PDA

View Full Version : Avic N2 bypass- I confirmed it



JettaGLI
09-22-2005, 11:07 PM
I did this myself today, on my own unit. I didn't take pics because I was in a hurry. But, I can gurantee it works.....

If anyone has any questions, let me know.

req
09-22-2005, 11:17 PM
um

how did you do it?

ExS
09-22-2005, 11:21 PM
He solder something on the unit.

DBfan187
09-22-2005, 11:23 PM
here (http://forums.caraudio.com/vb/showthread.php?t=107843)

ExS
09-22-2005, 11:30 PM
here (http://forums.caraudio.com/vb/showthread.php?t=107843)

nope.

here: http://forums.caraudio.com/vb/showthread.php?t=115618&highlight=avic+bypass

Randy Savage
09-22-2005, 11:33 PM
Yessum...the soldering works ;)

95Eclipse
09-22-2005, 11:54 PM
Intersting...

AVSTANG02
09-23-2005, 12:20 AM
The info has been leaked for a while on sounddomain... Pissed off a few people...

JettaGLI
09-23-2005, 12:43 AM
The info has been leaked for a while on sounddomain... Pissed off a few people...


Who would it have pissed off? I was told that the Pioneer reps leaked the info on purpose to boost sales. I actually have heard of people bringing back the n2s because they couldn't bypass them.

I called Pioneer about some other stuff, and..... when I brought up the solder question, they told me in other words, that yes, that was the way to do it and do it right.

And.... I did not use a wire, all it took was a drop of solder to link the 2 joints on the PC board. It was a piece of cake.

btnhfan
09-23-2005, 12:46 AM
Is the NAV affected at all or no?

puppie_chow
09-23-2005, 12:47 AM
The Real AVIC Bypass

Disclaimer: You purchased the information, not the results of the information, if you are not comfortable with electronics then do not continue, there are no refunds and I am not responsible with what you do with this information

Background: What people do not know is that the AVIC-N2/D1 is the same in every country, although in every country other then the US you can watch DVD’s and use all of your Navigation features. A question my electronics shop asked ourselves was, if the hardware is the same, the software is the same they what is the AVIC missing to keep you from being able to use all of its features. Other bypass’s make you use 3-6 switches and relays and opening up the brain to the unit or cutting the GPS wire.

Solution: All that’s needed is one wire….The difference between all the units in the other country is they have a wire connecting two different processors and this is how you do it.

AVIC- N2: On the Dash unit not the Brain underneath the unit is a small silver sticker, peel this back. There are two contacts with the label "R197" or label “F197” there should be two soldier points loop a wire between those two points AND DONE!!!! Everything bypassed, THE REAL WAY TO DO IT.

AVIC-D1: Find an extra Pioneer wire harness, and pull one of the wires out. Or, if you do not use the A.ANT lead, pull that out of the harness. In the AVIC-D1 harness, there is one open spot on the connector (next to the ground wire). Put the wire into the open spot on the connector, connect the other side to ground, then re-connect the plug to the AVIC-D1. Also, you must ground the Parking Brake wire (or connect to a toggle switch if you feel the need).

Before you continue please read:
Your warranty will be voided unless you keep this mod very clean so you can undo it and they will never even notice that you did it, our Pioneer rep actually is the person who filled me in on this information. Also, Use 26 Gauge (or something close) and this is very important: DO NOT DROP SOLDIER, if you look carefully, there are traces around these two points that absolutely cannot be contacted. It was hard for me to do because these points were so small and that the wire was so thin. It is best to use a soldering iron that has a super fine tip and heats up better then most…if you feel uncomfortable with this process then take it to a electronics or computer repair shop and they could do it for you in 5 minutes and for around $5 bucks….be very careful, b/c if you touch these traces I do not know what will happen or want to know what will happen...this is like most mods, it’s a very simple mod (the easiest type you can find) although like anything a lot is at stake and could go wrong, please, if you do not feel comfortable doing this then DON’T, spending an extra $5 is worth it to get it done right…

Flipx99
09-23-2005, 12:59 AM
I still don't understand why you have to do all that. I don't have one bt from my understanding it hooks up to the parking brake light. Why can't you tap into any type of 12v+ to bypass it. What am I missing?

JettaGLI
09-23-2005, 02:22 AM
Is the NAV affected at all or no?

Yes, it makes the nav operational while driving. You can also watch DVD's while driving.

JettaGLI
09-23-2005, 02:28 AM
The Real AVIC Bypass

Disclaimer: You purchased the information, not the results of the information, if you are not comfortable with electronics then do not continue, there are no refunds and I am not responsible with what you do with this information

Background: What people do not know is that the AVIC-N2/D1 is the same in every country, although in every country other then the US you can watch DVD’s and use all of your Navigation features. A question my electronics shop asked ourselves was, if the hardware is the same, the software is the same they what is the AVIC missing to keep you from being able to use all of its features. Other bypass’s make you use 3-6 switches and relays and opening up the brain to the unit or cutting the GPS wire.

