PDA

View Full Version : Carputer + New System



skeurton
11-20-2005, 02:17 PM
i had posted a while back when i first installed a carputer, but the picture links are broken since switching servers. so i decided to start a new thread. :)

not much has changed with the actual carputer system, but i did just redo the entire car stereo system. so i relocated the monitor to the top map compartment. i'm pretty happy with it all and the sound is spectacular now.

here are the specs:

2003 Mazda 6s


Compaq Presario 2710US Notebook

1.13 GHz Intel Pentium III
512 MB SDRAM
20 GB Hard Drive

Evo Notebook N180 QuickDock Port Replicator
Lilliput 7" Touchscreen Monitor
Delorme Earthmate + Street Atlas 2004
Power Acoustik PADVD-340 DVD/VCD/MP3/CD/CD-R/RW Player
ATI Remote Wonder
Philips ACC10082 Compact Mini Wireless Keyboard
Creative Sound Blaster MP3+ USB



Headunit: Kenwood eXcelon KDC-X789
Front: Alpine Type-S 6.5" Components
Rear: Alpine Type-S 5"x7" Coaxials
Sub: Kicker CVR122 (12", 2-ohm DVC)
Amps: MTX Thunder564 (cabin), MTX MXA4002 (sub)


the new headunit: mazda 6 owners have been waiting a LONG time for a dash kit that will allow you to install aftermarket stereos. it took metra a good 3 years to develop and produce this thing. the problem was that the climate controls and top LCD operation were integrated into the stock stereo circuitry. metra had to construct their own circuit boards to maintain functionality. it was worth the wait, though.
http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo20.JPG

amps: the one on the left is for the sub. the one on the right powers the cabin speakers.
http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo09.JPG

trunk: you can see the laptop sitting on its docking station. the VGA and PS/2 extension cables were so long, i couldn't figure out a place to hide them.
http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo19.JPG

monitor: in this picture, you can see where the monitor used to be....
http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1010337.jpg

....and this is where it is now:
http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo26.JPG

a few more interior shots:
http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo27.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo23.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo22.JPG

skeurton
11-20-2005, 02:20 PM
shots of the carputer in action:

http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo28.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo29.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo30.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo32.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo33.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo34.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/stereo35.JPG

albysure
11-27-2005, 07:52 PM
i'm using media car too but i seem to have a problem loading that alpine skin.

seth350
11-27-2005, 08:01 PM
Where do you get Media Car?
Ive googled it and cant find it :(

XtrmAudioCncpts
11-27-2005, 08:08 PM
wow thats awesome

skeurton
11-28-2005, 07:22 AM
Where do you get Media Car?
Ive googled it and cant find it :(
i first found out about it on the mp3car.com forums. the cool thing is that it was free. the bad thing is that it's no longer supported, so i think the site that had it available for download no longer exists. but check out those forums. there are a ton of free interfaces for download.

skeurton
04-11-2006, 10:21 AM
i recently updated my carputer setup with a few new items:


40GB hard drive (from 20GB)
Lilliput 629GL-70NP 7" touchscreen monitor (old monitor was 619GL model)
iGuidance + Microsoft GPS Locator (WAY better than street atlas or streets & trips)
iOne RF wireless keyboard/mouse combo (got rid of ATI remote wonder and IR keyboard)
Mobile Impact (http://thequiltcupboard.net/mobileimpact/main.htm) front end (much better than MediaCar)


and, of course, some pictures to go along....

the new monitor & Mobile Impact
http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020660.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020662.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020663.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020664.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020665.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020666.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020667.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020668.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020669.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020671.JPG

_DjScrew_
04-11-2006, 10:22 AM
wow. nice setup bro.

skeurton
04-11-2006, 10:22 AM
more...

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020672.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020673.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020674.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020675.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020676.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020677.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020678.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020679.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020680.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020681.JPG

skeurton
04-11-2006, 10:22 AM
and more....

DVD player & USB sound card
http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020683.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020682.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020684.JPG

new keyboard
http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020670.JPG

GPS mouse & keyboard receiver
http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020661.JPG

trevor87
04-11-2006, 10:27 AM
Steal me? lol looks good man

skeurton
04-11-2006, 02:30 PM
Steal me? lol looks good man
haha, thanks. i'll have to take a picture of how that monitor folds down. it hides away conveniently and completely out of view.

