PDA

View Full Version : is 12 cu. ft. to big??



bigexpo
10-30-2005, 02:49 PM
yo me and one of my buddies were workin with this box maker that i got and i typed in all my shizz and if i want it ported etc. and it came up with my box being 12.?? cu. ft. is this totally wrong? im running 2 12w3's and its going into a ported box to be tuned at 34hz? i just dont know anyone have any ideas?

SSS 18734
10-30-2005, 02:50 PM
thats massive. are you using WinISD? it tends to do that a lot

azbass
10-30-2005, 02:54 PM
probably used it wrong

flakko
10-30-2005, 02:55 PM
lol 12 cubic feet for 2 12's thats like DD status rite there

bigexpo
10-30-2005, 02:59 PM
haha. yes i am using winISD what should i do? it can be real big becuase its going in an expedition but i dont want it to look stupid you know?

SSS 18734
10-30-2005, 03:02 PM
all you do is change around the size of the box and ports to achieve your desired response. The one that WinISD provides for you isn't the only one you can use.

bigexpo
10-30-2005, 03:08 PM
So Wouldnt That Make It Sound Diffrent? And If Not What Should I Change It To?

LuNaTiC
10-30-2005, 03:21 PM
Big = Good

ruckus
10-30-2005, 03:24 PM
Big = Good
not 12cu.ft for 2 w3s LOL I wouldnt use above 5cu.ft for both subs and would probably use more like 2cu.ft per sub.

bigexpo
10-30-2005, 06:57 PM
see some people said the size is correct to make it sound right adn some say its ridiculous if you dont know than dont say anyhting unless you actually have proof or somehting

LuNaTiC
10-30-2005, 07:17 PM
not 12cu.ft for 2 w3s LOL I wouldnt use above 5cu.ft for both subs and would probably use more like 2cu.ft per sub.

I'd use 10 ft^3 PER sub.


jp :p

Big is good. But 12 cube is just alittle too big.

bonesninja
10-30-2005, 07:21 PM
big is ok---for spl. but 12 cube for W3's is ridiculous. most likely they will be **** near free-airing and won't last long. i used to run my W3's w/1.5 each and they wanged pretty good.

ruckus
10-30-2005, 07:25 PM
see some people said the size is correct to make it sound right adn some say its ridiculous if you dont know than dont say anyhting unless you actually have proof or somehting
Ive owned W3s so I know what Im talking about and if you want proof then build the friggin 12 cubed box and come back and tell us how you blew your subs because of over excursion ;) and be sure to use the rms wattage too :crazy:

read the recommended box size from JL then figure the bigger the box the less wattage needed for maximum excursion, then keep in to consideration 12 cubes is about 5 times what JL recommends you will be pushing something like a whopping 50 watts per sub for maximum excursion. The ones telling you its good dont care cause they didnt pay for the subs. ;)

Bake
10-30-2005, 08:44 PM
Call JL and they will draw up some plans for you. My bet is they won't be anywhere close to 12 cubes.

ruckus
10-30-2005, 09:16 PM
Call JL and they will draw up some plans for you. My bet is they won't be anywhere close to 12 cubes.
or read the owner's manual which says 1.25cu.ft sealed and 1.75cuft ported with box plans in the manual ;)

http://mobile.jlaudio.com/pdfs/8681.pdf

twoohfour
10-30-2005, 09:18 PM
i reccommend 12 cu ft per sub i mean... that's what win isd meant by that i think.