PDA

View Full Version : Hole for wires affect performance?



Raisedin305
11-25-2005, 09:13 AM
Hey when I built my box I drilled a hole about 1/2WxH to allow my wires to come out threw the back of the box. I was wondering if this will affect my SPL. I know any bigger and it will for sure. What do you guys think?

bikejunkie223
11-25-2005, 09:15 AM
you can just use some silicone sealant to plug it up after the wires are through, though it will only really matter in a sealed enclosure.

Raisedin305
11-25-2005, 09:16 AM
you can just use some silicone sealant to plug it up after the wires are through, though it will only really matter in a sealed enclosure.
Oh alright

wlmrs
11-26-2005, 01:14 AM
if you don't plug it you'll lose 2-3 db

mikescanlon
11-26-2005, 07:23 AM
if you plug it up you'll gain 3 db, then if you do the DB dance (same as the chicken dance) you'll gain 5 more DB'z, and if you do it outside, in the rain, on a thursday, you'll gain 9 db'z.

but seriously, caulk the hole and wait till thursday.

Raisedin305
11-26-2005, 10:12 AM
if you plug it up you'll gain 3 db, then if you do the DB dance (same as the chicken dance) you'll gain 5 more DB'z, and if you do it outside, in the rain, on a thursday, you'll gain 9 db'z.

but seriously, caulk the hole and wait till thursday.Needed it for tomorrow. Im metering my system tomorrow.

hoss
11-26-2005, 10:24 AM
you can just use some silicone sealant to plug it up after the wires are through, though it will only really matter in a sealed enclosure.
wrong wrong wrong wrong WRONG...

air leaks matter in any type of enclosure. they will affect output and sound quality. a hole or air leak in a ported enclosure should be sealed just as it should in a sealed or a bandpass...

Raisedin305
11-26-2005, 10:27 AM
wrong wrong wrong wrong WRONG...

air leaks matter in any type of enclosure. they will affect output and sound quality. a hole or air leak in a ported enclosure should be sealed just as it should in a sealed or a bandpass...OK so you guys are saying that it will affect my performance. Will it affect it in a major way? If so I got to try and cover it up now.

squeak12
11-26-2005, 02:46 PM
You will want to seal it. Put some kind of sealant on the inside and ducttape the outside up.

steelr
11-26-2005, 07:27 PM
Buy some of that rope caulking that is used to seal windows and just press it around the wires. If you dont want to wait for the caulk to dry, that is

bikejunkie223
11-27-2005, 04:34 AM
wrong wrong wrong wrong WRONG...

air leaks matter in any type of enclosure. they will affect output and sound quality. a hole or air leak in a ported enclosure should be sealed just as it should in a sealed or a bandpass...
Yes it should be sealed as well, but in the grand scheme of things it matters less in a ported enclosure than a sealed box. That is my point. I agree it will make a small difference, but I really doubt a hole half the size of a dime will be audible in a ported enclosure. That's my opinion, but I'd seal it anyway- that's how I do stuff.

UndercoverPunk
11-27-2005, 04:46 AM
you can just use some silicone sealant to plug it up after the wires are through, though it will only really matter in a sealed enclosure.

Ha ha, I just saw this.... HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!

Thanks for the laugh.

bikejunkie223
11-27-2005, 01:17 PM
Ha ha, I just saw this.... HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!

Thanks for the laugh.
I'm not so sure what you found to be so funny, but okay dude.

hoss
11-27-2005, 03:02 PM
I'm not so sure what you found to be so funny, but okay dude.
youre blazen disregaurd for factual content.

while youre other post is more inept, yes in this application a small hole isnt really going to affect performance much. but to say that sealing air leaks in a ported box isnt as important as sealing them in a sealed box, is the furthest thing from the truth.

the air in a ported enclosure doesent serve the same purpose as the air in a sealed enclosure, but keeping it from leaking out of the box(except in the engineered leak area, A.K.A. the port) is just as important and will make a significant difference.

edit-- i jus tre-read this and realized it may have come out a little condescending or rude... didnt mean for it to come off that way, so try not to take any offense :)

