PDA

View Full Version : To Port, Or Not To Port



SPLguy420
10-14-2005, 03:18 AM
Thinking about throwing 2 of these in my sealed box http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=268-352
My box is about 4 or 5 cubic feet canít remember exactly how big it is right now, I built it few months ago, and donít remember. Do you think this will sound good? I will probably tune it to around 25-28hz, but I donít know if box is big enough for it to sound good.
This is for an atlas 15, running of rythmik audio 250 plate amp. For my computer.

flakko
10-14-2005, 03:21 AM
well if your SN = your 12volt orientation, then Port it.

SPLguy420
10-14-2005, 08:15 PM
sounds good, besides if i dont like it, ill just build another sealed :) , what th hell its just wood

Eugenics
10-14-2005, 08:31 PM
port it, just make sure a fifty isn't in your rear view when your pounding

SPLguy420
10-19-2005, 02:47 AM
Ok so i ported it, tunned it low to 24hz. i bought 2 ports, but decided just to put 1 in.
its a little louder, but its alot deeper base, i love it. I think it sounds alot better, definitly glad i ported it, best $15 upgrade.


Atlas15
5.3cube ported > 5.3cube sealed

ruckus
10-19-2005, 09:35 AM
use both ports and watch how loud it gets. Im running 2 of them ports in my 4 cube box ;)

SPLguy420
10-19-2005, 03:49 PM
it will make it louder?,