PDA

View Full Version : made ourselves

EddieB
11-19-2005, 12:43 PM
Hey guys me and a friend of mine ar making a sub box for two twelves now are there any key points that we should remember; and also tips on applying the carpet to the wood my friend is not that good at it and I've never done it before! I dont want to read any "go buy a box" crap we are trying to do this ourselves so holla back!:up2somet:

LoudCrownVic
11-19-2005, 12:49 PM
Carpet is useless- you don;t need it.

Make even cuts, outside of the lines you draw, with a circular saw, table saw or a table router.

Measure twice, cut once. Make sure the piece is right before you cut it!

Use 3/4" MDF.

Have the right airspace for the speakers you have designed into the box.

Get the mounting holes as round and as precise as possible, otherwise the box tends to leak round there.

EddieB
11-19-2005, 01:33 PM
:up2somet: so mdf is better than particle board and we want to use the carpet just so it matches the inner lining of my truck !

LoudCrownVic
11-19-2005, 01:40 PM
Yes, MDF is easier to work, sand and cut. You will want to use 1.5" drywall screws for the assembly. Pre drill the holes straight with a small drill bit before you screw it in, to avoid misfires.

You can also use woodglue and staples or 1.5" nails.

Make sure you have a box design before you start though!

kuijo
11-19-2005, 01:46 PM
**** i wish i could remember the site that gave that carpet wrapping tutorial.
But you wrap it like a present in wrapping paper, then on the side its all folded up together you cut an X throw all of the pieces of carpet, remove excess carpet pieces that fall off and it should all fit together properly and look professional. If you don't understand what i'm saying, practice on something small first.

EddieB
11-19-2005, 01:51 PM
:uhoh: Crown do you know of any link where I may be able to get any box designs and how to accomplish them step by step?

LoudCrownVic
11-19-2005, 01:53 PM