3onDubs
04-11-2006, 02:43 PM
That looks sweet...much better with the monitor on top...i never liked that cop car look. I recently did the same thing...i've had a carputer, but i switched my entire car audio setup this last weekend. Does the fact that the sub is a foot from the laptop affect the performance at all...hard drive issues (i put mine under my seat for that reason...just in case)?

crazy4ozs
04-11-2006, 02:44 PM
looks real good...but hide those wires :-/....takes away from ur coolness points :)

supra06
04-16-2006, 04:58 PM
that **** is ****ing crazy, props.

skeurton
06-02-2006, 01:56 PM
extremely bored at work, so i decided to make a website for all this. check it out:

http://imondepression.com/carputer/

Randy Savage
06-02-2006, 02:01 PM
Sweet man. Check mine out on my cardomain page in my sig :)

SilverSquared
06-13-2006, 06:40 PM
I I really prefer to just use WinAmp and its MANY AVS screens. works in my setup. Your install is pretty clean tho. I cant show my pics here because I have dam+n in my username on photobucket. LOL. But I got LOADS of pics.

dkmesa
06-15-2006, 03:07 AM
****ing *******. All I can do is watch DVDs while I drive while reading directions
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/3/web/2247000-2247999/2247258_32_full.jpg

LeofromtheH
06-15-2006, 04:06 AM
how do these carpueters work? do u just hook it up to a laptop? and how much woould one cost?

Megalomaniac
06-17-2006, 09:40 AM
I am using Centrafuse 1.5,i tried 1.6 but way too many bugs and wasnt compatible with iguidance.
http://img61.imageshack.us/img61/8725/centra025ts.jpg
http://img61.imageshack.us/img61/6061/dsc048234xr.jpg (http://imageshack.us)]

NightRiderZX2
06-19-2006, 04:40 PM
Look what you did to the stock-beautiful center console of the mazda6!

I couldn't do that if i were to get the mazda3 but you made it look so good, i give you props on how clean that looks and how everything flows together. Excellent job. I'm thinking of taking my barebone MSI Mega 865 and putting it into my car with a setup like that.

oh.. and secondly, why don't you just like integrate a trackball or a touchpad next to your e-brake? That'd complete the whole setup!

SilverSquared
06-21-2006, 12:53 AM
I dont use a laptop in my truck for the PC, its a custom built PC. Check my cardomain for pics.

2kchevy06civic
06-21-2006, 01:02 AM
Is there anyway to put like say, 30 band eq's and crossovers from the computer? I really would like to give this a try.

Megalomaniac
06-21-2006, 10:08 AM
I dont use a laptop in my truck for the PC, its a custom built PC. Check my cardomain for pics.

Neither do i, mine is custom too.


http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/594/dsc048352qv.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

then00b
06-21-2006, 02:03 PM
How much would it cost to run a full set up installed and everything? Could you use a desktop PC if you could somehow fit it into the car (so you dont have to buy a new computer)?

Thanks.

skeurton
06-21-2006, 03:15 PM
how do these carpueters work? do u just hook it up to a laptop? and how much woould one cost?
carputers work identically to normal PC's. you don't have to use a laptop. it's probably best to build one and integrate a startup/shutdown controller that turns the PC on and off with the ignition. as far as cost, it can be as cheap or expensive as you want (anywhere from a few hundred to a few thousand dollars).


oh.. and secondly, why don't you just like integrate a trackball or a touchpad next to your e-brake? That'd complete the whole setup!
i had thought about something like that. a powermate rotary control would be nice, but i really only use the touchscreen about 99% of the time. i only use the keyboard/mouse for desktop applications.


Is there anyway to put like say, 30 band eq's and crossovers from the computer? I really would like to give this a try.
i'm pretty sure there's a way to do this. i haven't really tried myself, but i think i recall reading stuff about it on mp3car.com.


How much would it cost to run a full set up installed and everything? Could you use a desktop PC if you could somehow fit it into the car (so you dont have to buy a new computer)?
as said before, price is dependent on what you want. a decent monitor can run two to three hundred dollars or more. building a PC from scratch can cost a few hundred dollars and up. if you have the space, an old desktop can definitely do the job. i just happened to have an unused laptop laying around, so that's what i decided to install. really, the possibilities are endless.

Randy Savage
06-21-2006, 03:20 PM
I'm sure you can find either a high-end soundcard with sufficient EQ controls, or possibly some software?...



Also, I've seen a lot of people running an Alpine 701 processor and running it through a soundcard with an optical connection...probably the best sound processing you can get out of a carputer

2kchevy06civic
06-21-2006, 11:49 PM
I know there have been some threads about sound quality on caraudio vs computer setup but I mean I honestly think it would be cheaper to have a carputer rather than buying car audio stuff.

I've always wanted navigation and dvd compatability without having to spend a whole heck of a lot. What would be awesome though is if I could have the 30 band eq's and crossovers and I would almost consider going that route. If you can connect an h701, well..........I might have to start reading on mp3car.com ^_^

88Vette
06-22-2006, 12:05 AM
I love it!

What brand/model# is the RF keyboard?
Where did you find it?

Thanks! PM if you like....



and more....

