PDA

View Full Version : What kind of pvc pipe do i use?



schism13
09-05-2005, 06:15 PM
Alright i decided to port my sealed enclosure becuz its so big, so if i drill 2 holes in it and put some pvc piping in it, will it work? and wut kind of pvc piping shud i use? or do i use something else thanks

davidfre21
09-05-2005, 06:16 PM
4"

PhatTonyDeMarco
09-05-2005, 06:17 PM
What size is the enclosure? I bet it is too small to just throw some PVC piping in and say its ported. You could do it, but it will sound like ****. Depending on your tuning preference, I doubt it will work. You would need far too much PVC length to get a desired tuning.

schism13
09-05-2005, 06:18 PM
the enclosure is a little over 6 cu/ft .. 3ftx2ftx1.2 ft

creater
09-05-2005, 06:24 PM
get the thickish hot water pipes....they should do good

PowerNaudio
09-05-2005, 06:35 PM
OK that's an 8.5 cuft external, for the internal you need to subtract the width of the boards,
so how thick is the mdf currently being used ?
and how low do you want it tuned to?

schism13
09-05-2005, 06:37 PM
OK that's an 8.5 cuft external, for the internal you need to subtract the width of the boards,
so how thick is the mdf currently being used ?
and how low do you want it tuned to?

the mdf is 3/4 , as for being tuned..im not sure but i listen to rap if that helps

PowerNaudio
09-05-2005, 06:55 PM
this is what i got. if you're going to push more then 600wrms to these then a bigger and longer ports are going to be required to keep port noise down when going below 25hz with like 1000wrms.

internal volume= 6.96cuft
tuning freq= 31hz
number of ports= 4
port diameter= 4"
port length= 17.71"

singlesubsetup
09-05-2005, 06:58 PM
thats a pretty big inclosure how many subs do you have in there? what size are they??? sounds like you have enough room to port it but it would help to know what type and number of subs you have....

schism13
09-05-2005, 06:59 PM
this is what i got. if you're going to push more then 600wrms to these then a bigger and longer ports are going to be required to keep port noise down when going below 25hz with like 1000wrms.

internal volume= 6.96cuft
tuning freq= 31hz
number of ports= 4
port diameter= 4"
port length= 17.71"


i think i only got about 200wrms each sub.. so get 4 pipes? and make 4 holes? 2 in each?

schism13
09-05-2005, 07:00 PM
thats a pretty big inclosure how many subs do you have in there? what size are they??? sounds like you have enough room to port it but it would help to know what type and number of subs you have....


yeah its way to big..i have 2 12" Niche comp subs..

singlesubsetup
09-05-2005, 07:05 PM
lol, that's a good thing that it's a large box ... 2 12's ported would need abox that big... (hell even 3+ ft^ for a 12 is a tad big, but i'd say NOT a big deal)

you got the room dude port that mofo! :D

schism13
09-05-2005, 07:19 PM
can anyone help me with some step by step action..go to home depot, get them to cut me some pipes..cut the holes in my box, put it in then sillicone around it..thats wut i was guna do..i missing anything? and yeah so shud i get 2 ports for each sub?

singlesubsetup
09-05-2005, 07:23 PM
depends on what your tune freq is... you like rap then I'd tune it to 38ish... Your going to need several ports (maybe 4 4" pvc pipe) maybe more just depends if you have the room or not...

got any pics of the inclosure??

schism13
09-05-2005, 07:27 PM
yeah here are some front shots :

http://img393.imageshack.us/img393/3619/image2397zg.jpg




http://img299.imageshack.us/img299/2382/pict00200bo.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

singlesubsetup
09-05-2005, 07:37 PM
whats the distance between the two subs? more or less than 4" ??? you could put the ports inbetween the 2 subs... go here and plug the numbers in and that will tell you how long your ports will be..

http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?id=31

PowerNaudio
09-05-2005, 07:46 PM
depends on what your tune freq is... you like rap then I'd tune it to 38ish... Your going to need several ports (maybe 4 4" pvc pipe) maybe more just depends if you have the room or not...

here it is tuned to 38hz with new port length.

internal volume= 6.96cuft
tuning freq= 38hz
number of ports= 4
port diameter= 4"
port length= 10.5"


let me know if you cant fit 4" ports in between the subs.

singlesubsetup
09-05-2005, 07:53 PM
idt he can fit 4... i was gonna look @ 3 but idk???

PowerNaudio
09-05-2005, 08:18 PM
idt he can fit 4... i was gonna look @ 3 but idk???

true! but if he has 36" Width front panel - 25" of total sub width or diameter, should leave him with 11" of bare mdf front panel, divided by 2 for each half of the box is 5.5" of empty mdf area on the front, so if the subs are like 3" of the walls that will leave him with about 2.5" or 6" inches total in between the subs. lol

i don't think hes going to have enough room for them to go vertical "up" along the front face, since he only has 15.5" of internal high, that will only fit 3 4" ports or if they sell them at 3.5" he can fit 4 of them,
i guess 3" ports will do it, but how much port noise will it add,
hes not using lots of power. so maybe it wont affect anything.

schism13
09-05-2005, 08:19 PM
true! but if he has 36" Width front panel - 25" of total sub width or diameter, should leave him with 11" of bare mdf front panel, divided by 2 for each half of the box is 5.5" of empty mdf area on the front, so if the subs are like 3" of the walls that will leave him with about 2.5" or 6" inches total in between the subs. lol

i don't think hes going to have enough room for them to go vertical "up" along the front face, since he only has 15.5" of internal high, that will only fit 3 4" ports or if they sell them at 3.5" he can fit 4 of them,
i guess 3" ports will do it, but how much port noise will it add,
he not using lots of power. so maybe it wont affect anything.


holy **** im lost

PowerNaudio
09-05-2005, 08:26 PM
holy **** im lost

haha, only I can understand that.


translation:
whats the distance in between the subs, lol

ruckus
09-05-2005, 08:50 PM
do yourself a favor and buy a couple 4" precision ports. They are flared to prevent port noise and 2 of them are more than enough.

TypeRBass
09-06-2005, 04:59 AM
do yourself a favor and buy a couple 4" precision ports. They are flared to prevent port noise and 2 of them are more than enough.

but they will not fit in between his 2 subs...with the front baffle to the port the front of it is 7.25" wide. which it doesnt look like he has that much room between the subs.

singlesubsetup
09-06-2005, 07:54 PM
true... you'd need several 3" flaird ports, but with the power he's running port noise shouldnt be an issue... but why run 2 12"'s if your not going to eventually ADD more power..

I'd just start over with a different box ... but that 's just me :)