PDA

View Full Version : rounding corners



Flipx99
09-26-2005, 11:44 PM
I learned today that you should round the corners of the port and of the corner that port is on. How does one go about rounding. I have seen some moulding time materials made from wood used for homes which would look okay. Does one round all the corners or just the one where the port is.

What about sealed encloures?

I took 1/2 day to build my first box and I am unhappy with my comp results so I am trying to learn a lot more about it and take my time this time.

DiamondFanatic
09-26-2005, 11:49 PM
You can use a router to round the edges of the port itself... are you also talking about rounding the inner corner of the box?

Flipx99
09-26-2005, 11:52 PM
yes, the inside of the box as well. I learned that sanding it lessens obstruction to flow. I take this the next step. Everything inside smooth as glass using expoxy, fiberglass, perhaps other materials to ensure air flows out as smooth as possible.

InhumanAcura
09-27-2005, 12:02 AM
poster board, staple gun, f/g, and resin..
http://img14.exs.cx/img14/8992/p10100249eq.jpg
http://img14.exs.cx/img14/2334/p10100478gw.jpg

tilting the box, pouring in resin, and let it cure..
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/11/web/635000-635999/635350_37_full.jpg
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/11/web/635000-635999/635350_77_full.jpg

simply run a piece of scrap through a table saw set to 45 degrees, flip it over and repeat.
http://img183.echo.cx/img183/9439/box48it.md.jpg

Flipx99
09-27-2005, 12:04 AM
What kind of resin did you use? COuld you use wax to achieve a similar effect or could it melt in a sealed enclosure?

Flipx99
09-27-2005, 12:05 AM
why are there slots in your ports?

chubby
09-27-2005, 12:09 AM
lol, no, it wouldnt make a difference in a sealed enclosure.

InhumanAcura
09-27-2005, 12:09 AM
What kind of resin did you use? COuld you use wax to achieve a similar effect or could it melt in a sealed enclosure?

ive said this before..if youre trying to get more output from a sealed encloser...either go ported or add more power..i honestly dont know if it will or will not make a difference, but i really wouldnt waste my time figuring it out. If there is indeed a way to increase output w/o me having to spend money and hit or miss ill take that route

those slots are where the actual port slides in for all 3...one was mis-cut by myself, kinda throws ya off.

Flipx99
09-27-2005, 12:12 AM
Sorry I am a little slow at this...thanks for your help. I saved the pics so I know what I am looking at.

InhumanAcura
09-27-2005, 12:24 AM
not a problem :) g/l

Race
09-27-2005, 11:25 PM
So subs in sealed boxes can handle more power then ported? I'm thinking about sealing my type-r and running 400 watts to each voice coil.

DiamondFanatic
09-27-2005, 11:34 PM
is all you want output? If so you'd still be better off porting it... is it an 05 type R or the older model?

Race
09-27-2005, 11:44 PM
'05.... Nevermind though. I think I'm just going to mount my amp somewhere else and keep the box I already have made. It's ported. 2.2 cubes and tuned to 34 hz.

It's just hard because my trunk is extremely small. It's about 9" deep. :(