Chevyaudio
11-27-2005, 03:07 PM
Air leaks make any box/sub combo sound like ***. Seal up the hole [/thread]

bikejunkie223
11-27-2005, 05:08 PM
youre blazen disregaurd for factual content.

while youre other post is more inept, yes in this application a small hole isnt really going to affect performance much. but to say that sealing air leaks in a ported box isnt as important as sealing them in a sealed box, is the furthest thing from the truth.

the air in a ported enclosure doesent serve the same purpose as the air in a sealed enclosure, but keeping it from leaking out of the box(except in the engineered leak area, A.K.A. the port) is just as important and will make a significant difference.

edit-- i jus tre-read this and realized it may have come out a little condescending or rude... didnt mean for it to come off that way, so try not to take any offense :)
I agree, a box must be sealed up and in a ported app. the only place it shouldn't be is the port itself, which is a calculated (tuned) air leak. My point was that though it should be sealed, a tiny hole for wires will most likely be inaudible. I am certainly not trying to get in a pissing match with anyone over something so rediculous, and if you had ever seen a box I have built, it would be obvious I take sealing the things up pretty seriously, I just don't appreciate being called out like I am totally wrong, when you know that is not the case. Technically, the only leak should be the port, but in practical application that tiny hole isn't going to matter that much. I believe this was my point all along, so I guess we agree in the most roundabout way possible.

Raisedin305
11-27-2005, 08:38 PM
Whatever guys I didn't get to cover it up but still managed to pull of a 150.6db

maldecido33
11-27-2005, 10:13 PM
what box/amp/subs?

what vehicle

Raisedin305
11-29-2005, 07:19 AM
what box/amp/subs?

what vehicle
Vehicle: 05 Ford Expedition
Box: CRX Tuned @35hz
Amp: Orion 2500
Subs: Two 15" Kicker L7s

Goldtaz1
11-29-2005, 08:16 AM
Hey when I built my box I drilled a hole about 1/2WxH to allow my wires to come out threw the back of the box. I was wondering if this will affect my SPL. I know any bigger and it will for sure. What do you guys think?


Here's a better decision: Round Speaker Terminal (http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=260-294)

HAVINGFUN
11-29-2005, 09:54 AM
Here's a better decision: Round Speaker Terminal (http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=260-294)

These work well and if you are concerned about strength of the plastic (which should be fine) you can add a layer of bondo body filler around it to give it added strength.

bikejunkie223
11-29-2005, 12:36 PM
Here's a better decision: Round Speaker Terminal (http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=260-294)
Yeah, that's the best way to go.

JAZN
11-29-2005, 01:01 PM
Here's a better decision: Round Speaker Terminal (http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=260-294)
Spring loaded terminals **** bigtime IMO.

HAVINGFUN
11-29-2005, 02:09 PM
These are better

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-k7IUcB1UXxI/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?g=744&id=morephotos&pi=1&i=1257001&display=L#Tab

Goldtaz1
11-29-2005, 02:18 PM
Please don't spend $10 on a terminal, go here speaker terminals (http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?webpage_id=3&SO=2&&DID=7&CATID=48&ObjectGroup_ID=417) and get a NON-SPRING loaded terminal.

BTW, spring terminals are better than a leaky box, just my $.02!

HAVINGFUN
11-29-2005, 02:29 PM
These are the actual ones that I have used and they work great.

ttp://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=269-962

HotCarl
11-29-2005, 03:03 PM
im not a fan of terminals, imo no connection is practically the best connection

not to sound like a jackass, but....

im not sure why you wouldnt try to plug an air leak in a box? why would you come to a forum to ask if you should?

seems like common sense to me.

HAVINGFUN
11-29-2005, 03:24 PM
All connections usually involve some type of voltage loss due to the resistance but for daily folks the drop is so small that you would never know. You can try it with a voltmeter going through a terminal vs. not using a terminal and see what the voltage drop is. For daily drivers that like to take the box in and out or switch boxes those terminals are greatness.