PDA

View Full Version : preamp outs



eric12421
09-05-2005, 03:06 AM
im not really sure on this one, pre-amp outs are the number of amps you can connect to a HU, correct?

eric

SSS 18734
09-05-2005, 03:08 AM
having 1 set of pre-outs doesnt limit you to one amp. Nor does 2 limit you to two amps. you can always have more.

Prowler573
09-05-2005, 03:11 AM
im not really sure on this one, pre-amp outs are the number of amps you can connect to a HU, correct?

eric

No - preamp outputs are exactly what they say they are. Pre-amp outputs, as in, before the amplifier.

Different head units have different numbers of preamp out 'sets'. (a set being one pair of outputs, one for left channel information the other for the right channel)

Depending on what specific HU in question it will have either 1, 2, or 3 sets.

adam71
09-05-2005, 12:24 PM
having 1 set of pre-outs doesnt limit you to one amp. Nor does 2 limit you to two amps. you can always have more.

Exactly, my head units have 3 pre outs each. On my 860 I have 3 sets and I only use one set and run 2 amps off of it.

On my P9 I don't use any of them.....just a optical digital output.:)

eric12421
09-05-2005, 02:09 PM
ok thank you vefry much, i am going to use this HU

http://www.ikesound.com/product-product_id/2039

so would i be able to hook up two amplifiers?

thank you very much

scrappy
09-05-2005, 02:26 PM
You can also have four pre outs. I have a front/middle/rear/sub

PhatTonyDeMarco
09-05-2005, 02:33 PM
ok thank you vefry much, i am going to use this HU

http://www.ikesound.com/product-product_id/2039

so would i be able to hook up two amplifiers?

thank you very much


Yes, that HU has 3 sets of preouts, subwoofer, front, and back. But, as said before, you do not need a preout for each amplifier, you can easily run multiple amps from the same preout.

adam71
09-05-2005, 02:53 PM
You can also have four pre outs. I have a front/middle/rear/sub

What deck is that??

scrappy
09-05-2005, 03:02 PM
It looks like I misread that. The center is actually the same as the sub on the excelon 979. I have the 879 and I thought they were the same but it was aux/front.rear/sub. I hate when I get quoted so then I cant edit it

adam71
09-05-2005, 03:55 PM
It looks like I misread that. The center is actually the same as the sub on the excelon 979. I have the 879 and I thought they were the same but it was aux/front.rear/sub. I hate when I get quoted so then I cant edit it

Its cool man. It's not like I was trying to call you out or anything like that. I was just wondering which deck you had.

So on your Kenwood deck is the AUX an input or something??

most decks with 3 sets have either front/rear/sub or high/mid/low, some even have high/mid/low/sub (4 sets)

scrappy
09-05-2005, 09:39 PM
yeah it looks just like a regular pre out but its an input. I read in the manual front/center/rear/sub so I assumed it had four so I double checked it and it didnt just the three and then the aux at least thats the way it looks in the manual Ill pull the deck to double check sometime