PDA

View Full Version : Tuning Boxes?

SofaKingSic96
09-23-2005, 11:55 PM
Sorry I'm a newbie to all this so don't laugh. What do you guys actually mean when you ask what the box is tuned too? And how do you go about checking the tuning and changing it. I want to make my box get lower. I have a ported bandpass with 3 12" L7's.

PhatTonyDeMarco
09-23-2005, 11:57 PM
You cant just change the tuning of your box. Tuning is determined by the box size, and port area. If you have a bandpass box in the first place, get rid of it. Have someone make you a box for your subs, or get someone to design one.

:search: next time

SofaKingSic96
09-24-2005, 12:13 AM
its a ported bandpass if that makes any difference. The port goes straght to the port cut out in my rear dash. For the car I have those boxes get the best sound.(from what Ive heard) I have a 96 Impala.

PhatTonyDeMarco
09-24-2005, 12:22 AM
its a ported bandpass if that makes any difference. The port goes straght to the port cut out in my rear dash. For the car I have those boxes get the best sound.(from what Ive heard) I have a 96 Impala.

And where did you hear this, Circuit City? That is BS... And just about any box with a hole = ported.

SofaKingSic96
09-24-2005, 12:39 AM
I have had Ported boxes custom built, and they sound like shat. Everyone I know with 94-96 impala's that don't have that format I talked about, there system sounds like asss. I have had alot of car audio guys say what you said but are always proven wrong. Those cars just have a shat load of dead trunk space. I'm not i'm saying I know more then you so I don't want to go back and forth, but trust me I know what sounds good and convetional boxes ported or bandpass sound WEAK!

PV Audio
09-24-2005, 12:42 AM
what order BP is this

SofaKingSic96
09-24-2005, 12:45 AM
what do you mean by order

JimJ
09-24-2005, 12:48 AM
http://www.diysubwoofers.org/

Best to learn the theory...then understand how to make it sound good for your install.

SofaKingSic96