PDA

View Full Version : RE 12 for HT box size



ballstothewall
10-31-2005, 11:33 PM
Ok, You all have prob seen my threads on my Line Array plans. I hope to start building this weekend, it is going to be insanely awsome.

But on to the sub...

I have 2 RE 12's lying around in my room doing nothing, and I want to use one of them as my HT sub. 2.5ft^3 at 22hz, but I believe that the box is probably to small for it. What would be the ideal size for a HT box for one RE RE12. This will have 250-300wrms thrown at it, (i am going to do the powersupply mod)

So, short version.
Size of box needed for one RE 12" tuned to 22hz.

Thanks for any assistance

-Ryan

Moe Lester
10-31-2005, 11:39 PM
i would just throw it in that box and see how it sounds. if you like it then keep it. I would be careful putting 300wrms though that coil though.

ballstothewall
10-31-2005, 11:41 PM
Alright, I'm not sure about the 300wrms either, i know it will handle 240wmrs. Been there, done that, still works. But thanks for the info!

adio
10-31-2005, 11:45 PM
why not tune lower??

ballstothewall
11-01-2005, 12:04 AM
Idk, 22hz sounded good to me, I was also tossing around 16hz

BoominBeast
11-01-2005, 12:08 AM
give it 200 rms tops in HT. this is not car audio. power in HT is totally different than CA.

tune to around 22 hz, but try sealed first..
get some fr125s

adio
11-01-2005, 12:09 AM
Idk, 22hz sounded good to me, I was also tossing around 16hz
try 19Hz

soundstreamer
11-01-2005, 12:12 AM
i'm doing the same for my ht...but i was going to do a little closer to 2cuft @20hz each with a couple of plate amps that will only feed 'em ~75watts @8ohms. let me know how yours turn out and i might change my plans.