DVD player & USB sound card
http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020683.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020682.JPG

http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020684.JPG

new keyboard
http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020670.JPG

GPS mouse & keyboard receiver
http://imondepression.com/images/car/carputer/P1020661.JPG

skeurton
06-22-2006, 07:50 AM
i got the keyboard from newegg, but they don't seem to have it listed anymore. it's an iOne KBP20.

see here:
http://www.excaliberpc.com/Qtronix_Ione_Scorpius_P20_2.4GHz/SCORPIUS_P20/partinfo-id-566525.html

88Vette
06-22-2006, 08:46 AM
I found this one on eBay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=140000451343&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=004
It is $39.99 + $15 Priority Mail ship. It has multimedia hotkeys which would be kind of handy in the car.
t is about 1/2" wider and taller than yours though.

I found your exact one at:
http://ogeek.com/product_info.php?products_id=116
For $49.95 +$10.89 UPS ground shipping.

Which one do I chose??

:crap:

???????????? which one?????????

Help!

Megalomaniac
06-22-2006, 09:03 AM
I know there have been some threads about sound quality on caraudio vs computer setup but I mean I honestly think it would be cheaper to have a carputer rather than buying car audio stuff.

I've always wanted navigation and dvd compatability without having to spend a whole heck of a lot. What would be awesome though is if I could have the 30 band eq's and crossovers and I would almost consider going that route. If you can connect an h701, well..........I might have to start reading on mp3car.com ^_^

Since my computer isnt a fullsize,(mine is using an MINI ITX board,with an m2atx 160watt powersupply)I cant have much of a soundcard i have to use onboard to conserve power,but the usb sound card to me seems worth it,but if u have a fullsize why not buy a XIFI card. but then to buy a XIFI u r spending the same amnt as a equilizer. but u can always have both. like my computer is using the AUX from my Alpine HU so i can still equilize a little bit.

Yevi
07-06-2006, 11:18 PM
Here is my 2 cents, most of the cd' recorded in 16 bit, so with 24 bit sound blaster, you might as well lose the headunit, i don't think you need it, the problem running aux, is that you have your h/u volume on my, therefore you have a maximum gain, and the sound isn't just as good, as straight through.

Next, beware Epia M10000 doesn't like hot temperatures, mine just fried, therefore Pentium M is just the way to go. so if you will have your pc malfunctioning in next 2 month that's normal, slim dtives are affected just as well, so i recommend booting tiny xp, with a flash drive.

Pentium m projessor running for @20.00 bucks a piece on ebay

Yev

Megalomaniac
07-07-2006, 12:24 PM
tiny xp? i should read about that? but a flash drive? wouldnt i have to get new motherboard that can handle that,the whole idea was to have a HDD so i can have all my music with no cds. I really dont have that much of a problem with cooling, it runs perfect i have drilled 2 wholes in my ac duct so i can get some more airflow. oh and about the aux setings. I have my computer volume set at about 95% and i use the HU to adjust the volume much more easily, so my settings sound perfect without any distortions. the dvd/cd rom is mainly for dvd's and to update my computer when nessecary

Yevi
07-07-2006, 01:24 PM
flas hdrive just of operating system, everything else is on hard drive, it works when the hard drive is too hot or cold, giving time hd to start to operate,

i have a different set up, there is no way i can have screen and h/u in the same dash in my Jetta, so i had a headunit inside my glovebox, therefore the only way i can cotrol is via remote, and glovebox open, no that convenient

Yev

Megalomaniac
07-07-2006, 06:18 PM
can u post a video you turning on your computer i want to see the boot time on a flash drive?

mine boots in about 17-20 sec to get to the main screen and thats using a 4800rpm hdd!

Yevi
07-08-2006, 12:22 AM
sure, little later though, i car pc is fubar, cause my epia m10000 overheated, and i damaged my cpu.

I went to bootlog.ini expedited booting to 5 sec, my car computer used to boot fresh with in 9 seconds, and about 7 seconds to wake up.

i gotta find that flash drive, then i can boot it on my regular pc, and film it, i am sure it would about same.

Personal question, i am thinking of going with aopen pandora, cause it would easily fit in my glove compartment, and i have cooled in my jetta., for the same mooney i can buy pentioum m laptop, i can also rip the screen, and go creative with that.

i am pushing laptop issue

Yev

88Vette
07-08-2006, 12:36 AM
sure, little later though, i car pc is fubar, cause my epia m10000 overheated, and i damaged my cpu.

I went to bootlog.ini expedited booting to 5 sec, my car computer used to boot fresh with in 9 seconds, and about 7 seconds to wake up.

i gotta find that flash drive, then i can boot it on my regular pc, and film it, i am sure it would about same.

