PDA

View Full Version : Power Converter??



patton422
09-15-2005, 11:29 PM
I got a power converter and I was thinkin about keepin my 600watt amp and use it for my pc system(not built yet) but should I keep it and use my power converter or should I get a home audio amp for a sub?

JimJ
09-16-2005, 09:02 AM
Do you mean something like a 120VAC inverter?

You need something that converts AC -> DC to use your car audio amp, not the other way around...or maybe you do have a DC power supply. If it is a 12VDC supply, what's the maximum continous amp load it's rated to?



I probably would avoid doing the hack job and getting a real home audio plate amp...less hassles to worry about.

patton422
09-16-2005, 01:30 PM
Its a 120vac inverter. I don't really know how much it can really spit out but the fuse is a 40 amp.

Chevyaudio
09-16-2005, 01:33 PM
You need a home audio amp, 40 amp max isnt going to work.