PDA

View Full Version : Installin a HU in an 04 silverado



Bigrick31
10-18-2005, 12:24 AM
Well I installed a pioneer 7700 in my 04 silverado (bose system equiped) I got the wiring harness for the truck from a local car audio shop and went home and wired it up to the pioneer harness. however when i was done and everthing was installed the HU wouldnt turn on. so i connected the power and ignition together and it worked. so for some reason the ignition wire from the truck. does anyone know if there is i have to do or modify to get an ignition wire to the HU. or am i out of luck and just runa new ignition wire???

Chevyaudio
10-18-2005, 12:27 AM
Did you get the correct harness, the 04's need the Data retention harness

mattmcss
10-18-2005, 12:27 AM
I knwo in my car i had to run a ppower wire on my own , just used a fuse tap , so you might be in the same boat

Bigrick31
10-18-2005, 12:32 AM
I think it has something to do with the bose amp. i had to splice new wires onto the existing wires form the bose amp to my xvoers for my rainbow components because i would have had to get a converter to make the bose amp work on an aftermarket HU. but it dosnt make any sence as to why the ignition wont work. although my truck does have a feature where the HU will stay on even after you turn of the truck untill you open your door to get out.

Bigrick31
10-18-2005, 12:34 AM
Did you get the correct harness, the 04's need the Data retention harness

I guess its the right one. i mean it all plugged in correctly and its what the shop said would work. whats special about the data retention harness.

Bigrick31
10-18-2005, 12:48 AM
oh looks like i need one of these

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5820550341&fromMakeTrack=true

skierxx5556
10-18-2005, 01:24 AM
Sorry I cant help you, but how do you like those Rainbows?

KaeZoo
10-18-2005, 01:27 AM
The 04 Silverado uses a data-bus controlled radio; there's no accessory power wire in the factory harness. You need to run a new accessory wire, or use a data-bus emulator module that keeps the RAP feature.

Chevyaudio
10-18-2005, 01:28 AM
oh looks like i need one of these

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5820550341&fromMakeTrack=true


Yep thats it. Or Metra makes one, but you have to keep the factory HU in the truck somewhere, like under a seat or something.

Bigrick31
10-26-2005, 09:22 PM
Sorry I cant help you, but how do you like those Rainbows?

Im loving them. they sound better than the stock bose system with those and my pioneer HU. i just cant wate to get an amp on them im sure they will be a lot better.