PDA

View Full Version : box tuning



fatryan
11-03-2005, 09:01 PM
is there any way to find out an enclosures tuning w/o having a sub in it? cause i wanna check the tunning on my old L7 enclosure, but i dont have my L7's anymore.

fatryan
11-05-2005, 06:41 PM
any1?

SSS 18734
11-05-2005, 06:47 PM
you'll need internal box size and the deminsions of the port(s).

fatryan
11-05-2005, 08:05 PM
you'll need internal box size and the deminsions of the port(s).
well the thing is...i have all that info, cause i built the box myself. i got the specs from kicker. and kicker told me what it will be tuned to. but im just wondering if its actually correct when all is said and done.

bimma85
11-05-2005, 08:44 PM
well the thing is...i have all that info, cause i built the box myself. i got the specs from kicker. and kicker told me what it will be tuned to. but im just wondering if its actually correct when all is said and done.
I'd hope a multi million dollar corp like them could figure out how to properly tune a box ;)

chinny
11-05-2005, 08:45 PM
if kicker tells u something then thats what it is.

fatryan
11-05-2005, 09:40 PM
I'd hope a multi million dollar corp like them could figure out how to properly tune a box ;)
well, youd think so. but when compared to the box i had b4 which was a small sealed prefab, there wasnt much (if any) difference in output. the only difference i noticed was low end.

Crown_amps
11-05-2005, 10:10 PM
well, youd think so. but when compared to the box i had b4 which was a small sealed prefab, there wasnt much (if any) difference in output. the only difference i noticed was low end.


thats insane was the power on LOL no but serious....it should have a boat load more output than a sealed peice of sh@# prefab

woody89
11-05-2005, 10:29 PM
well, youd think so. but when compared to the box i had b4 which was a small sealed prefab, there wasnt much (if any) difference in output. the only difference i noticed was low end.

Sometimes your ears wont notice the change. So thats what I've been told by others.

fatryan
11-27-2005, 02:33 PM
interesting, i didnt see these posts yet.

well ive decided to get L7s again. and i actually just bought them today. except this time theyre the new chrome looking ones instead of the old silver cone (not that it matters). but now that i will have the subs, is there any way to measure the port tuning? or is math the only option?

fatryan
11-27-2005, 03:27 PM
any1?

406er
11-27-2005, 03:56 PM
we need ALL the dimension of the box. height , width, depth. thickness of the wood. port height, width, and length. then we can tell you

fatryan
11-27-2005, 04:07 PM
we need ALL the dimension of the box. height , width, depth. thickness of the wood. port height, width, and length. then we can tell you
so that is the only way to find the tuning?

swimfreak26
11-27-2005, 05:50 PM
Yes, math is the only way.

Although, in your case, I would trust what kicker told you ;)

fatryan
11-27-2005, 08:16 PM
well i guess its actually not so much that i dont trust kicker. its thats i dont know for sure if i understood their box plans completely when i built it. ill get the dimensions so you guys can tell me.

bimma85
11-27-2005, 08:22 PM
well i guess its actually not so much that i dont trust kicker. its thats i dont know for sure if i understood their box plans completely when i built it. ill get the dimensions so you guys can tell me.
Kicker gives a bunch of options for boxes. What box did you build? I find it hard to believe their street beater design would not be noticeably louder than one in a sealed prefab. Could always try using a box calc.

fatryan
11-27-2005, 08:28 PM
Kicker gives a bunch of options for boxes. What box did you build? I find it hard to believe their street beater design would not be noticeably louder than one in a sealed prefab. Could always try using a box calc.
well, they told me its 2.83 cubes and tuned to 34hz. i built 2 of these, then glued em together with liquid nails.

fatryan
11-27-2005, 11:25 PM
ok heres a little drawing a made up in paint when i was building the box. the dimensions are listed. the dimensions are exactly what kicker told me to do. im just not sure if i made the right kind of port.

http://blazinkack.home.comcast.net/box1a.JPG

bimma85
11-27-2005, 11:27 PM
well, they told me its 2.83 cubes and tuned to 34hz. i built 2 of these, then glued em together with liquid nails.
You should be able to tell a noticeable difference between that box and a smaller sealed prefab.

fatryan
11-27-2005, 11:29 PM
You should be able to tell a noticeable difference between that box and a smaller sealed prefab.
well what does my tuning come out to?

bimma85
11-27-2005, 11:32 PM
well what does my tuning come out to?
:).....??? lol.
Thats a small *** port lol. Also I think the 2.83 that kicker gives is counting the entire port as well as the internal box volume.

fatryan
11-27-2005, 11:33 PM
btw, it was made with 3/4 in MDF. and all dimensions are dimensions of the wood, EXCEPT the 3.25" and 7" of the port

fatryan
11-27-2005, 11:33 PM
:).....??? lol.
Thats a small *** port lol. Also I think the 2.83 that kicker gives is counting the entire port as well as the internal box volume.
crap

bimma85
11-27-2005, 11:33 PM
is the box 15" deep/tall however you wanna say it, with the wood? and the port is 13.25" long?

fatryan
11-27-2005, 11:35 PM
:).....??? lol.
Thats a small *** port lol. Also I think the 2.83 that kicker gives is counting the entire port as well as the internal box volume.
also, the pic isnt the actual size of the box. i just drew that up. the actual box is shorter. and the port is bigger than the 1 i drew (but not by much)

fatryan
11-27-2005, 11:36 PM
is the box 15" deep/tall however you wanna say it, with the wood? and the port is 13.25" long?
no, 15 w/o wood...16.5 w/ wood. and yes, port is 13.25

fatryan
11-27-2005, 11:37 PM
actually i dont know if the 13.25 includes the top piece, which would be another 3/4 in....

bimma85
11-27-2005, 11:40 PM
Im no box designer or nothing, but its seems odd that with a 3" wide port that there is only about 2" of space between the end of the port and the bottom of the box.

You should PM someone like moe lester and have em take a look at it.

fatryan
11-27-2005, 11:41 PM
ok, ill PM him this thread.

Moe Lester
11-28-2005, 12:08 AM
wtf are the external dimensions lol...

fatryan
11-28-2005, 12:09 AM
as a whole...17 x 16.5 x 23.25

fatryan
11-28-2005, 12:25 AM
whered every1 go?

Moe Lester
11-28-2005, 12:37 AM
2.93 gross

2.67 before the sub

I dont feel like lookin up the sub displacement, well say .17 so 2.5 after displacements assuming you didnt brace it or anything.

its probably ~2.5 @ 38hz.

fatryan
11-28-2005, 12:39 AM
2.93 gross

2.67 before the sub

I dont feel like lookin up the sub displacement, well say .17 so 2.5 after displacements assuming you didnt brace it or anything.

its probably ~2.5 @ 38hz.
no, no bracing. but still, 2.5 @38? that should still be much louder than a 1.25cuft sealed prefab. dont ya think?

Moe Lester
11-28-2005, 01:30 AM
no, no bracing. but still, 2.5 @38? that should still be much louder than a 1.25cuft sealed prefab. dont ya think?

well that port comes too close to the bottom like said before, but i think itll still be louder.

fatryan
11-28-2005, 01:35 AM
well that port comes too close to the bottom like said before, but i think itll still be louder.
well ive already used it and it really isnt much louder. i have it filled 50% with loose polyfill (with a mesh grate over the port). will that decrease output?