PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse 8455 and GPS?



bjfish11
10-20-2005, 10:20 PM
It says GPS ready, so what does that mean? Would you have to buy anything else to actually have GPS? Thats all.....thanks

alphakenny1
10-20-2005, 10:21 PM
yes

Johnny Drama
10-20-2005, 10:22 PM
It says GPS ready, so what does that mean? Would you have to buy anything else to actually have GPS? Thats all.....thanks


Yes. Check out Ecplises site and you will find the GPS unit on there.

bjfish11
10-20-2005, 10:27 PM
how much that unit cost?

schism13
10-20-2005, 10:33 PM
I believe the gps unit is about $160...but the GPS isnt what you think it is..you may want to do some research first if you dont alrdy understand what it is...it will explain it on eclipses site, but its called "Area Shot" and you have to preplan the route from your pc, then load it onto a cd/memory card, and the HU will guide you there..

bjfish11
10-20-2005, 10:35 PM
yea thats kinda what i thought it was, cool nonetheless, dont know if its worth 160 bucks though

mikegett
10-20-2005, 10:43 PM
Your HU already has the area shot capability. the GPS adds the ability for the HU to know your location. To try it out, log into eiserve and download a route. Put it on your HU and scroll through the route. Without the GPS you will have to manualy guide it but you can get the idea.

schism13
10-20-2005, 10:43 PM
yeah you dont really even need the gps unit to do it either..but without it u need to let it know wen u made the turn,etc..iono maybe try it out first..

MegaHurtz
10-20-2005, 11:54 PM
Think of the GPS as 'automatic area shot' where it goes to the next direction for you instead of you doing it manually, kind of a waste IMO, but if you want it, all the more power to you :D:D

Hell if it was available in Canada I am sure I would buy one of my own ;)