PDA

View Full Version : Infinity Kappa perfect 10.1DVQ



bdawson72
12-05-2005, 01:39 AM
How do i find out what size box i should put these subs in?

flakko
12-05-2005, 01:42 AM
manual.

since you have a vq, anything lol

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 01:47 AM
i have tha manual.........call me a fvcking idiot but tha whole Variable Q thing is gettin 2 me

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 01:55 AM
my guess is that its tha compliance volume

flakko
12-05-2005, 01:58 AM
yea depending on the size of the enclosure, you use the Q insert to customize the sub to perform best in the certain enclosure you have. pretty cool

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 02:03 AM
it is.............i think its like 1.32ft^3

flakko
12-05-2005, 02:04 AM
sure! haha i had myne in a 1.44 cubic foot sealed box and it slammed

negativezeroz
12-05-2005, 08:18 AM
I had my 12VQ in 2.25 tuned to 28Hz and it slammed :) So id go for lik 1.75 tuned to around 28-32Hz.


Hold on....you say its a 10.1DVQ....Ok is it the 10DVQ or the 10.1D? Theres a big difference in subs there....

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 05:08 PM
Its the DVQ

negativezeroz
12-05-2005, 05:16 PM
well id make it like 1.75cf tuned to around 28Hz with the mid Q insert in

just got here: http://manuals.harman.com/INF/CAR/Owner%27s%20Manual/Perfect%20VQ%20OM%20FINAL%20(Revised%2012-2-02).pdf

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 05:25 PM
I think its gonna be a lil smaller than that................around 1.2 ft^3 because its in a custom truck box...99 Regular Cab Ranger=tiny a$$ cab

negativezeroz
12-05-2005, 05:26 PM
then go sealed.. give it 350-450WRMS

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 05:30 PM
yea thats what i was gonna do.............what Q piece would i use

negativezeroz
12-05-2005, 07:36 PM
How big sealed? Roughly..

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 07:41 PM
between 1 ft^3 and 1.2 ft^3

negativezeroz
12-05-2005, 07:44 PM
Alright well Infinity recommends running the 10DVQ/VQ in ~1-1.2cf sealed WITHOUT an insert but if I were you id just make the box as big as you can (1.2cf) and try the different inserts....the low insert seems to have the smoothest response and the mid/high seems to have a peak...

flakko
12-05-2005, 07:44 PM
it should say on the manual.

and dont give that sub too much pwr... they go boom like so lol

negativezeroz
12-05-2005, 07:45 PM
it should say on the manual.

and dont give that sub too much pwr... they go boom like so lol

mine loved 424W from my 601.1 :veryhapp:

flakko
12-05-2005, 07:46 PM
mine loved 424W from my 601.1 :veryhapp:

mine blew at 420 lol

edit wait leme rephrase: snapped a tinsel

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 07:51 PM
u had the DVQ's?

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 07:57 PM
Since i really didnt have too much help on the AMPS forum..........what kind of amp were you running? and what amps would you suggest?

flakko
12-05-2005, 07:59 PM
Since i really didnt have too much help on the AMPS forum..........what kind of amp were you running? and what amps would you suggest?

how much do you have to spend? oh yea i did have a vq.

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 08:00 PM
600 Tops

negativezeroz
12-05-2005, 08:13 PM
mine blew at 420 lol

edit wait leme rephrase: snapped a tinsel

You bad bad person. :p: How'd that happen? I had mine in 2.25cf tuned to 28Hz so seems liek I woulda damaged mine before yours...what amp did you run it with?My VQ still pounds away in my friends Mazda3.


600 Tops How many DVQ's do you have?

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 08:15 PM
2 DVQ's

flakko
12-05-2005, 08:21 PM
neg... i think i clipped the amp lol dunno i was bad i know i need to be spanked

so your gonna need around 800w? A usamps MD22 will be perfect for you. I had one running a couple of JLw6v2's 400w each and currently my RLP 800w POUNDS.

edit: the amp was a profile CA600M mighty fine amp i must say.

negativezeroz
12-05-2005, 08:22 PM
http://www.cardomain.com/item/JBLGTO12011II

That'd be perfect....(@ 4 ohm) Still looking for others so give me a minute..

if you could get an Orion 8002....400W x 2 @ 2ohm...just wire each DVQ to 2ohm and you're good to go :)

flakko
12-05-2005, 08:24 PM
http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=4414

^^^
out of there: IS 2450, MD22, MD1 :)

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 09:09 PM
I was really lookin into those.......what about a Rockford Fosgate P8002

flakko
12-05-2005, 09:11 PM
http://www.millionbuy.com/rocp8002.html

that one? no. lol punches = no good/below mediocre

http://www.millionbuy.com/roct8002.html

that would be little better

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 09:25 PM
i think i might go with the JBL if i can find a good price on it

bdawson72
12-05-2005, 09:53 PM
whats the diff between tha JBL GTO1201.1 ll and tha JBL GTO1201.1

negativezeroz
12-06-2005, 08:25 AM
the 1201.1 II is the continuation of the 1201.1. ITs like the "second run" of the amp if that makes sense as in those new GTO's came out last year or a lil before and the version "II" are just the newer ones...same amp... I have a 601.1

bdawson72
12-06-2005, 05:04 PM
Ok.....I thought that there was supposed 2 be something different about them or something........i think my box is gonna be .8cu ft

bdawson72
12-06-2005, 05:34 PM
im guessing that the high Q pole piece will be used

flakko
12-06-2005, 06:22 PM
yup! whatever the manual says.

bdawson72
12-06-2005, 06:57 PM
uve said that 2 me b4

flakko
12-06-2005, 06:58 PM
yup! whatever the manual says.

bdawson72
12-06-2005, 07:00 PM
ok......mission accomplised message delivered

flakko
12-06-2005, 07:01 PM
yup! whatever the manual says.


haha im just kidding. tell us how it sounds when your done

bdawson72
12-07-2005, 09:25 PM
OK......I will

Ur an idiot............lol

bdawson72
12-09-2005, 01:42 AM
i eneded up with i Hifonics bx1205D........it might not beee the best amp but its probobly the one of the best amps that i could find that happened to be resonably priced................Im still Gettin tha JBL or a merlin tho
4sho!

negativezeroz
12-09-2005, 11:47 AM
So you bought a BX1205D and you are also getting the Merlin or JBL? :confused: Why not just save money and buy only the JBL or Merlin and call it a day?