PDA

View Full Version : to resin or not to resin



maldecido33
10-08-2005, 09:10 PM
I've got a 4.5 ft^3 box tuned to 33 HZ that's gonna be housing two 12" type r's. I have it pretty much all the way constructed, minus the top piece.

Picked up some resin/hardener today at the store. What are the pros and cons (if any) of coating the entire inside of the box?

Do I coat the port also? How many layers? Will it affect either SP or SQ? (It's a SQL application) How so?

Any and ALL input is appreciated. Thanks!

AltizzyGXE
10-08-2005, 09:11 PM
resin always does the job man
'

NhustlaR
10-08-2005, 09:46 PM
cons might be that it wont look good if youve never used resin before....dont put too much hardener in it, or you wont be able to work with it, but also put enough in where it wont run everywhere. do one side at a time, so you dont get runs. It is the inside of the box though so idk if you care what it looks like...it might get messy.

Ive never heard anything about sq and glassing, cuz ive never really resined a regular box before, its not really nessisary(sp?) IMO. Anyways good luck bro, I'd still look into the sq thing before doing it up. i wouldnt think it shouldnt really effect sq but who knows.

PowerNaudio
10-09-2005, 12:22 AM
the only area i suggest using the resin is along the seems. no need to coat the whole box with it.

Moe Lester
10-09-2005, 02:49 AM
dont waste your time and money. it wont be tuned to 33hz afterwards either ;)

PV Audio
10-09-2005, 02:59 AM
hey moe, do u ever resin ur boxes? i looked at ur link and i never saw one...

PV Audio
10-09-2005, 11:56 PM
bump for my question

bjfish11
10-10-2005, 12:50 AM
cons might be that it wont look good if youve never used resin before....dont put too much hardener in it, or you wont be able to work with it, but also put enough in where it wont run everywhere. do one side at a time, so you dont get runs. It is the inside of the box though so idk if you care what it looks like...it might get messy.

Ive never heard anything about sq and glassing, cuz ive never really resined a regular box before, its not really nessisary(sp?) IMO. Anyways good luck bro, I'd still look into the sq thing before doing it up. i wouldnt think it shouldnt really effect sq but who knows.

i dont have a whole lot of experience in working with fiberglass resin ;) , but from my experiences, resin doesnt get thinner or thicker from the amount of hardener put in it. The only thing that will happen from adding more hardener will do, is shorten your working time.

But to answer the original question, i would say dont worry about it, expect maybe like moe said and just do the seams to make sure the box is properly sealed. otherwise it is not necessary.

ruckus
10-10-2005, 12:55 AM
resining a box is hit or miss. Some boxes it makes it louder some it takes away, some it does nothing. only way to tell is to experiment. problem is you may need to rebuild your box if it has a bad effect.

ramos
10-10-2005, 10:39 AM
Resin adds little if any strength at all. The reason people started resining boxes is too seal them better. Does it work for this ? Of course. Does it make a difference ? Some yes, some no. I have seen very good spl enclosures turn to crap after application of resin. At the same time I have seen sub par enclosures pick up a few db's from resin application. It's a hit or miss thing, not a cure all :)