhat?
12-11-2005, 11:55 PM
i know this, just seems way out of wack, checking my math now. thanks though.

saywhat?
12-11-2005, 11:59 PM
i redid my math and come up with 75.3. i miscalculated the port area at first. but can a port be TOO long. standing waves become a pain after a certain length right?

Moe Lester
12-12-2005, 01:21 AM
just how big exaclty is this port and wtf is it for lol I dont know about too big, but that just sounds impractical

saywhat?
12-12-2005, 11:28 AM
i guess im gunna have to back away from the 59 sq. inches. ohwell.

Jdizzle
12-12-2005, 11:34 AM
**** what kinda box you buildin

iceteebone
12-12-2005, 11:37 AM
try decreasing your port area. what sub is it?

sanmarcosZfreak
12-12-2005, 11:37 AM
**** what kinda box you buildin

its a box for my 87 nissan 300zx, about 3.8cuft total, two chambers 1.9cuft each tuned to around 35Hz, for the subs listed in my wish list in my sig

iceteebone
12-12-2005, 11:41 AM
OT but i see in your wish list you want an orion 4004 and i happen to have one for sale. :)

anyways, doesn't RE recommend more volume for a SX? also why not just build a common chamber?

sanmarcosZfreak
12-12-2005, 11:44 AM
OT but i see in your wish list you want an orion 4004 and i happen to have one for sale. :)

anyways, doesn't RE recommend more volume for a SX? also why not just build a common chamber?

i have no money as of yet if u dont sell it, i'll see what i can do

nah a 12sx needs 1.9cuft ported

saywhat?
12-12-2005, 11:44 AM
the guy that im building it for wants serperate. port for each sub. my audio is on hold for a while. the reason it was so crazy is i had too much port area, but its all good now.

iceteebone
12-12-2005, 11:45 AM
i would just build a 4 cube net box tuned to 35 hz and you should be good to go. don't see the sense in making dual chambers, ported.

iceteebone
12-12-2005, 11:46 AM
****it, nevermind :)

sanmarcosZfreak
12-12-2005, 11:48 AM
****it, nevermind :)
??

what?

saywhat?
12-12-2005, 11:49 AM
he saw that i said u wanted it. i just feel safer as well building dual chambers.

sanmarcosZfreak
12-12-2005, 11:54 AM
sounds good

sanmarcosZfreak
12-12-2005, 12:47 PM
gah this is going to be very very interesting