PDA

View Full Version : Cable TV



Decado
10-11-2005, 02:34 AM
I was just wondering if anyone else has any thoughts on this. My cable has been bein a ***** since I got the HD box (skipping, sound loss or choppiness, screen size changing, all randomly), this happens mostly on hd (extremely often, every couple minutes) but it will do it on regular tv also. I've talked to comcast about this and they said it is signal strength and there is nothing I can do about it. I think I may call again and threaten to go to satellite or something, although i'm sure they won't care. Anyways Satellite doesnt seem so bad anymore, and probably much better than cable in the ways people always say it's bad. Anyone else have thoughts or ideas on this problem? Am i getting the corporate brush-off with this signal strength thing or is that the truth, or maybe something common? I know this is not a great forum to post this stuff, but, hey, what the hell why not.

JimJ
10-11-2005, 02:43 AM
Sounds like a defective HD box, if it doesn't do this without the box installed...

Decado
10-11-2005, 03:18 AM
Sounds like a defective HD box, if it doesn't do this without the box installed...

Did it with the regular HD box and the dvr HD box though.

Xekutr
10-11-2005, 03:29 AM
our digital cable from comcast is f***y up here in Spokane, Wa
Same kinda stuff you were talking about and we dont even have a HD box or DVR, so maybe its just Comcast being douche's? Cuz our internet goes out alteast twice a week

Decado
10-11-2005, 03:32 AM
our digital cable from comcast is f***y up here in Spokane, Wa
Same kinda stuff you were talking about and we dont even have a HD box or DVR, so maybe its just Comcast being douche's? Cuz our internet goes out alteast twice a week

I have absolutely no problem with the internet, i'm perfectly happy with that, it's just the tv for me. No problem with phone either.

Decado
10-11-2005, 02:51 PM
How does this look? Does anyone think this may help my problem? http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=180-486

thylantyr
10-11-2005, 04:17 PM
The solution is easy if;

If your house is wired like so;

Incoming cable wire -> receiver -> tv

and there is no other splits in the system for other rooms or tv's,
then the cable company is responsible to make it work.

Call them and tell them your cable isn't working properly and to send
out a technician.

But if you tap into the incoming cable to split the wire into other rooms
with other receivers or tv's, then you are losing signal strength and the
picture will look snowy. This is how my house is wired, wires everywhere
and I had to buy a cable signal amplifier but this one is solid state and
comes with it's own power supply.

Shortly, I noticed I have a problem with [On Demand], it kinda svcked as it
was never working right. It could be the receiver as it's too old and/or
the receiver is on the amplifier side and the amplifier isn't able to
pass this signal through. I haven't debugged the issue as I have new plans
for the wiring. I snagged some uber low loss cable and I'm going to rewire
the whole house myself in a manner where the cable lengths are shorter
and distribute the signal.

Cable TV is always a PITA to get a clean picture. Even though they advertise
digital cable, the digital part doesn't imply a better picture, rather the digital
part implies compressed analog to cram more channels which makes PQ
svck more.

Decado
10-11-2005, 04:27 PM
The solution is easy if;

If your house is wired like so;

Incoming cable wire -> receiver -> tv

and there is no other splits in the system for other rooms or tv's,
then the cable company is responsible to make it work.

Call them and tell them your cable isn't working properly and to send
out a technician.

But if you tap into the incoming cable to split the wire into other rooms
with other receivers or tv's, then you are losing signal strength and the
picture will look snowy. This is how my house is wired, wires everywhere
and I had to buy a cable signal amplifier but this one is solid state and
comes with it's own power supply.

Shortly, I noticed I have a problem with [On Demand], it kinda svcked as it
was never working right. It could be the receiver as it's too old and/or
the receiver is on the amplifier side and the amplifier isn't able to
pass this signal through. I haven't debugged the issue as I have new plans
for the wiring. I snagged some uber low loss cable and I'm going to rewire
the whole house myself in a manner where the cable lengths are shorter
and distribute the signal.

Cable TV is always a PITA to get a clean picture. Even though they advertise
digital cable, the digital part doesn't imply a better picture, rather the digital
part implies compressed analog to cram more channels which makes PQ
svck more.

I have it wired to 2 rooms, 1 of which is never used. And the problem I am having is not bad picture quality, it is skipping and stuttering, sound and picture.

thylantyr
10-11-2005, 05:04 PM
I have it wired to 2 rooms, 1 of which is never used. And the problem I am having is not bad picture quality, it is skipping and stuttering, sound and picture.

Sounds like my problem when trying to use On Demand but I'm ok
with the other channels. Do you see that 'mpeg' artifacts on screen?

I haven't debugged my On Demand problem but I'm pretty sure I need
an updated cable box.

I would start the debug process by only connecting the incoming line
directly to the box and tv and disconnect all wires and splitters to the other
rooms even if unsued.

Decado
10-11-2005, 11:15 PM
Sounds like my problem when trying to use On Demand but I'm ok
with the other channels. Do you see that 'mpeg' artifacts on screen?

I haven't debugged my On Demand problem but I'm pretty sure I need
an updated cable box.

I would start the debug process by only connecting the incoming line
directly to the box and tv and disconnect all wires and splitters to the other
rooms even if unsued.

No, no mpeg artifacts.