Solution: All that’s needed is one wire….The difference between all the units in the other country is they have a wire connecting two different processors and this is how you do it.

AVIC- N2: On the Dash unit not the Brain underneath the unit is a small silver sticker, peel this back. There are two contacts with the label "R197" or label “F197” there should be two soldier points loop a wire between those two points AND DONE!!!! Everything bypassed, THE REAL WAY TO DO IT.

AVIC-D1: Find an extra Pioneer wire harness, and pull one of the wires out. Or, if you do not use the A.ANT lead, pull that out of the harness. In the AVIC-D1 harness, there is one open spot on the connector (next to the ground wire). Put the wire into the open spot on the connector, connect the other side to ground, then re-connect the plug to the AVIC-D1. Also, you must ground the Parking Brake wire (or connect to a toggle switch if you feel the need).

Before you continue please read:
Your warranty will be voided unless you keep this mod very clean so you can undo it and they will never even notice that you did it, our Pioneer rep actually is the person who filled me in on this information. Also, Use 26 Gauge (or something close) and this is very important: DO NOT DROP SOLDIER, if you look carefully, there are traces around these two points that absolutely cannot be contacted. It was hard for me to do because these points were so small and that the wire was so thin. It is best to use a soldering iron that has a super fine tip and heats up better then most…if you feel uncomfortable with this process then take it to a electronics or computer repair shop and they could do it for you in 5 minutes and for around $5 bucks….be very careful, b/c if you touch these traces I do not know what will happen or want to know what will happen...this is like most mods, it’s a very simple mod (the easiest type you can find) although like anything a lot is at stake and could go wrong, please, if you do not feel comfortable doing this then DON’T, spending an extra $5 is worth it to get it done right…


ON the avic n2, you not only have to connect the 2 solder joints, you also have to splice the parking brake and ground wire together. I did this right at the HU plug with a splice connector. I clipped the light green parking brake wire, and simply connected it to the HU ground wire.

Also, I just droped a bead of solder to connect the 2 joints. NO wire was needed. They are so close together, and.... I didn't see any traces what so ever. Mine works just fine.

DiamondFanatic
09-23-2005, 02:33 AM
I still don't understand why you have to do all that. I don't have one bt from my understanding it hooks up to the parking brake light. Why can't you tap into any type of 12v+ to bypass it. What am I missing?
This isn't like the N1... This was posted on Metra's website a while ago. From what I understand, connecting the two wires puts the unit in "bench test mode" or something like that, but basically it bypasses the safety devices.
Is the Nav affected though? Be very careful soldering it, someone tried it at the shop and the contacts just came off of the board, making things a whole lot more difficult...

JettaGLI
09-23-2005, 02:40 AM
This isn't like the N1... This was posted on Metra's website a while ago. From what I understand, connecting the two wires puts the unit in "bench test mode" or something like that, but basically it bypasses the safety devices.
Is the Nav affected though? Be very careful soldering it, someone tried it at the shop and the contacts just came off of the board, making things a whole lot more difficult...


That almost happened to me, but I managed to get the bead to drop in time. I also have a little extra solder in there that bonded to the actuall frame of the HU. No harm done. :D

AVSTANG02
09-23-2005, 03:34 PM
JettaGLI, It pissed off people that are concerned about the safety of others on the road.

Read the new sticky on the Sounddomain forums...

shoman94
10-06-2005, 09:38 PM
I've done the D1 mod....works fine.....

penaduny
10-19-2005, 05:48 PM
I've done the D1 mod....works fine.....

does that allow dvd playback? i really want a D1.

Randy Savage
10-19-2005, 05:51 PM
does that allow dvd playback? i really want a D1.

No. Allows for full Navigation operation while driving.

JettaGLI
10-19-2005, 08:41 PM
does that allow dvd playback? i really want a D1.


I'll test it for you and let you know, although I do have an n2, should be the same thing. I am guessing it does.

penaduny
10-19-2005, 11:35 PM
I'll test it for you and let you know, although I do have an n2, should be the same thing. I am guessing it does.

thanks a lot. ive been lusting after that deck since i saw it and i find it soo dumb to have to buy a dvd changer or another dvd player for it. if no one can confirm this to me, im going to bite the bullet and spend twice the money on a eclipse.

penaduny
10-20-2005, 06:24 AM
hm. just browsing arond ebay and came across this http://cgi.ebay.com/Pioneer-AVIC-D1-AVIC-N2-watch-video-while-driving-WOW_W0QQitemZ5818490261QQcategoryZ79834QQrdZ1QQcmd ZViewItem

is that the same info that puppie chow posted?

JettaGLI
10-20-2005, 11:48 AM
hm. just browsing arond ebay and came across this http://cgi.ebay.com/Pioneer-AVIC-D1-AVIC-N2-watch-video-while-driving-WOW_W0QQitemZ5818490261QQcategoryZ79834QQrdZ1QQcmd ZViewItem

is that the same info that puppie chow posted?


Kind of hard to tell without buying it and reading. :uhoh:

puppie_chow
10-23-2005, 02:08 AM
Yes, it's teh same.