PDA

View Full Version : help with my system! no bass in speakers??

6a12tt
09-27-2005, 09:18 PM
hi, my head unit is an Alpine 9833 and i bought the new Polks MMC690 component.
As everyone knows, the Alpine HU comes with its own crossover, and isn't it redundant
to have two crossovers, and so is it why i have no bass at all coming out of my Polks?
(my OEM speakers has more bass to them w/ the HU's crossovers!)

I tried changing the crossovers on the HU, no good. I figured.. wait a minute, i'm on a
2way crossover so try the 3-way, same thing! Or do i need an amp to run the comps?!
sorry, i'm a newb here, so bare with me, tia!!

$$mok3d
09-28-2005, 12:32 AM
are you running the components off of your head unit? that could be the problem

6spdcoupe
09-28-2005, 01:49 AM
It isdefinately recommended to use an external amp. Although if your getting NO bass at all, check your wiring, very good chance theyre just out of phase.

6a12tt
09-28-2005, 02:39 PM
are you running the components off of your head unit? that could be the problem
yes i was... not enough power to run the comps right?

It isdefinately recommended to use an external amp. Although if your getting NO bass at all, check your wiring, very good chance theyre just out of phase.
i think i do need an external amp (reading from the stickies in the speaker section of the forum)

however, i need a good powerful amp to match the comps output right? but i get confused looking at amps power outputs, especially the multi channels since some of them around around 68-80watts at 4ohms, then it goes higher from 2ohms to bridged channels. i know the rule of thumb is better to have the amps overpowering the speakers than the other way around, but w/c amps though? thanks!

Decado
09-28-2005, 02:50 PM
i know the rule of thumb is better to have the amps overpowering the speakers than the other way around, but w/c amps though? thanks!