PDA

View Full Version : Blew my RE component



dak0ta_g33k
11-19-2005, 06:48 PM
i just realized that i blew one of my RE component midbasses. despite the tweeters being harsh, i just want to find a drop in replacement and keep the remainder of the set. i got this NIB off ebay last august, so i don't think i have a warranty. i dunno what the power rating on them were but i was giving them 75 watts.

i just installed XXX 6.5s in the doors and they just drown out the remaining midbass.

my first guess at a replacement are those surplus adire sf7s...

suggestions, recommendations flames are welcomed :)

DBfan187
11-19-2005, 06:52 PM
SF7's.

I actually think they are RE mids. Adires name for them though is SF7s. Who knows?

kuijo
11-19-2005, 06:57 PM
call up RE, i'm sure they'll sell you just the one.

SSS 18734
11-19-2005, 07:28 PM
those SF7's look identical to my RE mids. I wouldnt be surprised if they are the same thing.

dak0ta_g33k
11-19-2005, 08:36 PM
i was thinking the same thing... did RE comps have XBL^2? bladeice.com says so but not at the REaudio page

alteraudiousa
11-19-2005, 09:59 PM
the xxx 6.5s are xbl^2, not the other ones though.

dak0ta_g33k
11-19-2005, 11:02 PM
again, that's what i thought. but if the sf7s have xbl^2 then they can't really be a clone of the RE mid?

figured out how i blew it, only 50w needed for RE comps... was feeding them 75 :oops:

sf7s are also rated at 50w, hmmm...

DBfan187
11-19-2005, 11:04 PM
IIRC, David made a post about the RE mids being XBL^2.

LightningStryk7
11-20-2005, 03:39 AM
again, that's what i thought. but if the sf7s have xbl^2 then they can't really be a clone of the RE mid?

figured out how i blew it, only 50w needed for RE comps... was feeding them 75 :oops:

sf7s are also rated at 50w, hmmm...

You sure its that? Or where u clipping the signal... I have the RE comps with a 100 x2 infinity amp powerin em, nothin happened to em yet.

dak0ta_g33k
11-20-2005, 12:26 PM
not too sure really... i only noticed that it was dead when i took out the kick panel to run wire into the doors. by the multimeter i have it is an open circuit. tweet still hits harsh tho.
btw ignore my question in your thread, it was a page ahead of this in the new posts search :)

c0la
11-20-2005, 12:38 PM
you can get a RE mid directly from RE for a little over $50 shipped

My comps are also being powered with 75 wrms. I too had a problem with one of my mids. The surround came un-glued and was blown. I replaced with another RE mid and haven't had a problem since

azazel
11-21-2005, 07:32 PM
dak0ta_g33k,

I blew one of my RE mids feeding it only 50W RMS (far far less, I never turn it up). I have one good mid and two good tweeters and two good crossovers.

dak0ta_g33k
11-21-2005, 10:32 PM
^replied to PM

prolly did clip it, i had it cranked until i was getting nearly a foot massage from the kick panel.

dak0ta_g33k
12-04-2005, 04:14 PM
waking up a dead post, but here is a pic of the RE mid with the sf7
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y93/allannabas/thunderform/a1d3d2e7.jpg
left is the blown RE component mid, on the right is the adire sf7
my ears (with tinnitus) cant really tell the difference of the swap out

bamaboy
12-04-2005, 07:54 PM
i didnt know the re mids looked like that, those look cool