Personal question, i am thinking of going with aopen pandora, cause it would easily fit in my glove compartment, and i have cooled in my jetta., for the same mooney i can buy pentioum m laptop, i can also rip the screen, and go creative with that.

i am pushing laptop issue

Yev

I'd either go with the laptop or another small car PC. Not the aopen.
The aopen PC's I've seen come barebones, you have to add the processor, RAM, hard drive. By the time you add that in you might as well get a complete ready made car PC with everything included.
The Lilliput one I bought has built in bluetooth, DVD player, 40GB HDD, 512 RAM, on board video/audio. I love it. I've almost finished setting up all the software/hardware and about to install it soon.

Yevi
07-08-2006, 01:02 AM
well since i have most of the components,

i will have to buy opus, or carnetix p1900 power supplies

motherboard from ebay $20-30 USD
pentium M processor $30.00 shipped

that would cost me $200.00

if i add a $100.00 i can go with thinkpad t20, and docking station , plus i get the screen, another cool featre is that i would need minimal wiring, and if case something goes wrong i can just take it out diagnose , and put it back it, and on the hot days, i can take it out

Yev

Megalomaniac
07-08-2006, 11:58 AM
well with laptop or any fullsize pc u have to have a startup shutdown controller,which i read about are usually a pain when it comes to the software part. 2 main reasons i used mini itx (i wish i could afford a Nano itx) 1 i can hook up an powersupply (M2AtX 160watt max about 80watts rms)integrated with a shutdownstartup contoller that uses only jumpers. 2. Is much smaller i can tuck it away stealth(in my case behind my dash) there are other reasons too like i dont need "REAL" processing power,just enough to play movies listen too music and use iGuidance(GPS). Right now i am trying to draw up some sketches on how to make a small case for my whole pc(so fits in the double din) so it will make it easier for me to take in and out when requiring maintenaince..

Yevi
07-08-2006, 01:46 PM
shutdown controller, is built in in carnetix, opus, or m1/m2-atx devices as you said


i mean those are the only way unless you want to fool around circutry, and they are smart power supplies as well.

i explained why laptop would be better in my case i think above,
you can buy a dock for laptop, and hack the dock as your start/shut down controller, (set jumpers, and everything there) rather than disasembleling the laptop, thinkpads are durable machines you can pick on ebay for under $120.00

stay away from P4's they need a lot of cooling maintenace

Yev

Megalomaniac
07-08-2006, 08:26 PM
im curious are you on mp3car forum, cause i am, i go by the name of MegaloRESE15".
the onlything is i like my computer steath as possible, i dont like it when its under a seat to much too worry about,like people kicking it and my sub is taking a 1200watts pound so i dont want that near my hdd at all.

Bigrick31
07-08-2006, 09:11 PM
sick work man. lookin really clean. hey would you happen to know if there is a program you could use to get your computer to display custom gauges and read your tach/speedo and/or other gauges you have in you car? i always thought it would be kewl to have a few tvs in the dash rather than gauges.

Megalomaniac
07-08-2006, 10:42 PM
There is a program where it will give u all that u hook it up to the cars "Brain" serial port. but i dont know what its called,it will give all the engine diagnostics. but my GPS software tells me how fast i am going hehe. I read on mp3car some guy had his car taken to the dealer for minor maintenance, he left it there for a bit. and when he got his car(WRX) back he checked his logs(SPECIAL DETRAIL- He(the owner) shut his screen off while his carputer still stays on and off,and he has a program that records everything) anyways when he checks his logs he see the car went out of the dealer and on the highway and was goin 106mphs!!! he showed a screenshot to the dealer and got the person who drove his car suspended without pay for 2 days. I know what ur thinkin thats not runing his car at all,it can handle it, yeah it can handle it but the the dealer has no right at all too be goin that speed,its dangerous.
but i dont know if that will help u but,i thought it was a great story to tell,"Im always watching you" is what im thinking

Yevi
07-08-2006, 11:15 PM
I go by Yevmeister

i don't know about other brands, but i know that VW/Audi use Vag-com , you have to connect the obd-2, into the car system, and you can enable and disable a lot of little features.

Yev

Yevi
07-08-2006, 11:17 PM
buy the way, when you get a rental car these days you should watch out too, they might be watching your abusiviness, but then why do you par insurance, eh

Yev

Megalomaniac
07-08-2006, 11:17 PM
vidz yet?

Yevi
07-08-2006, 11:56 PM
vidz yet?

sorry, i will have it ready with in next 2 weeks, i am in Germany watching World Cup, i'll be back to U.S. later next week

Go France,

Yev

Triplethreat
08-06-2006, 10:47 PM
How much did that whole system cost you?

AJē06
08-07-2006, 12:25 AM
**** nice... :)

Megalomaniac
08-07-2006, 03:46 AM
search in general descussion for carputer 101 I talk about a carputer broken down to prices.