PDA

View Full Version : Speakers Too Soft



awsamia
11-09-2005, 06:15 PM
My JL XR650-cs's seem very soft compared to friends cars even with stock speakers. Turning the volume up all the way on my headunit doesn't cause any distortion but I don't feel like it's doing what I want. Would you recommend getting new speakers? I'm very dissapointed in these. Or should I put in some rear-fills to make the system louder.

ToyTundra
11-09-2005, 06:18 PM
are they amped?

awsamia
11-09-2005, 06:18 PM
Oh ya sorry to mention, they're being pushed by a MTX 404 amp.

Beat_Dominator
11-09-2005, 06:26 PM
They could probably use more power.

thefunkybunch
11-09-2005, 08:02 PM
that amp is 50x4. run the 2 front channels to the mid input on the crossover. then run the rear 2 channels to the tweet input on the crossover. switch the little jumper to bi or biwire or biamp, don't recall what it's labeled as. then see how it does. what is the crossover set at? turn it down to about 60hz and they'll spank :)

GSteg
11-09-2005, 11:37 PM
In what ways are they "soft"?

midrange, tweeters, midbass??

80_Cutlass_mn
11-10-2005, 12:06 AM
By saying too soft I get two ideas. One is there just isnt enough volume and two is lack of frequency response.Like Gsteg said, we could use a little more information as if its just volume or frequency related.

KingDiamond
11-10-2005, 12:30 AM
Are the gains set correctly on the amplifier? Sometimes if they are too low then the speakers will sound weak or soft.

awsamia
11-10-2005, 01:09 AM
Sorry for not being clear. By soft I meant volume. It takes the volume on my HU to be turned up to 40 in order for the volume to be anywhere close to loud. And the highest the HU goes is 50. Being in friends cars with systems, they turn their HU up only about halfway and it's blastin.

I don't know what the gains or anything are set at but my install was done by a very reputable installer and I'm sure he did them right.

I do know that he bridged the amp to 2 channels and has one on each crossover.

Eugenics
11-10-2005, 02:19 AM
what setup is he running?


im going to guess its not your speakes that are your problem, possibly the instal

VOA_NIGHTMARE
11-10-2005, 02:22 AM
yea sounds like your gains need to be tweeked alittle more

awsamia
11-10-2005, 11:49 AM
I highly doubt it's the install. This guy does great work and MoeLester and NizAsianMonk can vouch for that.

Could it be that the amp is not enough?

GSteg
11-10-2005, 12:05 PM
hrm..4ohm mono, that amp should be doing a bit over 140w per channel at most.



Check the polarity on the mids. See if they are out of phase or not.