PDA

View Full Version : Central port on a two sub box



leb
12-09-2005, 09:43 PM
Hi, I've been readin on that board since last 2 months. A currly have a little question about vewnted box making. I'm currently runnign two infinity 1032 sub in a custon made sealed box, 2 chambers. I would like to change that box for a vented one as I need a new sound of bass. Problem is that I would like to have the port between the 2 subs, in a single chamber box, who could I calculate the lenght of the port if the tunel has to make a 90 degrees turn, it's kinda hard to explain the situation, so here's a little paint draw of what I mean. BTW sorry for my poor english ;)

iamamp3pimp
12-11-2005, 06:11 AM
if your port is 4 inches wide, then when you get 2 inches away from the back wall (half the length) split it out each way, just like in the picture
you need half on eace side.

Raven
12-11-2005, 10:19 AM
For tuning, imagine there is a wall in the middle of you box cutting it into two. Tune one "half" of your box like normal and you will get the port length you need. See the gray line in the picture.

To measure port length, use middle of the inside of the port. The blue line in the picture.

Moe Lester
12-11-2005, 12:03 PM
you need a divider.

iamamp3pimp
12-11-2005, 05:10 PM
or tune it a couple HZ higher

leb
12-12-2005, 05:00 PM
So do I need a divider ?

Chevyaudio
12-12-2005, 05:04 PM
you would be better off with a divider.

swimfreak26
12-12-2005, 07:25 PM
You need a divider.