PDA

View Full Version : how to build a box



binterpid
11-08-2005, 01:55 AM
i cant not figure out how to build a box right. when ever I do my calcultions it never works out to what the computers are getting.

for instace for a box that is
14" H
38" W
14" D

i multiple these together and then divide by 1728 and get 4.0023 cu ft

but when I enter it in the calc I get 3 cu ft why?

the computer doesnt account for speaker dis either and I know wood dis is not the much. so whats wrong?

NhustlaR
11-08-2005, 07:47 AM
youre not taking the 3/4 MDF board you will be using. The dimentions are the outer dimentions, not the internal
good day

Jordantyler
11-09-2005, 04:32 PM
http://www.accelerator-pedal.com/ported-box.asp go there

maldecido33
11-09-2005, 08:32 PM
for instace for a box that is
14" H
38" W
14" D

i multiple these together and then divide by 1728 and get 4.0023 cu ft

but when I enter it in the calc I get 3 cu ft why?

account for the thickness of the wood. assuming you're using the standard 3/4" MDF:

(14-1.5)*(38-1.5)*(14-1.5)=x
12.5*36.5*12.5=x
5703.125=x

5703.125/1728 = 3.3 cu ft.

you subtract 1.5 because there are two pieces of wood for which you are subtracting the thickness. hence 3/4 x 2 = 1.5.

binterpid
11-09-2005, 08:57 PM
thanx for the help

NhustlaR
11-10-2005, 05:38 PM
psst. dont listen to jordan. that site isnt as accurate as HE thinks

wgaede
11-10-2005, 06:27 PM
psst. dont listen to jordan. that site isnt as accurate as HE thinks
She :yumyum:

Jordantyler
11-10-2005, 09:32 PM
Yah SHE....sorry i got that website and it worked fine for me so HA

NhustlaR
11-10-2005, 09:44 PM
my b. sorry for the disrespect. but that site still isnt tooooooo reliable.

Jordantyler
11-10-2005, 10:24 PM
sorry i just was tryin to help..

NhustlaR
11-10-2005, 10:30 PM
i understand...

Jordantyler
11-10-2005, 10:38 PM
what kind of system do u have ? nhustlar