PDA

View Full Version : 2004 Grand Prix Remote Start?



96Cherokee
11-26-2005, 11:46 AM
I have been trying to install a Codealarm model F50/F55 in this 04 Grand Prix. After testing the connections and 2 brains, I have found nothing. All of the connections test correct (and yes the correct pink ignition wire is being charged for those of you who know about that.) The unit when activated will charge the accessory wire as to turn on the said circuit. When it is time for the starter to crank, there is a split second sound as the beginning of starting, but it does nothing after that...the unit has a bypass module that tells me it has been programmed correctly. I am at a loss for words. My experience is with DEI and code is different. Please help.

jrouter76
11-26-2005, 01:11 PM
have you hooked up the TACH wire ? I beleive its by your coil-packs and on most GMs its a white&purple wire

96Cherokee
11-26-2005, 07:32 PM
yes tach is in, All wires from a standard RS are in.I have tested all of these wires multiple times and they test correct. There has to be something I am missing.

96Cherokee
11-28-2005, 06:17 PM
After reviewing the wires once more...the technician on the phone from Code said that there WAS a second ignition wire that needed to be charged. BULLSH!T!!! The brake wire in this car has a resting voltage that caused all of this. Simply wired in a relay instead of direct wiring and there we have it! To all that may have this problem in the future, here is a good starting point!