PDA

View Full Version : anyone have autocad?



mustangowner
11-30-2005, 03:49 PM
if you do then gimme your email and i will send u an email with a drawing of my next ported box...its in 3d. if ur interested post your email address.

i know this is kinda stupid but im bored and would like to show off my knowledge of acad.

Josh

woody89
11-30-2005, 04:01 PM
[email protected]

I got CAD class at school, so ill throw it on a flask and take a look there. I can't afford that program for my home computer.

mustangowner
11-30-2005, 04:09 PM
email sent, its in the 2000 version of acad. i took a acad class for 3 years in hs and went to college for 2 years and still using it now. about 7 years total

woody89
11-30-2005, 04:22 PM
What were the college classes of CAD like? This is my 2nd year, designing floor plans and whatnot right now. Wondering if its worth looking into for college.

mustangowner
11-30-2005, 04:33 PM
we'll first off college had way better classes than hs had. in college i had architectual and mechanical drafting. i had a pipe drafting class, a 3-d class, and learned all of the basics for acad. there were around 8-10 classes total i had to take to get my degree. very fun classes though, we started out drawing on the board and eventually went to the computer.

bumpncarstereo
11-30-2005, 04:34 PM
bumpncarstereo @ gmail . com

my roomate takes autocad

mustangowner
11-30-2005, 04:40 PM
bumpncarstereo @ gmail . com


email sent

mustangowner
12-01-2005, 12:20 PM
anyone else interested?

PatFitz9
12-01-2005, 12:47 PM
I had CAD classes in college as well. pretty cool stuff, i used some other CAD programs besides AutoCAD. there is lot to learn with these programs, but well worth it in my opinion.

mustangowner
12-01-2005, 02:36 PM
I had CAD classes in college as well. pretty cool stuff, i used some other CAD programs besides AutoCAD. there is lot to learn with these programs, but well worth it in my opinion.


it is pretty cool, there are still commands i have not even learned yet and i have been doin this stuff for around 7 years. lots of learning envolved with this program.

dleccord
12-01-2005, 02:41 PM
is there a chance you guys know the link to download the real software?

mustangowner
12-01-2005, 03:08 PM
is there a chance you guys know the link to download the real software?



dont think there is one. you will have to buy the software. not sure on a price but if im correct its really expensive. i got my copy from where i work:)

swimfreak26
12-01-2005, 03:19 PM
You can find the software online if you know where to look ;)

I've got it if you want to show off your stuff. I never became too good in autocad...was quite proficcient in CadKey for a while, but I cannot seem to find that program anywhere.

[email protected]

mustangowner
12-01-2005, 03:47 PM
You can find the software online if you know where to look ;)

I've got it if you want to show off your stuff. I never became too good in autocad...was quite proficcient in CadKey for a while, but I cannot seem to find that program anywhere.

[email protected]


email sent

alphakenny1
12-01-2005, 03:49 PM
autocad ***** lol. all about solidworks baby!

negativezeroz
12-01-2005, 03:49 PM
I used Inventor 9/10...AutoCAD looks cool which I have access too but Inventer is good enough for me...SketchUp is the ghey one lol it does alright :)

wlmrs
12-01-2005, 03:55 PM
anyone else interested?
[email protected]

mustangowner
12-01-2005, 04:11 PM
[email protected]

email sent

mustangowner
12-01-2005, 04:12 PM
post comments, you that have seen the drawing

Zacmc212
12-01-2005, 04:38 PM
couldnt you just post it?

I dunno if you can export autocad drawings into other types of files, but you could take a screenshot...

mustangowner
12-01-2005, 04:53 PM
couldnt you just post it?

I dunno if you can export autocad drawings into other types of files, but you could take a screenshot...


i could, i will take a screen shot of it. if u had autocad u can open it and rotate the drawing, its 3 dimensional so it looks cool. i am about to leave work, so i will try to post screenshots later tonight or 2morrow.

mustangowner
12-01-2005, 07:51 PM
here are some screen shots...

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/7862/pic18xk.jpg

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/9224/pic29ja.jpg

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/2899/pic35aa.jpg

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/8643/pic49jq.jpg

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/2801/pic59vq.jpg

woody89
12-01-2005, 08:11 PM
autocad ***** lol.

:omg:

mikegett
12-04-2005, 01:12 PM
It looks like your box height needs to be resized. Your subs cutout is going to make four very weak point at the top and bottom. A sub box has alot of flexing due to internal pressure. If you are serious about designing your box, then add some braces to it as well. At the least, concider a center brace stretching the lengh of the box. Corner braces are always good as well. Deepending on how big your sub is, add a magnet brace. Since you have autocad, add the joint rabbits to your box design. You have the program, so put it too use.

swimfreak26
12-04-2005, 01:16 PM
Nothing special as far as the box, but I really like the CAD subs :)

mustangowner
12-05-2005, 08:34 AM
It looks like your box height needs to be resized. Your subs cutout is going to make four very weak point at the top and bottom. A sub box has alot of flexing due to internal pressure. If you are serious about designing your box, then add some braces to it as well. At the least, concider a center brace stretching the lengh of the box. Corner braces are always good as well. Deepending on how big your sub is, add a magnet brace. Since you have autocad, add the joint rabbits to your box design. You have the program, so put it too use.


the box height can not change. this height is as tall as i can make it. i have a box in right now that is the same height and i have not had any problems with it.

what are joint rabbits? what do they look like?

slim j
12-05-2005, 08:40 AM
My only reccomendation is to make the front (where the subs are) screw into the top and bottom instead of the other way around. If it is too close, you run the risk of screwing into your subs. The height wouldn't change. The front panel would increase by 1.5" (assuming .75 mdf) and the top and bottom would decrease by 1.5". The overall dimensions would stay the say but it makes for a better build.

mustangowner
12-05-2005, 09:01 AM
My only reccomendation is to make the front (where the subs are) screw into the top and bottom instead of the other way around. If it is too close, you run the risk of screwing into your subs. The height wouldn't change. The front panel would increase by 1.5" (assuming .75 mdf) and the top and bottom would decrease by 1.5". The overall dimensions would stay the say but it makes for a better build.



great idea. and not only will it help structure it will also look better. i will not have the ends of the top and bottom mdf showing, i will have a smooth front on the box.