PDA

View Full Version : Pics of innovatek



darkdrake
10-28-2005, 10:16 AM
can anyone show me your innovatek screens. all i need them for is playing xbox aoon and occasionally watching dvds. so please post some pictures. i appreciate it greatly.

BigProof
10-28-2005, 10:29 AM
i dont have a dig. camera, but i have one and the screen is fine looking, i've had mine for almost 2 years now and no probs other then the remote stopped working, i dunno if that helps you much but imho its more then good enough for what you're gonna use it for

AVSTANG02
10-28-2005, 05:08 PM
can anyone show me your innovatek screens. all i need them for is playing xbox aoon and occasionally watching dvds. so please post some pictures. i appreciate it greatly.

I dont have any pics either but i've installed a couple of these in friends cars..

we did one friends car then all of his friends saw the screen and wanted them also.. and since they are so cheap it was easy to markup the price and make a profit...

www.mp3playerstore.com has some video and pictures of the screens in action...

MastaFlex
10-28-2005, 08:11 PM
i dont understand, do you just like this monitor in general?

AVSTANG02
10-29-2005, 05:29 PM
i dont understand, do you just like this monitor in general?


They are cheap cheap cheap! but have decent picture quality...

MegaHurtz
10-29-2005, 07:52 PM
I just won an auction for a pair of 7" screens in headrests today on ebay. Hopefully they get here by next weekend and I will get some pics up ASAP, I will test them out in my room or basement.

darkdrake
11-02-2005, 09:07 AM
so no one has pics

MegaHurtz
11-03-2005, 11:48 PM
I got my screens today :)

i hooked em up for testing and they both worked quite nice. Picture quality did not disappoint, it was actually respectable. No pics of them in action yet, I just hooked up quickly, but I hope to get them installed over the weekend and I will get pics then.

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/headrests.jpg

darkdrake
11-04-2005, 08:23 AM
thanks i appreciate it.

darkdrake
11-04-2005, 08:24 AM
also how much did you spend for the both of them

MegaHurtz
11-04-2005, 09:51 AM
$191.50 USD plus shipping

darkdrake
11-04-2005, 12:58 PM
how much for shipping

and what kind of car you putting them in. cause im wanting 2 of these also for my 99 cavalier. did you get them on ebay?

MegaHurtz
11-04-2005, 08:32 PM
shiping was 50, fukking rape, but it came **** hot quick

I guess they do that to cover ebay, paypal, etc fees.

if you go to their website www.mp3playerstore.com you can buy the monitors outright, but they will obviously be more than if you win an auction, but the shipping is like 10 bucks usd priority, not bad at all.

MegaHurtz
11-05-2005, 01:10 AM
One step closer!! I do have them wired for power at this point, but no signal yet. Video amplifier is sitting on my desk in front of me and will go in Sat or Sun depending on when I can get some RCAs made up

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/headrests2.jpg

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/headrests3.jpg

MegaHurtz
11-06-2005, 08:13 PM
Done!!!

Some videos:

http://www.2k4civic.com/video/civicvideo1.avi
http://www.2k4civic.com/video/civicvideo2.avi
http://www.2k4civic.com/video/civicvideo3.avi

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/headrests4.jpg

MegaHurtz
11-06-2005, 11:00 PM
A couple more for good measure

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/headrests5.jpg

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/headrests6.jpg

darkdrake
11-07-2005, 11:07 AM
whoa thanks those looks great

and sweet install

how hard was it to run the cables through the seats

MegaHurtz
11-07-2005, 03:23 PM
Super super easy

There is like a DIN type plug that comes out of the bottom of the headrest post that fit right into the post hole on my seats (which I was worried about, because a standard RCA plug wouldn't fit thru on my car). There was then a part that I could undo on the back of my seat so that i could lift the seat cover up a bit and access the inside. I just fed the wire down, grabbed onto it, plugged it into the a/v/power cable, wrapped up the excess, tucked it inside the seat and put the seat back together. All in all, 5 minutes per seat at most, once I figured out what I had to do to get the seat apart.

AVSTANG02
11-07-2005, 03:32 PM
Looks awsome!@#$

MegaHurtz
11-07-2005, 03:32 PM
I suppose it's worth noting that I ran into a power issue though....

Originally i had an 18awg line running from behind my dash to power my Sirius receiver. I tapped off this line for power for my screens and video amp which is also mounted under my seat. It didn't really occur to me at the time, but looking back now, that's a big load to run on an 18awg wire. Not only that, i have like a million connections under my seat so that everything can get power the way I want it to. I have one of those terminal strips for powering multiple devices, but I had to make little jumpers to go to each block as they are all isolated. So there ended up being a big power drop, becuase it was going from an 18awg line, a tap running to a relay, and then to my distro block which is a few more connections. With the car off, the voltage on the terminals reads about 10.5v, about 12.5v with the car running. I discovered this problem when I tried to run both screens with the car off and only one would run at a time... when I would turn one on the other would shut off. I couldn't figure it out at first until the DMM revealed this problem. So last night I ordered a 10awg amp kit from hifisoundconnection.com and I am going to use that to run a line directly from my battery to the block.

I'm not sure if this will be relevant or not to you, but since I don't know what you are going to do for power, you should keep this in mind. I haven't checked to see if any specs were given with the screens, but it seems to me like they might draw a lot of power for what they are.

Just thought I would add this little tidbit, never know if it might be useful or not :)

MegaHurtz
11-07-2005, 05:52 PM
also for your amusement, have a look at the manual that coems with the screens

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/screenmanual1.jpg
http://www.2k4civic.com/images/screenmanual2.jpg
http://www.2k4civic.com/images/screenmanual3.jpg

darkdrake
11-08-2005, 08:06 AM
LOL THATS GREAT

my biggest concern though personally is my head rest i have a 99 cavy and im not sure if theyll fit.... plus you got an awesomely sweet deal on those and i cant find them anywhere on eby for that price. well thanks for all the screens and feel free to pst more. i guess now your rddy

lol