PDA

View Full Version : Please take a look at my box



DIGIDIGIBOMBO
10-31-2005, 07:53 PM
Is it a good design? the net volume is 1.7ft^3, tuning frequency is 30Hz, used for a TS-W12PRS 12" sub.
The port dimensions are ( 13.38x1.7"), box inner dimensions are ( L=15.74, W=13.93" and height=13.38").
The port length=A+B+C=36.1"
http://www2.propichosting.com/Images/421541514/32.JPG
Forget about the 1.2 dimnsion thing on the pic, the pic is not to scale.
But lets assume that we had a port so close to the inner box wall would it be a problem? i mean isnt there a minimum clearance that must be respected, held, between port and inner wall box???? Thx

DIGIDIGIBOMBO
11-01-2005, 05:06 AM
Anyone?:D

DIGIDIGIBOMBO
11-01-2005, 01:00 PM
A human being out there?:(:D

Beat_Dominator
11-01-2005, 01:56 PM
How wide is the port at it's exit?? If it's the same between the end of "C" and the bottom of the photo you'll be fine.

I would reccommend a port at least 3" wide...

PV Audio
11-01-2005, 01:58 PM
indeed, how much port area?

DIGIDIGIBOMBO
11-01-2005, 03:59 PM
What do u mean guys, i said the port dimensions are:13.38"x1.7":S its a rectangle. So the area is:22.746"^2, where is the problem??

Beat_Dominator
11-01-2005, 05:52 PM
Doh didn't see that.


1.7" is awful narrow. You will probably get some port noise from that.

tRiGgEr
11-01-2005, 05:58 PM
The clearance needs to be at least 1 and 1/2 of the ports width.

Your internal volume is 1.21ft^3 tuned to 35.5hz

And that is before speaker displacment.

Oh and I rounded out your dimmension. (L=15.75, W=14" and height=13.25"). Port - 13.25 x 1.75 x 36

DIGIDIGIBOMBO
11-02-2005, 12:46 PM
How the hell did u cpme up with that number man. 1.21ft????? well every 12"=1ft, my internal volume is: 15.75x14x13.25=2921.625"^3 which is 1.69ft^3.
We divide the volume in inches cube by 12^3 to convert it to ft^3.:S:S:S, also evenb if the width of my port is verrrrrrryyy thin, where is the problem since i have the right area and length port. The thinner it is, i will increase the height of it, and probably the length of the port will be affected too. I have used a software and i didnt go below thge minimum required port area value. I still dont understand whats wrong:) thx
I ve sued this software: http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?id=31
Xmax=13.5mm, the minimum port area=22.19"^2 and mine is:22.746
AHhhh dude the box dimensions are the inner dimensions not the outer, maybe u missunderstud me:)

tRiGgEr
11-02-2005, 12:59 PM
How the hell did u cpme up with that number man. 1.21ft????? well every 12"=1ft, my internal volume is: 15.75x14x13.25=2921.625"^3 which is 1.69ft^3.
We divide the volume in inches cube by 12^3 to convert it to ft^3.:S:S:S, also evenb if the width of my port is verrrrrrryyy thin, where is the problem since i have the right area and length port. The thinner it is, i will increase the height of it, and probably the length of the port will be affected too. I have used a software and i didnt go below thge minimum required port area value. I still dont understand whats wrong:) thx
I ve sued this software: http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?id=31
Xmax=13.5mm, the minimum port area=22.19"^2 and mine is:22.746

Yes 1.69ft^3 then subtract the port displacment of 0.48 you now get 1.21. Now unless the supplied dimmensions were internal dimmensions measuring in from the port the box is 1.21.

The problem with the port is the end section. It needs a clearance of at least 1 and 1/2 the width of the port. so the end of the port needs to be at least 2.5" away from the back wall.

tRiGgEr
11-02-2005, 01:00 PM
AHhhh dude the box dimensions are the inner dimensions not the outer, maybe u missunderstud me:)

I know they are internal. Are they the internal box dimmensions measuring from the box walls or the port walls?

DIGIDIGIBOMBO
11-02-2005, 01:08 PM
Inner dimensions measured from the inner box walls. I am gonna put a good pic to scale now

tRiGgEr
11-02-2005, 01:11 PM
Inner dimensions measured from the inner box walls. I am gonna put a good pic to scale now

That will help understand your dimensions a bit. It sounds like you did not subtract port displacement if you measured from the box inner wall. The port is taking up space inside that box. Also the port building material of .75" I presume...

DIGIDIGIBOMBO
11-02-2005, 01:54 PM
http://www2.propichosting.com/Images/421541514/33.JPGOHHHH ****. I dont wanna throw my box, dunno how to fix it, maybe use external port, but dunno how, **** **** shitttttttttt if i wanna rebuild the box i must do the following:??? 1.7+0.48=2.18ft^3, and then use the same port area22.19"^2 ,length36.1 that the software gave me for a box of 1.7ft^3, right?? thx:(

DIGIDIGIBOMBO
11-02-2005, 03:12 PM
..

tRiGgEr
11-02-2005, 04:02 PM
15.75 x 17.75 x 13.75 = 2.22ft^3 - Box
13.75 x 2.5 x 37.5 = 0.75ft^3 - Port

You have to change the port width from 1.75 to 2.5 because the wood you use as the port wall displaces volume. You also knock off .75" from the port length. Because we have already figured box displacment. And .75" of the port uses the box end we already figured.

So now we have 1.47ft^3 tuned to 32.35hz

And as soon as you drop the speaker in, this will all change. Speaker displacement effects volume and tuning.

DIGIDIGIBOMBO
11-02-2005, 06:40 PM
...

DIGIDIGIBOMBO
11-03-2005, 05:12 PM
...