PDA

View Full Version : Is this possible?



Psyence
10-25-2005, 11:23 PM
I have a ported box, the port can only be 10.25" long in total, but to get the desired tuning that i'd like, it needs to be about 1.0" longer....

If I make up the 1.0" on the OUTSIDE of the box, does this work?!?!

Pic:

http://battlepsyence.com/rough.gif

Am I on glue or what?

negativezeroz
10-25-2005, 11:24 PM
im not a port expert but dont see why it wouldnt? PM PowerNaudio or Jack Frost or Moe Lester

Psyence
10-25-2005, 11:31 PM
Yeah, im hoping so...

Hopefully someone that KNOWS will come give me thier 50 cent... er 2 cents.

Psyence
10-25-2005, 11:40 PM
Or what about something like this for a slot ported design, would the measurements for port length carry outside the box in this design?

Im just trying to think of a NEW way of doing things...

http://battlepsyence.com/rough2.gif

(Im more interested in the first one of this thread tho :))

squeak9798
10-25-2005, 11:44 PM
Yes, your first design would work.

Doesn't matter where the port is located (inside or outside).

Psyence
10-25-2005, 11:51 PM
Really? Wow, thats great news!

Im stuck at like 36hz or so right now, with this option I can actually get down to the 32hz range ( I know its not another 1" only, I was just using some made up numbers above )

SWEET.

I guess I forgot to mention that its a slot port... would this make any difference?

SSS 18734
10-26-2005, 12:18 AM
decreasing port area will also tune lower.

But yes, you can put the port on the outside. That might look kind of cool, actually.

LuNaTiC
10-26-2005, 12:33 AM
doesnt that decrease the overall port displacement inside the box thus changing the tuning?

SSS 18734
10-26-2005, 12:34 AM
doesnt that decrease the overall port displacement inside the box thus changing the tuning?

right, he would have to account for that.

LuNaTiC
10-26-2005, 12:42 AM
ahh gotcha

Psyence
10-26-2005, 12:59 AM
The port inside the box is static, so I dont know how putting it above the box changes anything....

Psyence
10-26-2005, 09:54 AM
decreasing port area will also tune lower.

.. it will also increase the chance of port noise.